The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

6 YA Novels With Transgender Representation!

_20210614-152416_1






Celebrate Pride month by reading any of the recommended Young Adult novels with outstanding Trans rep.  Know of any other titles? Recommend them in the comments. Let's grow our TBR's.     Pet by Akwaeke Emezi [yabookscentral.com] Pet is here to hunt a monster. Are you brave enough to look? There...
Continue reading
  261 Hits
  0 Comment

Check Out These 5 YA Novels Featuring Boy Bands!

unnamed





We don’t know about you, but even though we’re in a pandemic, we’re looking forward to SAFELY driving with the windows down listening to some great music. From BTS to the Backstreet Boys, boy bands serve some serious bangers to vibe and jam to. These YA novels give us serious concert...
Continue reading
  431 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC Staff Favorites of 2020 & The Books Staffers Are Most Looking Forward to in 2021!!




🤗














2020 was a whirlwind for a lot of us, and we don't know about you, but books have been our saving grace--and continue to be our saving grace. Today, we're listing our staff favorites of 2020 and why we dug them! Let us know in the comments some of your favorites...
Continue reading
Tags:
  421 Hits
  0 Comment

It's National Novel Writing Month: Check out This Short List of YA Novels Featuring Writers





It's officially NaNoWriMo: National Novel Writing Month! If you're a writer, or if you just love books and writers, like we do—check out this short list of YA novels featuring teen writers!     1. Final Draft by Riley Redgate       Laila Piedra doesn’t drink, doesn’t smoke, and definitely...
Continue reading
Tags:
  378 Hits
  0 Comment

Hispanic Heritage Month: 6 2020 Releases Written by Latinx Authors to Check Out During Hispanic Heritage Month!









1. Furia  by Yamile Saied Mendez A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams. In Rosario, Argentina, Camila...
Continue reading
Tags:
  593 Hits
  0 Comment

Romance Awareness Month: Travel Back in time with these 8 "Historic" Young Adult Historical Romance Titles









Romance Awareness Month: Travel Back in time with these 8 "Historic" Young Adult Historical Romance Titles. 1. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand For fans of The Princess Bride comes the comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married...
Continue reading
Tags:
Recent comment in this post
Yaduraj Choudhary
Can you send the link for today's newsletter? I missed the email.
Monday, 10 August 2020 17:08
  655 Hits
  1 Comment

6 Young Adult Series with Notable Villains; Human and Otherwise!







All great young adult novels have noteworthy villains. These villains aren’t always flesh and blood; sometimes they’re otherworldly, and sometimes they’re the characters own internal struggles. Whatever they are, we’ve listed 6 of the most notable villains in a series.  Mila 2.0 Series      Link to book one. Mila 2.0...
Continue reading
Tags:
  564 Hits
  0 Comment

Heatwave: Summer's Just Heating Up. Check Out These 6 Summer Released, Or Soon-To-Be Released YA Titles!







Entwined by A.J. Rosen     Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. Avery Montgomery doesn’t even know if she wants a soul mate. As a member of the Hellenicus—a race founded in antiquity and descended directly from the Greek gods—Avery’s attending her first Gathering where she’ll gain the ability to entwine...
Continue reading
Tags:
  660 Hits
  0 Comment

Tweet or Post: “Social Media” YA titles Worth Tweeting or Posting About






Social media has taken the world by storm and has held it captive in its proverbial claws. Whether you prefer Facebook over Twitter, or Instagram over the both of them—most of us start our day with social media. Below are 5 “social-media” YA titles worth tweeting or posting about. 1.One of...
Continue reading
Tags:
  458 Hits
  0 Comment

New to YA? Start here. YA Starter Pack for Readers New to the Genre.











Young Adult Novels boomed years ago, but some of you still haven’t taken the dive into the genre. Maybe, you’re just now old enough to read them, or you’re an adult who feels like there’s nothing for you in a bunch of books about teens. If you’re one of those people,...
Continue reading
Tags:
  690 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Traitors Among Us
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...
Manu: A Graphic Novel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set at a magical school for girls, a funny and...
Barakah Beats
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic...
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle—twelve-year-old Young Lady of Quality and Victorian amateur detective—is...
How to Get Away with Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle has no desire to go on a relaxing...
Playing the Cards Your Dealt
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Kyle's Little Sister
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My name is Grace, not "Kyle's little sister!" ...
Ground Zero
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In time for the twentieth anniversary of 9/11, master storyteller...
Final Season
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player...

Latest Member Reviews

The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
"THE DEVIL MAKES THREE is a dark YA horror that creeps up on you. The book follows two teens, Eliot..."
Final Season
 
5.0
"Ben Redd enjoys playing football with his 6th grade friends, especially Tuna, even though sometimes the way they act worries..."
What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
"This book is an interesting overview of a variety of architecture, although the vast majority of it is from western..."
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
"Kyle has settled in to life at Windrose with the help of camp mates and friends Vic, Beth, Harry, and..."
The Mystery of the Moon Tower (The Pathfinders Society)
 
4.0
"Kyle and his mother move back to Windrose, where his mother was raised, and she sends him to Merriweather's camp..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
"What worked: This haunting memoir is about two young sisters who helped each other survive the Holocaust. Both of the..."
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
"SO. MANY. FEELINGS STICKERS is a fantastic and fun collection of stickers around emotions. With 2,700 stickers, it is difficult..."
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
"HI-FIVE FARM! is an adorable board book adventure with opposites and hi-fives aplenty. The book features many barnyard animals offering..."
Sugar and Spite
 
4.0
"Jolina and her family have moved from Manila to the small island of Isla Pag-Ibig. After the death of her..."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
5.0
"I've been looking forward to this nonfiction book since at least 2009, when The Rock and the River came out,..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Paradise on Fire
 
4.0
"Addy lives in the Bronx with her grandmother, Bibi, who has moved from Nigeria to care for her after the..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."