The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: House of Eclipses (Casey L. Bond)

51A9xwxDVIS._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Capture his heart. Steal his crown. Free my kingdom. Noor is the unwanted, unloved third born of the Aten, chosen vessel of the sun goddess, Sol. While she has no chance at inheriting her father’s title, what she truly longs for is peace from his unrelenting hatred. Hope...
Continue reading
  92 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Iron Widow (Xiran Jay Zhao)

51bd867LaVL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Pacific Rim meets The Handmaid's Tale in this blend of Chinese history and mecha science fiction for YA readers. The boys of Huaxia dream of pairing up with girls to pilot Chrysalises, giant transforming robots that can battle the mecha aliens that lurk beyond the Great Wall. It...
Continue reading
  320 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Dino-Zombies!

81hOoOe9OKS
About This Book: Celebrate Halloween with the dino-zombies as they stomp and chomp through the streets on their quest for candy! In this rhyming story designed to engage early readers, charming characters combine with simple text, lively illustrations, and laugh-out-loud humor to help boost kids' confidence and create lifelong readers! Dino-zombies--that's...
Continue reading
  192 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Lights, Camera, Danger (Alien Superstar #2) (Henry Winkler & Lin Oliver)

71NO2duJWdL
About This Book: Emmy Award winner Henry Winker and Lin Oliver are back for the second installment of the New York Times bestselling middle grade series that Diary of a Wimpy Kid author Jeff Kinney calls “truly out of this world!” After escaping his oppressive red dwarf planet and landing a...
Continue reading
  248 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Carlton Crumple Creature Catcher 3: Reptoids from Space (David Fremont)

carlton-crumple-creature-catcher-3-reptoids-from-space-50-1625836267
About This Book: An out-of-this-world new adventure in a very funny graphic novel series that combines fast food, monsters, and battle! Fans of Lunch Lady and Dog Man will gobble this down. When Carlton catches a UFO on camera, he kicks into full-on Creature Catcher mode. Sick of hearing about Carlton's...
Continue reading
  351 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Game of Scones (Bad Food #1)(Eric Luper)

game-of-scones-bad-food-1-43-1632149010
About This Book: An all-new original series featuring the art of viral sensation Joe Whale, AKA the Doodle Boy, and fan-favorite Eric Luper! Somewhere deep within the walk-in pantry at Belching Walrus Elementary lives an array of different foods that live in harmony. There are baskets of fruits and veggies, a...
Continue reading
  606 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review Forestborn by Elyane Audrey Becker

forestborn-47-1625785245
About This Book: A young, orphaned shapeshifter in a world that fears magic must risk everything if she hopes to save her only friend in Elayne Audrey Becker's Forestborn, first in a new fantasy series with a timeless feel. TO BE BORN OF THE FOREST IS A GIFT AND A CURSE....
Continue reading
  352 Hits
  0 Comment