Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with CJ Redwine (The Traitor Prince), Plus Giveaway!

IMG_7196

Today we're excited to chat with CJ Redwine (The Traitor Prince)

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about CJ, her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

Meet CJ Redwine!

C.J. Redwine

C.J. Redwine is the New York Times bestselling author of YA fantasy novels, including the Ravenspire series of fairytale retellings and the Defiance trilogy. She’s still waiting for her letter from Hogwart’s. Currently, she lives in Nashville with her husband, five children, three pets, and a wardrobe that stubbornly refuses to lead to Narnia, no matter how many times she tries.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Meet The Traitor Prince!

A dark epic fantasy inspired by The Prince and the Pauper and the fairy tale The False Prince,from bestselling author C. J. Redwine. Perfect for fans of the Court of Thorns and Roses series and the Wrath and the Dawn duology, The Traitor Prince is a thrilling new standalone novel in the Ravenspire series.

Javan Najafai, crown prince of Akram, has spent the last ten years at an elite boarding school, far away from his kingdom. But his eagerly awaited return home is cut short when a mysterious impostor takes his place—and no one believes Javan is the true prince.

After barely escaping the impostor’s assassins, Javan is thrown into Maqbara, the kingdom’s most dangerous prison. The only way to gain an audience with the king—and reveal Javan’s identity—is to fight in Maqbara’s yearly tournament. But winning is much harder than acing competitions at school, and soon Javan finds himself beset not just by the terrifying creatures in the arena but also by a band of prisoners allied against him, and even by the warden herself.

The only person who can help him is Sajda, who has been enslaved by Maqbara’s warden since she was a child, and whose guarded demeanor and powerful right hook keep the prisoners in check. Working with Sajda might be the only way Javan can escape alive—but she has dangerous secrets.

Together, Javan and Sajda have to outwit the vicious warden, outfight deadly creatures, and outlast the murderous prisoners intent on killing Javan. If they fail, they’ll be trapped in Maqbara for good—and the secret Sajda’s been hiding will bury them both. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~

 

YABC:  What current YA book would you recommend to your teenage self?

I'd recommend To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo. I'm currently obsessed with this book, and I know teen me would've LOVED to realize that the fairy tales I grew up reading could have far darker and more complex interpretations than the Disney movies I also loved. 


 

YABC:   Which social media site do you wish had been available to you as a teen and why?

Wattpad. I would've loved a place to post the poems and stories I was writing, and I desperately wished for a community of creative-minded people like me. I had no idea people like me existed until I was in my 30's and found LiveJournal (back in the day!). I think my growth as a writer and as a person would've benefitted from developing that creative community earlier!

 

 


YABC:   What advice would you give teens who might want to be a writer?

Read widely and pay attention to the architecture of the story. See how the author paces the conflict and the emotional arcs. Learn how authors "show" emotions and personality rather than explaining it to the reader. Take notes of everything that you love about a story and then look deeper to see how the author delivered those wow moments to you. 

Also, take risks. It's okay to start off writing stuff that sounds exactly like what you're reading. We all do that to some extent while we're figuring out our craft. But the way to really hone your skills and become a writer who stands out in a crowd is to find your unique voice and sharpen that. 

 



YABC:  What 3 YA books would you love to recommend to our readers?  

1. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake (such a fascinating premise and an incredible world)

2. Vicarious by Paula Stokes (near-futuristic thriller with diverse characters and amazing plot twists)

3. The Safest Lies by Megan Miranda (you won't be able to stop reading once you start)

 

The Traitor Prince 

By: CJ Redwine

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: February 13th, 2018

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of The Traitor Prince (CJ Redwine) ~ US Only 
 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Emiko Jean (...
Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Kevin Brooks...

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Monday, 15 October 2018 18:29

The cover is great and the synopsis sounds amazing. Fantasy is in high demand in my home. We can't wait to read this.

0
The cover is great and the synopsis sounds amazing. Fantasy is in high demand in my home. We can't wait to read this.
M.A. Briones on Tuesday, 16 October 2018 20:45

I HAVE SEEN THIS SO MANY PLACES! tHE COVER LOOKS AMAZING! THE SYNOPSIS IS SO INCREDIBLY INTRIGUING!!! CANT WAIT!!!

0
I HAVE SEEN THIS SO MANY PLACES! tHE COVER LOOKS AMAZING! THE SYNOPSIS IS SO INCREDIBLY INTRIGUING!!! CANT WAIT!!!
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 18:24

Love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!

0
Love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!
Lisa Mandina on Wednesday, 24 October 2018 10:01

The covers of all the books in this series are just so perfect! And I am excited to read this one as well.

0
The covers of all the books in this series are just so perfect! And I am excited to read this one as well.
Kacie on Saturday, 27 October 2018 17:21

I love the cover. Excited to read this one!

0
I love the cover. Excited to read this one!
Renee Moore on Monday, 05 November 2018 17:46

What's not to love about this book? I want to read this SOOOO bad!!!

0
What's not to love about this book? I want to read this SOOOO bad!!!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 05 November 2018 18:18

The cover is eye-catching and the synopsis sounds so awesome and definitely a page-turner.

0
The cover is eye-catching and the synopsis sounds so awesome and definitely a page-turner.
Daniela on Monday, 05 November 2018 20:18

The cover is very intriguing! Can't wait to dive in

0
The cover is very intriguing! Can't wait to dive in
Penny Olson on Monday, 05 November 2018 23:16

I love the dark cover. The story sounds captivating and hard to put down.

0
I love the dark cover. The story sounds captivating and hard to put down.
Candice Gigous on Wednesday, 07 November 2018 07:28

The cover is eye-catching and I like metallic look. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like an exciting fairy tale retelling.

0
The cover is eye-catching and I like metallic look. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like an exciting fairy tale retelling.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."