The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: The Death of Jane Lawrence (Caitlin Starling)

41mRwHy0-DS
About This Book: Practical, unassuming Jane Shoringfield has done the calculations, and decided that the most secure path forward is this: a husband, in a marriage of convenience, who will allow her to remain independent and occupied with meaningful work. Her first choice, the dashing but reclusive doctor Augustine Lawrence, agrees...
Continue reading
  216 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Our Way Back to Always (Nina Moreno)

413rTj1WTAL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson in this effervescent romance about childhood best friends reconnecting that's full of sunny days, warm nights, first kisses, and mended hearts. Luisa (Lou) Patterson grew up across the street from Sam Alvarez in the small, quirky town of...
Continue reading
  212 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Magi Menagerie (Kale Lawrence)

511VBxxD7uS
About This Book: Some stars aren’t meant to be followed. For seventeen years, Ezra Newport and his parents were habitual immigrants, traveling from their Ottoman Empire home across 20th century Europe. As the Newports migrate to Belfast, Ireland, Ezra wants nothing more to settle into a consistent life and lay the...
Continue reading
  246 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Delusionist (Don Calame)

41tO0l9uWoL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Quinn’s illusions are as good as those in any Vegas act—but can he win a spot at a prestigious magic camp despite an upstaging partner, a cute rival, and a con-artist mentor? Fifteen-year-old Quinn Purcell wants only one thing: to win a coveted spot at the Masters of...
Continue reading
  188 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Heartbreak Bakery (A. R. Capetta)

51Aml8dg6aL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Teenage baker Syd sends ripples of heartbreak through Austin’s queer community when a batch of post-being-dumped brownies turns out to be magical—and makes everyone who eats them break up. “What’s done is done.” Unless, of course, it was done by my brownies. Then it’s getting undone. Syd (no...
Continue reading
  187 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Keeper of Night (Kylie Lee)

51Pn1M665wS
About This Book: A girl of two worlds, accepted by none… A half Reaper, half Shinigami soul collector seeks her destiny in this haunting and compulsively readable dark fantasy duology set in 1890s Japan. Death is her destiny. Half British Reaper, half Japanese Shinigami, Ren Scarborough has been collecting souls in...
Continue reading
  153 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Vespertine (Margaret Rogerson)

41jan1VC5bL._SX324_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens comes a thrilling new YA fantasy about a teen girl with mythic abilities who must defend her world against restless spirits of the dead. The dead of Loraille do not rest. Artemisia...
Continue reading
  211 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Briarheart (Mercedes Lackey)

51fGS9svpxL
About This Book: From a beloved fantasy author comes this fresh feminist retelling of Sleeping Beauty about one girl destined for greatness—and the powerful sister ready to protect her by any means necessary. Miriam may be the daughter of Queen Alethia of Tirendell, but she's not a princess. She's the child...
Continue reading
  223 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Luminous (Mara Rutherford)

51FL3u616L._SX328_BO1204203200_-1
About This Book: From the author of Crown of Coral and Pearl comes an immersive new fantasy about a witch who must learn to harness her power—or risk losing her loved ones forever. Liora has spent her life in hiding, knowing discovery could mean falling prey to the king’s warlock, Darius,...
Continue reading
  215 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Falling Girls (Hayley Krischer)

51V6TQVwKTL
About This Book: From the author of the unforgettable Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes an intoxicating thriller about the dark paths female friendships can take, set against the backdrop of a high school cheerleading squad. Perfect for fans of Megan Abbott and Kathleen Glasgow. Shade and Jadis are everything to...
Continue reading
  136 Hits
  0 Comment