The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3) by Michelle Madow

the-vampire-trick
About This Book: In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can be trusted. Annika’s life was flipped upside down when she was kidnapped by vampires to become a blood slave in their hidden kingdom of the Vale. Now, the powerful witch Geneva has disguised her as a vampire princess, and...
Continue reading
  1463 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Below the Northern Lights by Ashlee Cowles

northern
About This Book: Nineteen-year-old war veteran Lucas Santiago has a goal—to kiss a girl below Northern Lights—but that dream was blown up with the rest of his life. Lucas is grappling with the knowledge that he’ll never walk again when he learns his best friend, Seth, hasn’t returned from his solo...
Continue reading
  1445 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Law of Tall Girls by Joanne Macgregor

law-of-tall-girls
About This Book: When you really stand out, can you ever fit in? Seventeen-year-old Peyton Lane is a tall girl. So tall, it’s the only thing most people notice about her. On impulse, she accepts a bet to prove she can be as attractive and desirable as other girls. Now she...
Continue reading
  1304 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Traitor Prince by C.J. Redwine

traitor
About This Book: A dark epic fantasy inspired by The Prince and the Pauper and the fairy tale The False Prince, from bestselling author C.J. Redwine. A thrilling companion book in the Ravenspire series, The Traitor Prince is perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses series and The...
Continue reading
  2623 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

9780525555353_s600
About This Book: Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s...
Continue reading
  1634 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Earth to Skye by Diana Sherry Case

33377366
About This Book: Liv and Skye have been best friends since pre-school. At sixteen, they are trying to make the leap from “Hello Kitty” to lace thong underwear. Skye is incredibly talented and beautiful and into everything she can find in her Mom’s medicine cabinet. Her parents don’t seem to care...
Continue reading
  1284 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Rise of the Dawnstar by Farah Oomerbhoy

rise-of
About This Book: Aurora Firedrake returns in the spellbinding sequel to The Last of the Firedrakes. The seven kingdoms of Avalonia are crumbling and evil is spreading across the land like a plague. Queen Morgana is close to finding a way to open The Book of Abraxas and it’s only a matter of time until...
Continue reading
  1874 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Edgeland by Jake Halpern & Peter Kujawinski

edgeland
About This Book: Thousands of miles south of the island of Bliss, day and night last for 72 hours. Here is one of the natural wonders of this world: a whirlpool thirty miles wide and a hundred miles around. This is the Drain. Anything sucked into its frothing, turbulent waters is...
Continue reading
  1440 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Importance of Getting Revenge by Amanda Abram

revenge
About This Book: 17-year-old Lexi Turner has just been dumped by her boyfriend of three years—on the day she was going to, well, "do it" with him. And to make matters worse, he dumped her for a life-force-sucking demon! Devastated by this turn of events, she decides there is only one...
Continue reading
  1370 Hits
  0 Comment

Book Review: Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card by Sara Saedi

americanized
About This Book: At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for...
Continue reading
  4944 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."