The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

YABC Staff Favorites of 2020 & The Books Staffers Are Most Looking Forward to in 2021!!




🤗














2020 was a whirlwind for a lot of us, and we don't know about you, but books have been our saving grace--and continue to be our saving grace. Today, we're listing our staff favorites of 2020 and why we dug them! Let us know in the comments some of your favorites...
Continue reading
Tags:
Recent comment in this post
Rose Mile
Getting your lover or your ex back has been made more easy by this powerful spell caster called Dr Odion. I am Rose by name and i... Read More
Wednesday, 13 January 2021 15:06
  269 Hits
  1 Comment

It's National Novel Writing Month: Check out This Short List of YA Novels Featuring Writers





It's officially NaNoWriMo: National Novel Writing Month! If you're a writer, or if you just love books and writers, like we do—check out this short list of YA novels featuring teen writers!     1. Final Draft by Riley Redgate       Laila Piedra doesn’t drink, doesn’t smoke, and definitely...
Continue reading
Tags:
  251 Hits
  0 Comment

Hispanic Heritage Month: 6 2020 Releases Written by Latinx Authors to Check Out During Hispanic Heritage Month!









1. Furia  by Yamile Saied Mendez A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams. In Rosario, Argentina, Camila...
Continue reading
Tags:
  406 Hits
  0 Comment

Romance Awareness Month: Travel Back in time with these 8 "Historic" Young Adult Historical Romance Titles









Romance Awareness Month: Travel Back in time with these 8 "Historic" Young Adult Historical Romance Titles. 1. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand For fans of The Princess Bride comes the comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married...
Continue reading
Tags:
Recent comment in this post
Yaduraj Choudhary
Can you send the link for today's newsletter? I missed the email.
Monday, 10 August 2020 17:08
  561 Hits
  1 Comment

6 Young Adult Series with Notable Villains; Human and Otherwise!







All great young adult novels have noteworthy villains. These villains aren’t always flesh and blood; sometimes they’re otherworldly, and sometimes they’re the characters own internal struggles. Whatever they are, we’ve listed 6 of the most notable villains in a series.  Mila 2.0 Series      Link to book one. Mila 2.0...
Continue reading
Tags:
  473 Hits
  0 Comment

Heatwave: Summer's Just Heating Up. Check Out These 6 Summer Released, Or Soon-To-Be Released YA Titles!







Entwined by A.J. Rosen     Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. Avery Montgomery doesn’t even know if she wants a soul mate. As a member of the Hellenicus—a race founded in antiquity and descended directly from the Greek gods—Avery’s attending her first Gathering where she’ll gain the ability to entwine...
Continue reading
Tags:
  571 Hits
  0 Comment

Tweet or Post: “Social Media” YA titles Worth Tweeting or Posting About






Social media has taken the world by storm and has held it captive in its proverbial claws. Whether you prefer Facebook over Twitter, or Instagram over the both of them—most of us start our day with social media. Below are 5 “social-media” YA titles worth tweeting or posting about. 1.One of...
Continue reading
Tags:
  355 Hits
  0 Comment

New to YA? Start here. YA Starter Pack for Readers New to the Genre.











Young Adult Novels boomed years ago, but some of you still haven’t taken the dive into the genre. Maybe, you’re just now old enough to read them, or you’re an adult who feels like there’s nothing for you in a bunch of books about teens. If you’re one of those people,...
Continue reading
Tags:
  603 Hits
  0 Comment

7 Discounted Young Adult Novels to Read During the Quarantine








Check out our list of freebies and discounted young adult titles. (All are free or discounted at the time of posting.) If they are no longer available, the library is a great and reliably free resource! 1. Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy Mcginnis ($1.99 on Kindle) Regret was for...
Continue reading
Tags:
  472 Hits
  0 Comment

Indies: 7 Fantasy Indies Recently Added to YABC Shelves Worth Checking Out








  1. Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy- M. Lynn   Sometimes a battle isn't waged on a bloody field. Sometimes it's won within the heart of one girl. Hua Minglan wants revenge for the death of her sister, and she'll do anything to get it. A war is brewing between...
Continue reading
Tags:
  387 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."