The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: 11 Paper Hearts (Kelsey Hartwell)

51AMOfNLd0L._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved Before and The Kissing Booth, this teen romance is about a girl who follows a trail of paper hearts from her mystery admirer and learns that sometimes love can find you in mysterious ways. Ella’s life was picture...
Continue reading
  349 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Daughter of Darkness (Juliana Haygert)

51xs9COyn3L
About This Book: She is destined to kill a demon. He is sent to protect her. One of them is about to fail … He spent centuries in the dark ... After 300 years spent in the underworld as a punishment, warrior Devon is called on by the gods for a...
Continue reading
  316 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Anchored (Bridget E. Baker)

41k3AMv6eqL
About This Book: Two worlds, one fate … Alora was born with the ability to Lift, a power no other women on Terra possess. If the wrong people find out, there’s no telling what will happen. But when she almost kills a man in self-defense, her secret is exposed and she’s...
Continue reading
  323 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Shine Until Tomorrow (Carla Malden)

51sGGjtE2hL._SX306_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Social misfit Mari Caldwell desperately wants to get on with her life. If only she could get there faster―specifically to Yale―and leave behind all the things that make her anxious: driving a car, crossing bridges, her peers, her parents’ divorce. Mari only feels at ease behind the lens...
Continue reading
  295 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The First Holidays (Cait Marie)

51JFLrYVqwL
About This Book: Lila Weston is a pro at keeping secrets, but this time, she can’t wait to share with her friends and *ahem* boyfriend. She has been counting down the days until Gavin, Beth Ann, and Dylan are home for the holidays. Despite seeing Gavin most weekends, however, they haven’t...
Continue reading
  239 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Runaway (Jordan Ford)

51yRHoUv-JL
About This Book: He’s on the hunt for a fresh start. She’s trapped in a nightmare she can’t escape. Can love help them make a break for freedom? Michael: The money was supposed to save me...until it got me shot. You don’t steal from Marlo Sloan. But it led me to...
Continue reading
  408 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: My Best Friend Prince Charming (Cindy Ray Hale)

41zs71EPBbL
About this book: They were best friends. He’s always wanted more. Will his newfound fame destroy them? Shannon Ryker and I have been best friends since third grade. We were the poor kids in the school, but that didn’t matter. We always had each other. And we had big plans to...
Continue reading
  366 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Crossing Lines (Melanie Weiss)

41VJxcRr4cL._SX322_BO1204203200_
About this book:  Midwestern high school seniors and swim teammates Alli and Brandon are the perfect couple, enjoying their final months of high school and making big plans for the future. When a horrific school shooting sparks a national movement, Alli gets involved with protests in support of gun control legislation,...
Continue reading
  380 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Fate and Fortune (Robin Daniels)

41519482._SY475_
About This Book: Bryce has liked Paige since they were little but has never had the guts to act on his feelings. Paige is devastated over being dumped by her long-time boyfriend and can’t seem to move on. They’re stuck in a rut, until fate decides to pull them out. Both...
Continue reading
  786 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Twelfth Knight (Jessica Bucher)

45156662._SY475_
About This Book: Where there’s love, there’s misery. Violet Noble loves a good challenge. That’s why her parents were so insistent on getting her and her twin brother, Sebastian, a scholarship to Shelfbrooke Academy. But when Sebastian bails on the plan, Violet is left alone in a strange land of rich...
Continue reading
  576 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...

Latest Member Reviews

The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."