The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: The Sandcastle Empire by Kayla Olson

the-sandcastle-empire
About This Book: When all hope is gone, how do you survive? Before the war, Eden’s life was easy—air conditioning, ice cream, long days at the beach. Then the revolution happened, and everything changed. Now a powerful group called the Wolfpack controls the earth and its resources. Eden has lost everything...
Continue reading
  2407 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC Scavenger Hunt: The Sandcastle Empire (Kayla Olson), Plus Excerpt & Extra Giveaway!

unnamed-2



Today we're excited to share  Kayla Olson's excerpt from her new novel,  The Sandcastle Empire  as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt!  Read on for more about Kayla and her novel! And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance to win...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
I'm not sure if I like fronds on green covers--but anything can happen after a revolution!
Sunday, 18 June 2017 15:20
Dianna G.
This cover does not catch my attention at all. However, the summary is exciting!
Sunday, 18 June 2017 17:46
Patrick Peek
I love the color green so of course I love this cover. I picked this book on my blog recently as one I want to read.
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 12:07
  1876 Hits
  13 Comments

Author Of The Week: Chat with Kayla Olson (The Sandcastle Empire), Plus Giveaway!!

unnamed-1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!       Introducing  Kayla Olson , YABC's Author of the Week!!...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Danielle Hammelef
This cover is gorgeous and I think it matches well with the island setting of the book. I think the synopsis promises adventure, d... Read More
Saturday, 08 July 2017 15:50
Emily
I love this cover!
Monday, 10 July 2017 22:42
wendy rinebold
The cover is very cool and I like the sound of this story.
Tuesday, 11 July 2017 20:26
  2448 Hits
  3 Comments

Author Chat with Kayla Olson (Sandcastle Empire), Plus Giveaway!

the-sandcastle-empire



Today we're excited to chat with  Kayla Olson, author of  The Sandcastle Empire.   Read on for more about Kayla and her book, plus a giveaway!       YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book? My inspiration for The Sandcastle Empire came from a larger-than-life longing for...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
I think the cover is very green. Maybe too green. But who doesn't love wolves and beaches?
Thursday, 08 June 2017 15:48
Maria Malaveci
I love the cover. The cover makes me feel like the book is very mysterious.... thanks for the chance!
Thursday, 08 June 2017 18:36
Danielle Lynn
The cover leaves a bit to be desired. However, I've heard great things about this book and the plot sounds like it's going to be ... Read More
Friday, 09 June 2017 18:41
  4636 Hits
  12 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."