Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with CJ Redwine (The Traitor Prince), Plus Giveaway!

IMG_7196

Today we're excited to chat with CJ Redwine (The Traitor Prince)

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about CJ, her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

Meet CJ Redwine!

C.J. Redwine

C.J. Redwine is the New York Times bestselling author of YA fantasy novels, including the Ravenspire series of fairytale retellings and the Defiance trilogy. She’s still waiting for her letter from Hogwart’s. Currently, she lives in Nashville with her husband, five children, three pets, and a wardrobe that stubbornly refuses to lead to Narnia, no matter how many times she tries.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Meet The Traitor Prince!

A dark epic fantasy inspired by The Prince and the Pauper and the fairy tale The False Prince,from bestselling author C. J. Redwine. Perfect for fans of the Court of Thorns and Roses series and the Wrath and the Dawn duology, The Traitor Prince is a thrilling new standalone novel in the Ravenspire series.

Javan Najafai, crown prince of Akram, has spent the last ten years at an elite boarding school, far away from his kingdom. But his eagerly awaited return home is cut short when a mysterious impostor takes his place—and no one believes Javan is the true prince.

After barely escaping the impostor’s assassins, Javan is thrown into Maqbara, the kingdom’s most dangerous prison. The only way to gain an audience with the king—and reveal Javan’s identity—is to fight in Maqbara’s yearly tournament. But winning is much harder than acing competitions at school, and soon Javan finds himself beset not just by the terrifying creatures in the arena but also by a band of prisoners allied against him, and even by the warden herself.

The only person who can help him is Sajda, who has been enslaved by Maqbara’s warden since she was a child, and whose guarded demeanor and powerful right hook keep the prisoners in check. Working with Sajda might be the only way Javan can escape alive—but she has dangerous secrets.

Together, Javan and Sajda have to outwit the vicious warden, outfight deadly creatures, and outlast the murderous prisoners intent on killing Javan. If they fail, they’ll be trapped in Maqbara for good—and the secret Sajda’s been hiding will bury them both. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~

 

YABC:  What current YA book would you recommend to your teenage self?

I'd recommend To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo. I'm currently obsessed with this book, and I know teen me would've LOVED to realize that the fairy tales I grew up reading could have far darker and more complex interpretations than the Disney movies I also loved. 


 

YABC:   Which social media site do you wish had been available to you as a teen and why?

Wattpad. I would've loved a place to post the poems and stories I was writing, and I desperately wished for a community of creative-minded people like me. I had no idea people like me existed until I was in my 30's and found LiveJournal (back in the day!). I think my growth as a writer and as a person would've benefitted from developing that creative community earlier!

 

 


YABC:   What advice would you give teens who might want to be a writer?

Read widely and pay attention to the architecture of the story. See how the author paces the conflict and the emotional arcs. Learn how authors "show" emotions and personality rather than explaining it to the reader. Take notes of everything that you love about a story and then look deeper to see how the author delivered those wow moments to you. 

Also, take risks. It's okay to start off writing stuff that sounds exactly like what you're reading. We all do that to some extent while we're figuring out our craft. But the way to really hone your skills and become a writer who stands out in a crowd is to find your unique voice and sharpen that. 

 



YABC:  What 3 YA books would you love to recommend to our readers?  

1. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake (such a fascinating premise and an incredible world)

2. Vicarious by Paula Stokes (near-futuristic thriller with diverse characters and amazing plot twists)

3. The Safest Lies by Megan Miranda (you won't be able to stop reading once you start)

 

The Traitor Prince 

By: CJ Redwine

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: February 13th, 2018

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of The Traitor Prince (CJ Redwine) ~ US Only 
 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Emiko Jean (...
Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Kevin Brooks...

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Monday, 15 October 2018 18:29

The cover is great and the synopsis sounds amazing. Fantasy is in high demand in my home. We can't wait to read this.

0
The cover is great and the synopsis sounds amazing. Fantasy is in high demand in my home. We can't wait to read this.
M.A. Briones on Tuesday, 16 October 2018 20:45

I HAVE SEEN THIS SO MANY PLACES! tHE COVER LOOKS AMAZING! THE SYNOPSIS IS SO INCREDIBLY INTRIGUING!!! CANT WAIT!!!

0
I HAVE SEEN THIS SO MANY PLACES! tHE COVER LOOKS AMAZING! THE SYNOPSIS IS SO INCREDIBLY INTRIGUING!!! CANT WAIT!!!
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 18:24

Love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!

0
Love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!
Lisa Mandina on Wednesday, 24 October 2018 10:01

The covers of all the books in this series are just so perfect! And I am excited to read this one as well.

0
The covers of all the books in this series are just so perfect! And I am excited to read this one as well.
Kacie on Saturday, 27 October 2018 17:21

I love the cover. Excited to read this one!

0
I love the cover. Excited to read this one!
Renee Moore on Monday, 05 November 2018 17:46

What's not to love about this book? I want to read this SOOOO bad!!!

0
What's not to love about this book? I want to read this SOOOO bad!!!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 05 November 2018 18:18

The cover is eye-catching and the synopsis sounds so awesome and definitely a page-turner.

0
The cover is eye-catching and the synopsis sounds so awesome and definitely a page-turner.
Daniela on Monday, 05 November 2018 20:18

The cover is very intriguing! Can't wait to dive in

0
The cover is very intriguing! Can't wait to dive in
Penny Olson on Monday, 05 November 2018 23:16

I love the dark cover. The story sounds captivating and hard to put down.

0
I love the dark cover. The story sounds captivating and hard to put down.
Candice Gigous on Wednesday, 07 November 2018 07:28

The cover is eye-catching and I like metallic look. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like an exciting fairy tale retelling.

0
The cover is eye-catching and I like metallic look. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like an exciting fairy tale retelling.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."