The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Author Chat with Ashley Shuttleworth (A Dark and Hollow Star), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978153445367_20210305-145852_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Ashley Shuttleworth author of A Dark and Hollow Star.  Read on for more about Ashley, her book, plus an giveaway!          Meet Ashley Shuttleworth ! Ashley Shuttleworth is a young adult fantasy author with a degree in English literature and a...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks awesome, look forward to reading it!
Friday, 05 March 2021 11:57
Abigail Lowry
This book has been on my radar for forever! I can't wait to read it!
Friday, 05 March 2021 12:07
Kiara T.
I love the cover and the book sounds really interesting!
Wednesday, 10 March 2021 15:46
  2227 Hits
  8 Comments

Giveaway: LEGENDBORN (Tracy Deonn) ~ (US Only)

5089233_20210212-183032_1


   LEGENDBORN (US Only) Author: Tracy Deonn Release Date: September 15th, 2020 Publisher: MK McElderry        About The Book An Instant  New York Times  Bestseller! Winner of the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Tiffany Engler
I have seen nothing but great things about this book! Love the cover. Can't wait to read it!!
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 09:03
Kiara T.
This book sounds great, I love the cover!
Sunday, 21 February 2021 20:26
Keia
I've heard so many good things about this book!
Thursday, 25 February 2021 21:42
  501 Hits
  6 Comments

Giveaway: The Meet-Cute Project (Rhiannon Richardson) ~ (US Only)

978153447352_20210210-174354_1


   The Meet-Cute Project (US Only) Author: Rhiannon Richardson Release Date: January 12th, 2021 Publisher: Simon & Schuster BFYR        About The Book To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before  meets  Save the Date  in this sweet, hijinks-filled rom-com about a teen girl who will do whatever it takes...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks fun, look forward to reading it.
Thursday, 11 February 2021 11:55
Keia
This sounds so cute. Can't wait to read it.
Thursday, 25 February 2021 21:27
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is adorable and the synopsis sounds humorous and fun.
Friday, 05 March 2021 16:19
  944 Hits
  3 Comments

Giveaway: All This Time (Mikki Daughtry) ~ US Only

0-_20200922-001020_1


All This Time (US Only) by: Mikki Daughtry Release Date: September 29th, 2020 Publisher: Simon & Schuster BFYR       About the Book: At the Convent of Sweet Mercy, young girls are raised to be killers. In some few children the old bloods show, gifting rare talents that can be...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, love the cover!
Wednesday, 23 September 2020 11:29
Andrea Cerda
Yes!!! I want to read this book so badly!!!
Thursday, 24 September 2020 12:12
Colleen Burns
I love the cover!
Monday, 28 September 2020 08:40
  845 Hits
  12 Comments

Giveaway: The Black Kids (Christina Hammonds Reed) (US Only)

the-black-kids-9781534462724_xlg

The Black Kids (US Only) by: Christina Hammonds Reed Release Date: August 4th, 2020 Publisher: Simon & Schuster BFYR   About the Book: Perfect for fans of  The Hate U Give , this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
The book looks great, love the cover!
Wednesday, 26 August 2020 13:00
Brittany
This cover is EVERYTHING! Sounds like a great winter read when missing the summer.
Sunday, 13 September 2020 12:13
Alex Colpitts
positive summer vibes
Sunday, 13 September 2020 14:40
  736 Hits
  6 Comments

Author Of The Week: Chat with Peternelle van Arsdale (The Cold Is In Her Bones), Plus Giveaway!

unnamed-_20190121-070107_1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!           Introducing Peternelle van Arsdale,  YABC's Author...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Dianna G.
I saw this book on a different blog a few days ago, and could not remember the title afterward. So glad to find it again. I'm goin... Read More
Monday, 21 January 2019 17:19
Lily M.
This book just sounds good and that cover ??
Friday, 01 February 2019 19:56
Penny Olson
The cover, synopsis and title all sound chilling and intriguing.
Monday, 04 February 2019 17:31
  1064 Hits
  11 Comments

3rd Annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaganza ~ Day 7

Day7
Welcome to YABC's third annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaganza! We're featuring some of the hottest titles of the year--perfect for the book lover on your holiday list!--with exciting prize packs every day for the first twelve days of December. Each giveaway will run for seven days. Giveaways are US...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Danielle Hammelef
I can't wait to read The Youngest Marcher.
Thursday, 07 December 2017 13:50
Alyssa Annico
I'm excited about 'The Antlered Ship'. I've been intrigued by that one since I heard about it!
Thursday, 07 December 2017 15:56
Sandy S
I really want to read The Education of Margot Sanchez.
Thursday, 07 December 2017 16:54
  2216 Hits
  19 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...

Latest Member Reviews

Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. The..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."