The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: Missing the Beat (Cait Marie)

41X6mh95ztS
About This Book: The dream job? Check. The best friends? Check. The only problem? Her first love is in town, and he doesn’t seem to remember her. Maya got the role of a lifetime. She's the lead in the next Lucas Warner movie, her two best friends have found love, everything...
Continue reading
  169 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Roxy (Neal Shusterman and Jarrod Shusterman)

41hZpTSOGnS._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From the team that brought you the New York Times bestselling Dry comes a riveting new thriller that proves when gods play games, even love is a lie. The freeway is coming. It will cut the neighborhood in two. Construction has already started, pushing toward this corridor of...
Continue reading
  262 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Sway with Me (Syed M. Masood)

51lWybrsJVL._SX331_BO1204203200_-1
About This Book: She’s All That goes desi in this hilarious, affecting, and sweetly romantic comedy by the author of More Than Just a Pretty Face. Arsalan has learned everything he knows from Nana, his 100-year-old great-grandfather. This includes the fact that when Nana dies, Arsalan will be completely alone in...
Continue reading
  170 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Cupcake (Cookie O'Gorman)

517YCwPW7aS._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: I know what you're thinking. You're thinking this will be just one more story of the ignored, "big-boned " girl, who sheds her glasses and a few extra pounds and finally attracts the notice of the most popular guy in school. Except it isn't. Because I'm not unpopular....
Continue reading
  185 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Journey to the Heart of the Abyss (London Shah)

image0
About This Book: The sequel to London Shah's thrilling futuristic mystery The Light at the Bottom of the World, perfect for fans of Illuminae and These Broken Stars Leyla McQueen has finally reunited with her father after breaking him out of Broadmoor, the illegal government prison—but his freedom comes at a...
Continue reading
  251 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: That Dark Infinity (Kate Pentecost)

51FqSrVnzkL._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: An immortal monster hunter and a royal handmaiden embark on an epic journey to change their fates in this soul-stirring young adult fantasy novel for fans of The Witcher and The Last Unicorn. By night, the Ankou is a legendary, permanently young mercenary—the most fearsome sword for hire...
Continue reading
  271 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Verntropa - The Balance (E. L. Clarke)

51yqig69tmS
About This Book: When we dream, where do we go? Olivia Merton has only ever known Earth after the shift. For fifteen years there has been no sunshine, little rain…and resources are scarce. A recurring dream provides an escape from her troubled monochrome life and leads her to a vividly coloured...
Continue reading
  171 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Hunting by Stars (Cherie Dimaline)

51uUE20e85S._SX327_BO1204203200_-1
About This Book: From the acclaimed author of The Marrow Thieves comes a thrilling new story about hope and survival that New York Times bestselling author Angeline Boulley called “a revelatory must-read” Years ago, when plagues and natural disasters killed millions of people, much of the world stopped dreaming. Without dreams,...
Continue reading
  210 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Within These Wicked Walls (Lauren Blackwood)

51pQyf-Qo0L._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: "Lauren Blackwood’s can’t-miss debut is a magical, Ethiopian-inspired remix of Jane Eyre." - Harper's Bazaar What the heart desires, the house destroys... Andromeda is a debtera―an exorcist hired to cleanse households of the Evil Eye. She would be hired, that is, if her mentor hadn’t thrown her out...
Continue reading
  240 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Lies My Memory Told Me (Sacha Wunsch)

51A2WaAn-PL._SX328_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From the thrilling voice of Sacha Wunsch comes a heart-stopping psychological mystery in a world where memories can be shared—and one girl can’t trust any of them. Enhanced Memory changed everything. By sharing someone else’s memory, you can experience anything and everything with no risk at all: learn...
Continue reading
  205 Hits
  0 Comment