The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: The Sandcastle Empire by Kayla Olson

the-sandcastle-empire
About This Book: When all hope is gone, how do you survive? Before the war, Eden’s life was easy—air conditioning, ice cream, long days at the beach. Then the revolution happened, and everything changed. Now a powerful group called the Wolfpack controls the earth and its resources. Eden has lost everything...
Continue reading
  2447 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC Scavenger Hunt: The Sandcastle Empire (Kayla Olson), Plus Excerpt & Extra Giveaway!

unnamed-2



Today we're excited to share  Kayla Olson's excerpt from her new novel,  The Sandcastle Empire  as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt!  Read on for more about Kayla and her novel! And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance to win...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
I'm not sure if I like fronds on green covers--but anything can happen after a revolution!
Sunday, 18 June 2017 15:20
Dianna G.
This cover does not catch my attention at all. However, the summary is exciting!
Sunday, 18 June 2017 17:46
Patrick Peek
I love the color green so of course I love this cover. I picked this book on my blog recently as one I want to read.
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 12:07
  1910 Hits
  13 Comments

Author Of The Week: Chat with Kayla Olson (The Sandcastle Empire), Plus Giveaway!!

unnamed-1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!       Introducing  Kayla Olson , YABC's Author of the Week!!...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Danielle Hammelef
This cover is gorgeous and I think it matches well with the island setting of the book. I think the synopsis promises adventure, d... Read More
Saturday, 08 July 2017 15:50
Emily
I love this cover!
Monday, 10 July 2017 22:42
wendy rinebold
The cover is very cool and I like the sound of this story.
Tuesday, 11 July 2017 20:26
  2467 Hits
  3 Comments

Author Chat with Kayla Olson (Sandcastle Empire), Plus Giveaway!

the-sandcastle-empire



Today we're excited to chat with  Kayla Olson, author of  The Sandcastle Empire.   Read on for more about Kayla and her book, plus a giveaway!       YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book? My inspiration for The Sandcastle Empire came from a larger-than-life longing for...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
I think the cover is very green. Maybe too green. But who doesn't love wolves and beaches?
Thursday, 08 June 2017 15:48
Maria Malaveci
I love the cover. The cover makes me feel like the book is very mysterious.... thanks for the chance!
Thursday, 08 June 2017 18:36
Danielle Lynn
The cover leaves a bit to be desired. However, I've heard great things about this book and the plot sounds like it's going to be ... Read More
Friday, 09 June 2017 18:41
  4777 Hits
  12 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."