The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: Between Perfect and Real (Ray Stoeve)

5163178b5hL._SX328_BO1204203200_
About This Book: A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding his voice—and himself Dean Foster knows he’s a trans guy. He’s watched enough YouTube videos and done enough questioning to be sure. But everyone at his high school thinks he’s a lesbian—including his girlfriend Zoe, and his theater director,...
Continue reading
  97 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: You Were Made for Me (Jenna Guillaume)

516wr-cCoL._SX334_BO1204203200_
About This Book: All 15-year-old Katie Camilleri wants is the perfect first kiss from the perfect guy. So when she and her best friend Libby accidentally cook up a “perfect guy” in the kitchen (seriously―he’s like a long lost Hemsworth brother), things are looking up for Katie and her plan to...
Continue reading
  137 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Block (Ben Oliver)

41toZ1wBpeS._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In the second book of The Loop trilogy, Luka is trapped in a fate worse than death. But now that he knows the truth about what he and his fellow inmates are being used for, it's more important than ever that he not only escapes, but that he...
Continue reading
  152 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: What I Like About Me (Jenna Guillaume)

41SaqC60C1L._SX334_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The last thing sixteen-year-old Maisie Martin thought she’d be doing on her vacation is entering a beauty pageant. Not when she’s spent most of her life hiding her body from everyone. Not when her Dad is AWOL and her gorgeous older sister has returned to rock Maisie’s already...
Continue reading
  152 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: These Hollow Vows (Lexi Ryan)

41H8UtQk2gL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From New York Times best-selling author Lexi Ryan, Cruel Prince meets A Court of Thorns and Roses in this sexy, action-packed fantasy about a girl who is caught between two treacherous faerie courts and their dangerously seductive princes. Brie hates the Fae and refuses to have anything to...
Continue reading
  169 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Infinity Courts (Akemi Dawn Bowman)

41du57a31oL._SX324_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Westworld meets Warcross in this high-stakes, dizzyingly smart sci-fi about a teen girl navigating an afterlife in which she must defeat an AI entity intent on destroying humanity, from award-winning author Akemi Dawn Bowman. Eighteen-year-old Nami Miyamoto is certain her life is just beginning. She has a great...
Continue reading
  156 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: It Ends in Fire (Andrew Shvarts)

51Kbg2BztOS._SX330_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Only those from the most powerful magical families can attend Blackwater Academy, but new student Alka has them fooled. Now it's time to take down the oppressive wizard ruling class from the inside. Alka Chelrazi is on a mission: 1. Infiltrate Blackwater Academy 2. Win the Great Game...
Continue reading
  229 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Where It All Lands (Jennie Wexler)

41ut4CYylS._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: A Sliding Doors-esque novel that reveals how our choices define us and how no matter the road, love can find its way. Stevie Rosenstein has never made a true friend. Never fallen in love. Moved from city to city by her father’s unrelenting job, it’s too hard to...
Continue reading
  190 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: What We Devour (Linsey Miller)

4163QvZtkjS._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The eat-the-rich, deliciously dark fantasy you've been waiting for. A girl with the power of the banished gods must bind herself to a wicked Prince to save her crumbling world, as the poor are sacrificed to save the rich. It's time for the wealthy to be devoured... Lorena...
Continue reading
  185 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Chariot at Dusk (Swati Teerdhala)

41WRPyW5BRL._SX332_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The sweeping, dramatic finale of Swati Teerdhala’s South India-inspired fantasy trilogy rounds out the epic, romantic tale of an assassin and a soldier fighting to save their country and their people. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard. A queen at last. An empty palace. A...
Continue reading
  173 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...

Latest Member Reviews

The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
5.0
"I've been looking forward to this nonfiction book since at least 2009, when The Rock and the River came out,..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Paradise on Fire
 
4.0
"Addy lives in the Bronx with her grandmother, Bibi, who has moved from Nigeria to care for her after the..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva leaves behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly secret. One that others..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."