The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Spotlight on A Curse So Dark and Lonely (Brigid Kemmerer), Special Pre-Order Offer, Plus Excerpt!

ACSD

C:\Users\eloberg\Downloads\CURSE Preorder Ad.jpg
C:\Users\eloberg\Downloads\CURSE Cozy Winter Reading Box.png

A Curse So Dark and Lonely Excerpt and Pre-Order Offer     In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.   Fall in love, break the curse. It once seemed so easy to Prince...
Continue reading
  971 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Of The Week: Chat with Brigid Kemmerer (A Curse So Dark and Lonely), Plus Giveaway!

unnamed-1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!           Introducing Brigid Kemmerer,  YABC's Author of...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover! I feel like this book is going to be amazing!
Tuesday, 15 January 2019 09:51
Lily M.
Love this cover ??
Saturday, 19 January 2019 22:49
Lily M.
I meant "This Cover!!!" hehehe
Friday, 01 February 2019 19:58
  1552 Hits
  20 Comments

Sneak Peek + Giveaway: LETTERS TO THE LOST (US and Canada Only)

Sneak Peek + Giveaway: LETTERS TO THE LOST (US and Canada Only)

Letters to the Lost (US and Canada Only) by Brigid Kemmerer Release Date: April 4, 2017 Publisher: Bloomsbury   About the Book Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother's death, she leaves letters at her grave. It's the only way Juliet can cope....
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
The cover intrigued me, and the synopsis told me that here, here is a book!
Thursday, 06 April 2017 21:05
KM
I've been waiting for this book for so long.
Friday, 07 April 2017 18:30
Tiffany Engler
Looks so good!!!!
Saturday, 08 April 2017 07:50
  2735 Hits
  16 Comments

Featured Review: Letters To The Lost (Brigid Kemmerer)

Featured Review: Letters To The Lost (Brigid Kemmerer)
About This Book: Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother's death, she leaves letters at her grave. It's the only way Juliet can cope. Declan Murphy isn't the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service...
Continue reading
  1294 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Kelly Fiore & Brigid Kemmerer

Author Chat with Kelly Fiore & Brigid Kemmerer
b2ap3_thumbnail_kelly-fiore-author.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_brigid-k-author.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_thicker-than-water-kelly-fiore.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_thicker-than-water-bridgid.jpg
  So what happens when two authors write two completely different books with the same title? Well that's what we're going to find out today!   Kelly Fiore and Brigid Kemmerer are each releasing novels titled Thicker Than Water , and they've interviewd each other for YABC! Read below for more...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager
Thankfully the authors' names and ISBN numbers are different, so all should be well. Duplicate titles aren't all that rare, though... Read More
Tuesday, 05 January 2016 21:59
Susan T.
They seem like two very different books and yet the title fits for both of them so that's kind of neat!
Sunday, 17 January 2016 17:28
Kara S
What a fascinating literary enterprise! I love it!
Tuesday, 19 January 2016 06:32
  4006 Hits
  23 Comments

Author Guest Post with Brigid Kemmerer

Author Guest Post with Brigid Kemmerer
b2ap3_thumbnail_brigid-k-author.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_thicker-than-water.jpg
  Contributed by Brigid Kemmerer    I’m going to come right out and say it: I love people. I really do. I love meeting people, talking to people, learning about people. I love families. Kids. Grown­ups. Single people, married people, red people, blue people—wait. I’m turning into Dr. Seuss. You know...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Susan T.
Anne Marie Lassiter
Sunday, 29 November 2015 14:55
Sarah
Anne Marie Lassiter
Tuesday, 08 December 2015 16:02
Linda Romer
Anne Marie Lassiter ♡ Thank you
Friday, 18 December 2015 08:36
  6674 Hits
  10 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Four girls. One unforgettable July. ...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of British and Irish folktales from master...
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week after their eleventh birthday, the Fowl twins--scientist Myles,...
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Kai grows tired of her bookish mum not being...
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Sadie meets Girl in Pieces in this dark, emotional thriller...
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Abigail has just started her second year at the Tarkana...
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Based on the Disney Junior TV show and inspired by...
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the faux-documentary style of The Blair Witch Project comes...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history, leaving...
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ever wanted to fold your own Chocolate Frogs? Or play...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon will...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution...
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.7
"Four very different high school girls plan to spend one month together in GIRLS OF JULY, and they each have..."
 
3.0
"BETWEEN WORLDS: FOLKTALES OF BRITAIN AND IRELAND is a collection of short stories that have been passed down over centuries..."
Adaptive
 
4.8
"The story: Lune Avery has survived the Elite Trials and escaped the clutches of her tyrant father,..."
Forgiven Are the Starry-Eyed
 
5.0
"The story: Sheltered high school junior Andrea Cavanaugh believes she hits the jackpot when Josh McMillan, a..."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"Witty, clever, and full of mischief, THE FOWL TWINS is a spin-off of ARTEMIS FOWL that easily stands on its..."
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
"KAI AND THE MONKEY KING is an engaging and thrilling installment in the Brownstone's Mythical Collection series. In this book,..."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
"An excellent read for children who love machines and/or space, ASTRO KITTENS: INTO THE UNKNOWN takes preschoolers for an unforgettable..."
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
"Wish you could teach your toddler about outer space and the basis for science-fiction? If so- or you just love..."
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
"ALL THE THINGS WE DO IN THE DARK is an intensely challenging and thought-provoking read with some magical realism elements...."
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
"THE RUBICUS PROPHECY is an engaging second book in the WITCHES OF ORKNEY series that follows the same friends on..."
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
"RULES FOR VANISHING is a deliciously haunting YA horror perfect for Halloween. Told through collected documents, interviews, and texts, this..."
What Makes Us
 
5.0
"WHAT MAKES US is an intriguing story that follows a teenaged boy, his mother (in the past), and his friend..."
Serpent & Dove
 
5.0
"Lou is on the run from her family and she lives a thieving life with her friend Coco. Both of..."
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
"When Dad tells Nancy stories about when he and Mom used to go camping, Nancy knows it's something she has..."
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
"Scholastic Inc brings origami and Harry Potter together in this book with fifteen foldable crafts! Each one has a different..."
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
"BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY is an engaging contemporary YA that presents some issues very well. The writing is in a..."
On the Come Up
 
5.0
"ON THE COME UP is a fantastic new YA contemporary that handles big issues like racism and sexism. The characters..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
"FIREBORNE is a new YA fantasy that follows two teens, Lee and Anna (Antigone) in alternating points-of-view. Lee and Anna..."
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"As Middle Grade graphic novel adaptations go, this urban fantasy is above par. The artwork has a bit..."