The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: Hearts Unbroken (Cynthia Leitich Smith)

38564416
About This Book: New York Times best-selling author Cynthia Leitich Smith turns to realistic fiction with the thoughtful story of a Native teen navigating the complicated, confusing waters of high school — and first love. When Louise Wolfe’s first real boyfriend mocks and disrespects Native people in front of her, she...
Continue reading
  587 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Before I Let Go (Marieke Nijkamp)

33918883
About This Book: Days before Corey is to return home to the snow and ice of Lost Creek, Alaska, to visit her best friend, Kyra dies. Corey is devastated—and confused. The entire Lost community speaks in hushed tones about the town's lost daughter, saying her death was meant to be. And...
Continue reading
  1157 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Echo After Echo (Amy Rose Capetta)

27258116
About This Book:  Debuting on the New York stage, Zara is unprepared — for Eli, the girl who makes the world glow; for Leopold, the director who wants perfection; or for death in the theater. Zara Evans has come to the Aurelia Theater, home to the visionary director Leopold Henneman, to...
Continue reading
  1752 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Lucky Girl (Amanda Maciel)

25465103
About This Book:   Lucky Girl is an unflinching exploration of beauty, sexual assault, and self-worth, from the author of the acclaimed novel Tease. Perfect for readers of Sara Zarr and Courtney Summers. Being a pretty girl is who Rosie is, but it’s the start of a new school year and she...
Continue reading
  2428 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Alex, Approximately (Jenn Bennett)

30312700

About This Book:

Classic movie fan Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online as Alex. Two coasts separate the teens until Bailey moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep in real life—or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist-trap museum. Or that she’s being heckled daily by the irritatingly hot museum security guard, Porter Roth—a.k.a. her new archnemesis. But life is whole lot messier than the movies, especially when Bailey discovers that tricky fine line between hate, love, and whatever it is she’s starting to feel for Porter.

And as the summer months go by, Bailey must choose whether to cling to a dreamy online fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex…Approximately. 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Paige C Staff Reviewer*

 

 

Perfect summer romance for teens

What I Loved:
Seeing as Bailey and her online friend Alex met and bonded over movies, it’s fitting each chapter begins with a movie quote from a wide variety of films that include Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince and 10 Things I Hate About You. There’s no film snobbery in the quote choices! Bailey comes to dislike Porter after he makes fun of her mismatched shoes at her job orientation, but she reluctantly grows fond of him and the sexy dillweed becomes less of a dillweed (but no less sexy).

Their slow-burn romance is the main focus of the novel, but Bailey’s efforts to settle in with her dad aren’t neglected. After an unfortunate incident involving one of her lawyer mother’s clients stalking the family on the East Coast, Bailey decided to move out to California to finish out high school and get away from what happened. The exact circumstances, like many other facets of Bailey and Porter’s lives, takes it time to unfold. In the meantime, readers get an incredibly fun read with a sweet, healthy relationship. When Bailey begins to neglect her friendship with co-worker Grace, the latter even calls Bailey out on it in a way you don’t see often enough in YA.

So Alex, Approximately in three words: SO MUCH FUN. Also props for making a subtle reference to the fact that girls masturbate. A girl doing unspeakable things to herself under the covers while thinking about her crush? Yeah, you can try to fight me on the meaning of that, but you’ll lose.

What Left Me Wanting:
Anyway, one thing that baffles me: how the jacket copy reveals Alex’s identity when the novel itself keeps a lid on it until the book’s penultimate chapter. It takes the dramatic irony overboard for Bailey to be kept in “suspense” for so long when the readers has known since the very beginning. The novel would have been better served cut down to about 250 pages with the Alex reveal earlier in the book/Porter still being a bit of a douche. Conflict after that point: Bailey trying to consolidate Alex with Porter.

On the subject of representation, I’m happy to see that Porter is Polynesian through his mother’s family, but exactly which Polynesian ethnic group his family comes from is left unspecified. There are about 1,000 islands in Polynesia and more than a few ethnic groups. Samoan, Tongan, Maori,… Leaving that facet of his identity unspecified contributes to the rampant generalization of all the different cultures and ethnic groups within the region.

Final Verdict:
It’s a good thing Alex, Approximately is an April release because it’s the perfect summer romance for teens to read once school is out. They might even read it a little early just to get in the spirit for the season’s arrival! Bennett’s sophomore YA novel is a marked improvement from her first and makes it certain I’ll be keeping an eye out for further YA novels from her.

 

Good Points
*extremely cute
*adorable slow-burn romance
*friendships and family relationships aren't neglected
 
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This Book HERE!!*
 
Continue reading
  1379 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Our Own Private Universe (Robin Talley)

Featured Review: Our Own Private Universe (Robin Talley)
About This Book:   Fifteen-year-old Aki Simon has a theory. And it's mostly about sex.  No, it isn't that kind of theory. Aki already knows she's bisexual—even if, until now, it's mostly been in the hypothetical sense. Aki has dated only guys so far, and her best friend, Lori, is the...
Continue reading
  1389 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed graphic novel based on the New York...
Stuffed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome, little one. You have been chosen to join us,...
Estranged #2: The Changeling King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enter a world of faerie magic and epic adventure in...
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The exciting follow-up to Mightier Than the Sword, the humorous...
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A touching story about Japanese American children who corresponded with...
Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orisha)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After battling the impossible, Zélie and Amari have finally succeeded...
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New Yorker “20 Under 40” author of Atmospheric...
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Big Nate on a Roll, Nate’s a big deal...
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life is full of great expectations for Korean American Pippa...
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an...
After: After Zombie Series Book 1
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
A world once overrun by zombies... Jenna grew up...

Latest Member Reviews

Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
Golden Crown
 
4.3
"I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
"Kali is the hope of saving the world from vampires and demons. She’s a vampire huntress who also happens to..."
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."
Adorkable
 
5.0
"ADORKABLE is a book you can easily predict, but the journey is unbelievably delightful. Sally Spitz is a senior in..."
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
"SIX GOODBYES WE NEVER SAID is quite a heavy YA contemporary. We follow Naima and Dew in alternating sections. Naima..."
Superman of Smallville
 
4.0
"Clark Kent is trying to be an ordinary thirteen-year-old boy but he has a very extraordinary pastime. He loves saving..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
5.0
"Jack and Annie are so excited when they receive a Royal Invitation to attend Christmas in Camelot! However, they only..."
DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High
 
3.0
"SUPER HERO GIRLS brings us Batgirl, Wonder Woman, Supergirl, Green Lantern, Bumblebee, and Zatanna as teenagers. When they aren't trying..."