The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Harper Collins Children's Books Press Release

Harper Collins Children's Books Press Release
  DEY STREET BOOKS AND HARPERCOLLINS CHILDREN’S BOOKS ACQUIRE MEMOIR BY ABBY WAMBACH      FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  (New York, NY; December 7, 2015) – Dey Street Books, an imprint of William Morrow Publishers, and HarperCollins Children’s Books have acquired world rights to a memoir and young reader’s edition by Abby...
Continue reading
  1745 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Angela Blount

Author Chat with Angela Blount
b2ap3_thumbnail_angela-blount.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_once-upon-a-roadtrip.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_joanne.jpg
  Contributed by Joanne Mumley   One of our extraordinary staff members, Joanne, interviewed Angela Blount, author of  Once Upon a Radtrip ! Now she's sharing this fantastic chat with us! But first we'd like to introduce you to this literary duo.        Meet Angela Blount. Award-winning author Angela...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kathryn
Once upon an ever after
Thursday, 29 October 2015 11:11
Linda Romer
Once upon an ever after. Once upon a road trip sounds great ♡ Thank you
Friday, 30 October 2015 20:39
Abagail Cole
Once Upon an Ever After
Tuesday, 03 November 2015 17:45
  6659 Hits
  12 Comments

Author Guest Post--Maggie Thrash

Author Guest Post--Maggie Thrash
b2ap3_thumbnail_pg-69.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_pg-196.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_honor-girl.jpg
  Fifteen is a cool and weird age because you think you know yourself, but in reality you have no idea what you're capable of. And I don't mean that in a hollow “reach for the stars!” way, or in a condescending “you're just a kid!” way either. At that age,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Angela Kunkel
I have been dying to read this!
Friday, 02 October 2015 12:02
Candace Bullington
looks good
Wednesday, 07 October 2015 13:27
  4069 Hits
  2 Comments

A Conversation with Elena Dunkle

A Conversation with Elena Dunkle
page1image24000
page1image24160
b2ap3_thumbnail_elena-dunkle.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_elena-vanishing.jpg
  Today we welcome Elena Dunkle to YABC! Elena's important memoir, Elena Vanishing   tackles the topic of anorexia over a five-year period. Elena has graciously shared a list of seven warning signs for anorexia nervosa, which we are now sharing with you.    SEVEN WARNING SIGNS THAT YOUR FRIEND HAS...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kushnoda
They talk about food
Monday, 08 June 2015 18:34
Emma McG
Anorexics talk obsessively/excessively about food.
Thursday, 11 June 2015 01:27
Emma McG
Anorexics talk obsessively/excessively about food.
Thursday, 11 June 2015 01:27
  7266 Hits
  26 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."