Spotlight: The Art of Not Breathing, Plus Giveaway

Spotlight: The Art of Not Breathing, Plus Giveaway

Today we're putting a spotlight on Sarah Alexander's soon-to-be released novel, The Art of Not Breathing. Read on for more about Sarah, her novel, an excerpt from the book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

Meet Sarah Alexander!


Sarah Alexander completed an MA in creative writing at Birkbeck College with distinction. She currently works in publishing in London.

 

 

Meet The Art of Not Breathing!

Since her twin brother, Eddie, drowned five years ago, sixteen-year-old Elsie Main has tried to remember what really happened that fateful day on the beach. One minute Eddie was there, and the next he was gone. Seventeen-year-old Tay McKenzie is a cute and mysterious boy that Elsie meets in her favorite boathouse hangout. When Tay introduces Elsie to the world of freediving, she vows to find the answers she seeks at the bottom of the sea.

 

Novel Excerpt:

We swim out a bit farther. I’m starting to get cold, but I don’t want to leave.

“What’s the deepest you’ve gone?”

Tay tilts his head back into the water. “I don’t know. Why is everyone so obsessed with how deep?”

“Isn’t that what it’s about?”

He lifts his head and flicks water in my face on purpose.

“No. Not at all. Come on—let’s dive.” He grabs my shoulder.

“How deep is it here?”

Tay sighs. “About twelve meters, but we’re not going to the bottom.”

From here I can see the lighthouse on the Point. I can just about make out small dots on the beach. Dolphin watchers.

“What about out there?” I ask, pointing toward the bit of water just away from the lighthouse, where Dillon used to swim, where the dolphins show off.

I feel Tay’s fingers tighten around my shoulder.

“Deeper,” he says. “There’s a drop­off. It goes to about forty­three meters.”

I shiver. “Ever been?”

“Nah, nothing to see down there. Right—enough talking. Let’s go under.”

The drop­off. The very bottom of the bay. That’s where Eddie would have gone. That’s where I need to go.

“Elsie, come on.”

I tear my eyes away from the Point and focus my attention on Tay. It’s not that hard. I could look at him all day.

I take two deep breaths, like Tay does, then dive down. I kick and kick, but I seem to move only horizontally. I give up. I have to wait on the surface for Tay. I watch his shadow dart about and count three minutes, and I don’t even know how long he was down before I started counting. When he surfaces, he looks like he’s been on some kind of magical experience. His eyes are glazed and shiny. He puts his arms around me and kisses me on the mouth. He tastes of salt.

“Come on, El,” he says into my neck. “Let’s go to the boathouse and warm up.”

I love how he just called me El—I feel so much older.

On the way back to Fortrose, I try to ask Tay for diving tips, but he ignores my questions and tells me about all the different rocks that can be found on the Black Isle.

“Did you see all the layers of different­colored rock?” he says, pointing to the shoreline. “There’s sandstone, black shale, limestone. Sandstone is what the Pictish people used to carve their sculptures. If you look carefully on the beach, you can sometimes find bits of their artwork. You can find fossils, too.”

“Why are there so many layers?” I ask, feigning interest.

Tay kicks a pebble. “The passing of time, I guess. Earthquakes causing the land to shift. Do you ever think about all the people who’ve walked along this beach before you?”

“Not really,” I say. “Isn’t that a bit morbid?”

“No. It’s history. It’s amazing what you can find on the beach if you look hard enough.”

“And under the water?”

“Yes, but most of the interesting stuff ends up on the beach.”

He bends down to pick up a small flat black rock. “See? It’s a fossil.”

“Why don’t you like talking about diving?” I ask him. “Especially when you’re so good at it.”

Immediately I feel annoyed at myself for giving him a compliment, but at the same time I want to know.

“That’s the beauty of it,” Tay says. “I don’t need to talk about it. It’s just something I do, like breathing.”

I grin. “You mean it’s like not breathing.”
He smiles slowly at me, like he’s just realizing something. “You’re right. And I’m glad I get to not breathe with you.” 

 

 

The Art of Not Breathing

By: Sarah Alexander

Release Date: April 26, 2016 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Five winners will receive a copy of this new book (US only).

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: How to Make Out by Brian...
Author Chat with Andrea Young, Plus Giveaway!

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Kara S on Tuesday, 22 March 2016 18:17

I like the combination of the family dealing with grief and a mystery story! Cheers, Kara S

0
I like the combination of the family dealing with grief and a mystery story! Cheers, Kara S
Linda Romer on Wednesday, 23 March 2016 21:25

The art of not breathing sounds like a good read ♡ Thank you

0
The art of not breathing sounds like a good read ♡ Thank you
alyssa on Saturday, 02 April 2016 16:14

This seems about moving on about the past, about letting go of he things that holds one back and being free. The cover looks great actually!

0
This seems about moving on about the past, about letting go of he things that holds one back and being free. The cover looks great actually!
stephanie bondlow on Sunday, 03 April 2016 02:38

That is a lovely title for a good book. I love the story that I read so far! Can't wait to dig in further.

0
That is a lovely title for a good book. I love the story that I read so far! Can't wait to dig in further.
BookFanatic on Monday, 11 April 2016 20:24

I love the title of this book so much along with the cover. And books with these types of plots, involving someone conquering a fear that they've had all their life is always interesting for me to read. Although, of course i'm always also a sucker for a good contemporary love story what can i say.

0
I love the title of this book so much along with the cover. And books with these types of plots, involving someone conquering a fear that they've had all their life is always interesting for me to read. Although, of course i'm always also a sucker for a good contemporary love story what can i say.
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 12 April 2016 19:15

I love the ocean and undersea life. This sounds good.

0
I love the ocean and undersea life. This sounds good.
Nicole Wetherington on Sunday, 17 April 2016 00:16

This book looks great!

0
This book looks great!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."