Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Jodi Meadows (Before She Ignites), Plus Giveaway!

JodiMeadowsSM

Today we're excited to chat with Jodi Meadows (Before She Ignites) 

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about Jodi, her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Jodi Meadows!

 

Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the INCARNATE Trilogy, the ORPHAN QUEEN Duology, and the FALLEN ISLES Trilogy (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen), and a coauthor of MY LADY JANE (HarperTeen).

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter

 

 

 

Meet Before She Ignites!

 

Before

Mira Minkoba is the Hopebearer. Since the day she was born, she’s been told she’s special. Important. Perfect. She’s known across the Fallen Isles not just for her beauty, but for the Mira Treaty named after her, a peace agreement which united the seven islands against their enemies on the mainland.

But Mira has never felt as perfect as everyone says. She counts compulsively. She struggles with crippling anxiety. And she’s far too interested in dragons for a girl of her station.

After

Then Mira discovers an explosive secret that challenges everything she and the Treaty stand for. Betrayed by the very people she spent her life serving, Mira is sentenced to the Pit–the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles. There, a cruel guard would do anything to discover the secret she would die to protect.

No longer beholden to those who betrayed her, Mira must learn to survive on her own and unearth the dark truths about the Fallen Isles–and herself–before her very world begins to collapse.

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~


YABC:  Did you prefer a specific genre as a teen? Or was any genre game?

I definitely absolutely no-doubt-about-it preferred fantasy. While I loved watching science fiction on TV and movies, I didn't enjoy it as much in books (because I felt -- perhaps wrongly! -- that it was more technical than fun). And I didn't read a whole lot of historical novels, because I had to learn history in school (I'd have had way more fun if I'd realized how good historical novels can be!) and I didn't read much contemporary because I already lived in the real world (but only my life, not others!). 

Yeah, I was a pretty picky reader when it came to genre, but I loved everything under the umbrella of fantasy -- paranormal, urban, second world, portal . . . you name it. As an adult, I read a lot more widely. Thank commas.

 

 

YABC:  What current YA book would you recommend to your teenage self?


Oh I'd recommend about a million of them. Whether my teenage self would listen . . . that's hard to know. (My teenage self listened very carefully to a couple of school librarians, but other adults? Meh.) 

I'd definitely give past-me AN EMBER IN THE ASHES by Sabaa Tahir, because past-me would have been All Over That. (Like present-me is.) And all of C.J. Redwine's work, because of the sheer creativity and cleverness. And OF FIRE AND STARS by Audrey Coulthurst because it was exactly the book I'd have loved to pieces as a teen. 

 

 

YABC:  What book that you read as a teen had the most impact on you in your life?


Technically, I read WAIT TILL HELEN COMES by Mary Downing Hahn when I was eleven, but it's probably one of the biggest reasons I am a writer today. Before I read that book, I thought books just appear (by magic!) in the school library. But for some reason, this one made me realize someone -- a person! -- had to write books, and that maybe that could be my job, too. It was also one of the first books I read where the magic -- the ghost in this case -- was real, not explained away. 

 

 

YABC:  Was there a class in high school that you wished you had paid closer attention to and why?

History. It could have been because of the way history was taught in my school, or it could have been because I simply didn't care enough to look at history as a story, but I really wish I'd paid more attention now. 

 

 

YABC:  Which social media site do you wish had been available to you as a teen and why?

None! I mean, as a teen, I'd have wanted all the social media. But as an adult, I can't imagine growing up in a social media world. It's hard enough as a grown up to navigate online relationships and communities. The thought of doing that as a teenager . . . *shudder*

 

 

 

 

 

Before She Ignites

By: Jodi Meadows

Release Date: September 12th, 2017 

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books  

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a signed copy of Before She Ignites & Swag! 
~ (US Only) ~

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Alicia Rades...
Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Julie Eshbau...

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

Already Registered? Login Here
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 07 November 2017 00:10

I liked To Kill a Mockingbird, Brave New World and the Handmaids's Tale

0
I liked To Kill a Mockingbird, Brave New World and the Handmaids's Tale
Emma McAndrew on Wednesday, 08 November 2017 02:03

Oh gosh! I started getting serious about reading books during my teenage years, so I had quite a few favorites including Girl of Fire and Thorns, the Twin’s Daughter, and *whispers* Twilight.

0
Oh gosh! I started getting serious about reading books during my teenage years, so I had quite a few favorites including Girl of Fire and Thorns, the Twin’s Daughter, and *whispers* Twilight.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."