The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Hispanic Heritage Month: 6 2020 Releases Written by Latinx Authors to Check Out During Hispanic Heritage Month!









1. Furia  by Yamile Saied Mendez A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams. In Rosario, Argentina, Camila...
Continue reading
Tags:
  333 Hits
  0 Comment

Romance Awareness Month: Travel Back in time with these 8 "Historic" Young Adult Historical Romance Titles









Romance Awareness Month: Travel Back in time with these 8 "Historic" Young Adult Historical Romance Titles. 1. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand For fans of The Princess Bride comes the comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married...
Continue reading
Tags:
Recent comment in this post
Yaduraj Choudhary
Can you send the link for today's newsletter? I missed the email.
Monday, 10 August 2020 17:08
  491 Hits
  1 Comment

6 Young Adult Series with Notable Villains; Human and Otherwise!







All great young adult novels have noteworthy villains. These villains aren’t always flesh and blood; sometimes they’re otherworldly, and sometimes they’re the characters own internal struggles. Whatever they are, we’ve listed 6 of the most notable villains in a series.  Mila 2.0 Series      Link to book one. Mila 2.0...
Continue reading
Tags:
  405 Hits
  0 Comment

Heatwave: Summer's Just Heating Up. Check Out These 6 Summer Released, Or Soon-To-Be Released YA Titles!







Entwined by A.J. Rosen     Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. Avery Montgomery doesn’t even know if she wants a soul mate. As a member of the Hellenicus—a race founded in antiquity and descended directly from the Greek gods—Avery’s attending her first Gathering where she’ll gain the ability to entwine...
Continue reading
Tags:
  510 Hits
  0 Comment

Tweet or Post: “Social Media” YA titles Worth Tweeting or Posting About






Social media has taken the world by storm and has held it captive in its proverbial claws. Whether you prefer Facebook over Twitter, or Instagram over the both of them—most of us start our day with social media. Below are 5 “social-media” YA titles worth tweeting or posting about. 1.One of...
Continue reading
Tags:
  295 Hits
  0 Comment

New to YA? Start here. YA Starter Pack for Readers New to the Genre.











Young Adult Novels boomed years ago, but some of you still haven’t taken the dive into the genre. Maybe, you’re just now old enough to read them, or you’re an adult who feels like there’s nothing for you in a bunch of books about teens. If you’re one of those people,...
Continue reading
Tags:
  555 Hits
  0 Comment

7 Discounted Young Adult Novels to Read During the Quarantine








Check out our list of freebies and discounted young adult titles. (All are free or discounted at the time of posting.) If they are no longer available, the library is a great and reliably free resource! 1. Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy Mcginnis ($1.99 on Kindle) Regret was for...
Continue reading
Tags:
  429 Hits
  0 Comment

Indies: 7 Fantasy Indies Recently Added to YABC Shelves Worth Checking Out








  1. Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy- M. Lynn   Sometimes a battle isn't waged on a bloody field. Sometimes it's won within the heart of one girl. Hua Minglan wants revenge for the death of her sister, and she'll do anything to get it. A war is brewing between...
Continue reading
Tags:
  323 Hits
  0 Comment

Coming Soon: Mysteries/Thrillers Coming out This Year That You Don't Want to Miss

image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
  Mysteries and Thrillers don't get enough love in YA. We don't know about you, but we love a good thrill and chill. We're sharing some 2020 releases we're excited about!       1. All Your Twisted Secrets Diana Urban This thrilling debut, reminiscent of new fan favorites like  One...
Continue reading
  436 Hits
  0 Comment

Women's History Month: Celebrating Women in YA, 2020 Covers with Strong "Woman" Representation

image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
Who runs the world? Girls! Women keep the world going 'round. This month, during Women's History Month, we're celebrating by showcasing SOME of the YA titles featuring fierce ladies that released or are releasing this year! Larga vida a la mujer! 1. I'll be the One by Lyla Lee  The world...
Continue reading
  462 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome! Within...
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Animals--they're cute and fluffy, cuddly and puffy, and ... sometimes...
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Drew Sheneman brings budding paleontologists the truth about...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from New...
Soulswift
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink...
Goblin King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Beautiful Wild
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You are invited to set sail on the maiden voyage...

Latest Member Reviews

Sting Magic
 
4.8
"What a start to the series! Sting Magic by Sarah K.L. Wilson is a fantastic, quick read that takes you..."
Kingdom of the Wicked
 
4.3
"Thrills and chills abound in Kerri Maniscalco‘s new release Kingdom of the Wicked. I don’t know where to start! This..."
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
"SEND ME THEIR SOULS is a gut-wrenching finale to a fantastic YA fantasy series. In this third book, we begin..."
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
"THE WALRUS AND THE CARIBOU is a delightful picture book that captures Indigenous folklore about the creation of animals. Guk..."
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
"THE ELEPHANT'S UMBRELLA is a picture book with great illustrations and a moral of kindness. The elephant has a special..."
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
"CALVIN GETS THE LAST WORD is a cute picture book told from the perspective of Calvin's beloved dictionary. He is..."
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
"GOBLIN KING is a much faster-paced and action-packed YA fantasy sequel. Janneke has taken the mantle of the stag, though..."
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
"HOLLOWPOX is an engaging middle grade fantasy that takes the reader on a magical journey to the Wundrous Society. Morrigan..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
"National Geographic Kids is always sure to be a winner at my house. Their newest release has been deemed the..."
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
"Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct by Drew Sheneman is a short, illustrated nonfiction book introducing children to one of the more..."
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
"HOW TO CATCH A YETI is a delightful picture book about a group of children who, as the title implies,..."
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
"ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her..."
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
"ROSA'S BIG PIZZA EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book about the process to make a pizza, beginning with the flour,..."
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the..."
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
"That ending!!! THE SILVERED SERPENTS is an engaging YA historical fantasy that picks up after the first book ended, and..."
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
"Ashley Poston has crafted a new fairy tale for the ages! Among the Beasts and Briars may very well be..."