The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Spotlight on Mayhem (Estelle Laure), Plus Excerpt!

Mayhem_blogtourbanner_coming-soon



Today we're excited to spotlight Mayhem  by Estelle Laure.  Read on for more about Estelle and her book, plus an excerpt!     Dear Reader,   Like Mayhem, I experienced a period of time when my life was extremely unstable. I can still remember what it was like to be shaken...
Continue reading
  215 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on After The Worst Thing Happens (Audrey Vernick), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

After-the-Worst-Thing-Happens-Cover



Today we're excited to spotlight After The Worst Thing Happens  by Audrey Vernick.  Read on for more about Audrey and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Audrey Vernick !      Audrey Vernick has written many pictures books, including  First Grade Dropout, Brothers at Bat,  and...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great! great cover!
Friday, 10 July 2020 12:59
Victoria Scott
Sounds awesome! Thank you for sharing!
Saturday, 11 July 2020 22:15
Abigail Singrey
Love the cover!
Sunday, 12 July 2020 14:56
  187 Hits
  3 Comments

Spotlight on I Killed Zoe Spanos (Kit Frick), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

0-9



Today we're excited to spotlight I Killed Zoe Spanos  by Kit Frick.  Read on for more about Kit and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Kit Frick !     Kit Frick is a novelist, poet, and MacDowell Colony fellow from Pittsburgh, PA. She studied creative...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Liz
i love this cover and the way it matches the tone of the book
Tuesday, 07 July 2020 03:39
Colleen Burns
I can't wait to read this book!
Friday, 10 July 2020 14:25
  367 Hits
  2 Comments

Spotlight on What Unbreakable Looks Like (Kate McLaughlin), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

51056342



Today we're excited to spotlight What Unbreakable Looks Like  by Kate McLaughlin.  Read on for more about Kate and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Kate McLaughlin !    KATE McLAUGHLIN likes people, so much so that she spends her days making up her own. She...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Liz
i love this cover. can't wait to share this book with my niece!
Tuesday, 07 July 2020 03:31
  420 Hits
  1 Comment

Spotlight on The Court Of Miracles (Kester Grant), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

_20200612-005901_1





Today we're excited to spotlight The Court Of Miracles  by Kester Grant.  Read on for more about Kester and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Kester Grant ! Kester (Kit) Grant is a British-Mauritian writer of color who has lived all over the world: Mauritius, Democratic...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book sounds great, look forward to reading it!
Friday, 12 June 2020 10:23
Madeline Tebo
I love Les Miserables and I can't wait to read this!
Sunday, 14 June 2020 19:41
Sam Haurie
I have been dying to read this book. I've heard nothing but good things! Thanks for the chance!
Monday, 15 June 2020 11:08
  432 Hits
  15 Comments

Spotlight on Kissing Lessons (Sophie Jordan), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

52130550._SX318_SY475_



Today we're excited to spotlight Kissing Lessons  by Sophie Jordan.  Read on for more about Sophie and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Sophie Jordan ! Sophie Jordan is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of Avon historical romances. She lives in Houston...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Candice Gigous
The cover is fun and flirty. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like a cute and fun read.
Thursday, 11 June 2020 08:53
Andrea Carroll
How fun for a YA book - opposites attract.
Sunday, 14 June 2020 10:54
Beth Rodgers, Staff Reviewer
This was a fantastic book! My review is up on the site
Saturday, 27 June 2020 22:51
  563 Hits
  5 Comments

Spotlight on Everything's Not Fine (Sarah Carlson), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

49186332._SY475_



Today we're excited to spotlight Everything's Not Fine  by Sarah Carlson.  Read on for more about Sarah and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Sarah Carlson ! Sarah J. Carlson writes contemporary YA that delves into complex, real world problems. Professionally, she is a school psychologist...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Tuesday, 26 May 2020 12:04
Autumn
Sounds like an interesting take on ya contemporary.
Tuesday, 09 June 2020 23:39
Danielle Hammelef
I like the cover and the book sounds emotional.
Friday, 19 June 2020 13:19
  526 Hits
  3 Comments

Spotlight on Home Home (Lisa Allen-Agostini), Plus Excerpt!

0-_20200521-051545_1



Today we're excited to spotlight Home Home  by Lisa Allen-Agostini.  Read on for more about Lisa and her book, plus an excerpt!       Meet Lisa Allen-Agostini ! Lisa Allen-Agostini is a widely published novelist, journalist, and poet from Trinidad and Tobago. She writes primarily about the Caribbean, its people,...
Continue reading
  315 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Of The Week: Kiera Cass (The Betrothed), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

unnamed-_20200510-032033_1




Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!               Introducing Kiera Cass , YABC's...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Victoria Scott
I love Kiera's writing style and can't wait to enjoy this book as well!
Tuesday, 12 May 2020 18:38
Candice Gigous
The cover is beautiful. The synopsis is very intriguing. I loved The Selection series by this author and I am excited about this n... Read More
Wednesday, 13 May 2020 07:29
Lin Ryals
I love Cass! I love this cover! I really want this book!
Monday, 08 June 2020 07:42
  862 Hits
  4 Comments

Spotlight on Felix Ever After (Kacen Callender), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

51931067

















Today we're excited to spotlight Felix Ever After  by Kacen Callender.  Read on for more about Kacen and their book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Kacen Callender ! Kacen Callender  is originally from Saint Thomas, in the US Virgin Islands. Kacen has a BA from Sarah Lawrence...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Madeline Tebo
I can't wait to read this! And the cover is gorgeous!
Tuesday, 12 May 2020 16:07
Abigail Lowry
Kacen Callender is one of my favorite authors and I can't wait to read their next book; it looks fantastic!
Wednesday, 13 May 2020 13:14
Keia
One of my favorite book covers! I can't wait to read this one.
Thursday, 21 May 2020 20:51
  673 Hits
  7 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."