Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with CJ Redwine (The Traitor Prince), Plus Giveaway!

IMG_7196

Today we're excited to chat with CJ Redwine (The Traitor Prince)

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about CJ, her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

Meet CJ Redwine!

C.J. Redwine

C.J. Redwine is the New York Times bestselling author of YA fantasy novels, including the Ravenspire series of fairytale retellings and the Defiance trilogy. She’s still waiting for her letter from Hogwart’s. Currently, she lives in Nashville with her husband, five children, three pets, and a wardrobe that stubbornly refuses to lead to Narnia, no matter how many times she tries.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Meet The Traitor Prince!

A dark epic fantasy inspired by The Prince and the Pauper and the fairy tale The False Prince,from bestselling author C. J. Redwine. Perfect for fans of the Court of Thorns and Roses series and the Wrath and the Dawn duology, The Traitor Prince is a thrilling new standalone novel in the Ravenspire series.

Javan Najafai, crown prince of Akram, has spent the last ten years at an elite boarding school, far away from his kingdom. But his eagerly awaited return home is cut short when a mysterious impostor takes his place—and no one believes Javan is the true prince.

After barely escaping the impostor’s assassins, Javan is thrown into Maqbara, the kingdom’s most dangerous prison. The only way to gain an audience with the king—and reveal Javan’s identity—is to fight in Maqbara’s yearly tournament. But winning is much harder than acing competitions at school, and soon Javan finds himself beset not just by the terrifying creatures in the arena but also by a band of prisoners allied against him, and even by the warden herself.

The only person who can help him is Sajda, who has been enslaved by Maqbara’s warden since she was a child, and whose guarded demeanor and powerful right hook keep the prisoners in check. Working with Sajda might be the only way Javan can escape alive—but she has dangerous secrets.

Together, Javan and Sajda have to outwit the vicious warden, outfight deadly creatures, and outlast the murderous prisoners intent on killing Javan. If they fail, they’ll be trapped in Maqbara for good—and the secret Sajda’s been hiding will bury them both. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~

 

YABC:  What current YA book would you recommend to your teenage self?

I'd recommend To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo. I'm currently obsessed with this book, and I know teen me would've LOVED to realize that the fairy tales I grew up reading could have far darker and more complex interpretations than the Disney movies I also loved. 


 

YABC:   Which social media site do you wish had been available to you as a teen and why?

Wattpad. I would've loved a place to post the poems and stories I was writing, and I desperately wished for a community of creative-minded people like me. I had no idea people like me existed until I was in my 30's and found LiveJournal (back in the day!). I think my growth as a writer and as a person would've benefitted from developing that creative community earlier!

 

 


YABC:   What advice would you give teens who might want to be a writer?

Read widely and pay attention to the architecture of the story. See how the author paces the conflict and the emotional arcs. Learn how authors "show" emotions and personality rather than explaining it to the reader. Take notes of everything that you love about a story and then look deeper to see how the author delivered those wow moments to you. 

Also, take risks. It's okay to start off writing stuff that sounds exactly like what you're reading. We all do that to some extent while we're figuring out our craft. But the way to really hone your skills and become a writer who stands out in a crowd is to find your unique voice and sharpen that. 

 



YABC:  What 3 YA books would you love to recommend to our readers?  

1. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake (such a fascinating premise and an incredible world)

2. Vicarious by Paula Stokes (near-futuristic thriller with diverse characters and amazing plot twists)

3. The Safest Lies by Megan Miranda (you won't be able to stop reading once you start)

 

The Traitor Prince 

By: CJ Redwine

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: February 13th, 2018

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of The Traitor Prince (CJ Redwine) ~ US Only 
 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Emiko Jean (...
Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Kevin Brooks...

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Monday, 15 October 2018 18:29

The cover is great and the synopsis sounds amazing. Fantasy is in high demand in my home. We can't wait to read this.

0
The cover is great and the synopsis sounds amazing. Fantasy is in high demand in my home. We can't wait to read this.
M.A. Briones on Tuesday, 16 October 2018 20:45

I HAVE SEEN THIS SO MANY PLACES! tHE COVER LOOKS AMAZING! THE SYNOPSIS IS SO INCREDIBLY INTRIGUING!!! CANT WAIT!!!

0
I HAVE SEEN THIS SO MANY PLACES! tHE COVER LOOKS AMAZING! THE SYNOPSIS IS SO INCREDIBLY INTRIGUING!!! CANT WAIT!!!
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 18:24

Love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!

0
Love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!
Lisa Mandina on Wednesday, 24 October 2018 10:01

The covers of all the books in this series are just so perfect! And I am excited to read this one as well.

0
The covers of all the books in this series are just so perfect! And I am excited to read this one as well.
Kacie on Saturday, 27 October 2018 17:21

I love the cover. Excited to read this one!

0
I love the cover. Excited to read this one!
Renee Moore on Monday, 05 November 2018 17:46

What's not to love about this book? I want to read this SOOOO bad!!!

0
What's not to love about this book? I want to read this SOOOO bad!!!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 05 November 2018 18:18

The cover is eye-catching and the synopsis sounds so awesome and definitely a page-turner.

0
The cover is eye-catching and the synopsis sounds so awesome and definitely a page-turner.
Daniela on Monday, 05 November 2018 20:18

The cover is very intriguing! Can't wait to dive in

0
The cover is very intriguing! Can't wait to dive in
Penny Olson on Monday, 05 November 2018 23:16

I love the dark cover. The story sounds captivating and hard to put down.

0
I love the dark cover. The story sounds captivating and hard to put down.
Candice Gigous on Wednesday, 07 November 2018 07:28

The cover is eye-catching and I like metallic look. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like an exciting fairy tale retelling.

0
The cover is eye-catching and I like metallic look. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like an exciting fairy tale retelling.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."