The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: Roxy (Neal Shusterman and Jarrod Shusterman)

41hZpTSOGnS._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From the team that brought you the New York Times bestselling Dry comes a riveting new thriller that proves when gods play games, even love is a lie. The freeway is coming. It will cut the neighborhood in two. Construction has already started, pushing toward this corridor of...
Continue reading
  274 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Heartbreak Bakery (A. R. Capetta)

51Aml8dg6aL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Teenage baker Syd sends ripples of heartbreak through Austin’s queer community when a batch of post-being-dumped brownies turns out to be magical—and makes everyone who eats them break up. “What’s done is done.” Unless, of course, it was done by my brownies. Then it’s getting undone. Syd (no...
Continue reading
  188 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Bluebird (Sharon Cameron)

51o6Bzw5yNL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Author of Reese's Book Club YA Pick The Light in Hidden Places, Sharon Cameron, delivers an emotionally gripping and utterly immersive thriller, perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys's Salt to the Sea. In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for the streets of New York City,...
Continue reading
  322 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Buried (Melissa Grey)

41hOB9qFNtL._SX327_BO1204203200_
About This Book: A heart-pounding, claustrophobic new story from Melissa Grey, the author of RATED. Ten years ago, disaster struck the remote town of Indigo Falls. A horrific event drove the residents underground, into shelters that keep them safe from the danger on the surface. No one speaks about what happened...
Continue reading
  336 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Corpse Queen (Heather M. Herrman)

51vlIdhuOUL._SX328_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In this dark and twisty feminist historical mystery, a teenage girl starts a new life as a grave robber but quickly becomes entangled in a murderer's plans. Soon after her best friend Kitty mysteriously dies, orphaned seventeen-year-old Molly Green is sent away to live with her "aunt." With...
Continue reading
  305 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Beyond the Mapped Stars (Rosalyn Eves)

4125uItKVYL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: A sweeping adventure, set in the late 19th century, about science, love, and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Julie Berry. Seventeen-year-old Elizabeth Bertelsen dreams of becoming an astronomer, but she knows such dreams are as unreachable as the stars she...
Continue reading
  167 Hits
  0 Comment