The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: My High School Rebel Boyfriend (Kylie Key)

51vDazpDKdL
About This Book: He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my life a misery Mitchell Finlayson has it in for me All because I snitched on him Well, he deserved it, but I didn’t count on his punishment being to help the volleyball team. Now he seems to be there...
Continue reading
  257 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: My High School Royal Boyfriend (Kylie Key)

51E9zwjRlsL
About This Book: Two people with secret identities… Can anything between them be real? ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family in the spotlight Hounded by a ruthless press, it’s decided I should disappear for awhile That’s how I’ve ended up on the other side of the world At...
Continue reading
  325 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: What Goes Up (Christine Heppermann)

48929825
About This Book: How do you forgive yourself—and the people you love—when a shocking discovery leads to a huge mistake?  Acclaimed author Christine Heppermann’s novel-in-verse tackles betrayals and redemption among family and friends with her signature unflinching—but always sharply witty—style.  For fans of Elana K. Arnold, Laura Ruby, and A. S....
Continue reading
  400 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Path We Take (Young Love #2) (Kylie Key)

53152611._SY475_
About This Book: He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt He’s fighting for his life A knee injury turns my world upside down, putting my gymnastics scholarship in doubt. As I wait for surgery, I’m persuaded into volunteering to help with my college applications. The boy called Spider has no family...
Continue reading
  474 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Igloo High (Jacinthe Dessureault)

44313842._SY475_
About This Book: Senior year was supposed to be fabulous for popular high school girl Ella—a year filled with dating, shopping and partying, with a kick-ass prom at the end. If only her dad understood this! Instead, when offered the job of a lifetime, he uproots his city-loving daughter and drags...
Continue reading
  723 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Bea and the Bad Boy (Anna Catherine Field)

44827814._SY475_
About This Book: A strong person doesn’t seek revenge. They let karma do the dirty work. Too bad Bea isn’t strong, or at least she doesn’t think she is, which is why she jumps when the opportunity presents itself to get back at her twin brother and former best friend the...
Continue reading
  632 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Lily and The Wedding Date Mistake (Seven Steps)

45022964._SY475_
About This Book: IT WAS THE WORST FIRST DATE EVER! When seventeen-year-old Lily McAlister meets a witty, mysterious boy at her aunt's wedding, sparks instantly fly between them. There's only one problem. She's lost her glasses and can't see his face. Worse, when she finds her glasses she gets a front...
Continue reading
  767 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: My Virtual Prince Charming (Maggie Dallen)

43831767._SY475_
About This Book: Some girls have a dream guy, but Suzie's ideal boyfriend is totally real. He’s just...virtual. Suzie doesn't need to see her online gaming buddy to know that he’s her perfect match. The problem lies in reality, AKA high school. Ever since a humiliating photo of her surfaced on...
Continue reading
  761 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Next To Last Mistake (Amalie Jahn)

38896061
About This Book: Tess Goodwin's life in rural Iowa is sheltered and uncomplicated. Although she chooses to spend most of her free time playing chess with her best friend Zander, the farm-boy from next door, her skills as a bovine midwife and tractor mechanic ensure that she fits in with the...
Continue reading
  1097 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: In Paris With You (Clementine Beauvais)

In-Paris-With-You_COVER
About This Book: Eugene and Tatiana could have fallen in love, if things had gone differently. If they had tried to really know each other, if it had just been them, and not the others. But that was years ago and time has found them far apart, leading separate lives. Until...
Continue reading
  685 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...

Latest Member Reviews

Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Things That Go (I Can Learn)
 
5.0
"THINGS THAT GO is a delightful lift-the-flap and peek-through exploration of vehicles. In three sets of pages with flaps, die-cuts,..."
Welcome to Florida
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO FLORIDA is a fun touristy picture book about the state of Florida. The book goes through some of..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."