Spotlight on Welcome to Chanu-Con (Beth Rodgers), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

4840990_20191211-170259_1

 Today we're excited to spotlight Welcome to Chanu-Con! by Beth Rodgers.

 Read on for more about the inspiration behind this new comic, some fun facts about Chanukah, and some of the illustrations by Howard Fridson, plus a giveaway!

 

8 Facts of Chanukah

1. Chanukah (also called the Festival of Lights) is celebrated for eight days and nights because of the oil that miraculously lasted eight days when it was thought it would only last for one.

2. Chanukah celebrates the victory of the Maccabees or Israelites over the Greek-Syrian ruler, Antiochus, about 2200 years ago.

3. A Menorah is a special nine-branched candelabrum, also known in Hebrew as a Hanukiah.

4. Each night of Chanukah, an additional candle is placed in the Menorah from right to left (the way Hebrew is read), and then lit from left to right (newest candle first). On the last night, all the candles are lit. A total of 44 candles are lit during the holiday. One of these is called a shamash (helper candle) that lights the others each night.

5. During Chanukah, families eat latkes (potato pancakes) and sufganiyot (jelly donuts), or other foods which are fried in oil, to celebrate and commemorate the miracle of the Festival of Lights.

6. A dreidel, or s'vivon, is a four-sided top that has a Hebrew letter on each side.

7. The four letters on a dreidel form an acronym. The letters – nun, gimel, hay, and shin – stand for the Hebrew phrase, “Nes Gadol Hayah Sham,” meaning “A great miracle happened there,” which refers to the miraculous, long-lasting oil. Interestingly, in Israel, the phrase is changed to be “Nes Gadol Hayah Po” meaning “A great miracle happened here.”

8. While the holiday always begins on the 25th day of Kislev in the Hebrew calendar, the date changes each year in the Gregorian calendar (what most people use). This year it starts the evening of Sunday, December 22nd, but it has started as early as late November and as late as the end of December. It is just a coincidence that it sometimes overlaps with Christmas.

 

 

 

 

Meet Beth Rodgers!

  

Beth Rodgers is an author and editor. Her newest release is a children's picture book, 'Welcome to Chanu-Con!' She is also the author of two young adult novels, 'Freshman Fourteen' and its sequel 'Sweet Fifteen,' as well as the short story 'Hearts & Homes,' found in the 'Mistletoe & Magic' anthology from YA Books Central. Her world is made up of her three boys, her husband, and good family and friends. She loves spending her time watching TV and movies, volunteering at her kids' schools, taking walks, and, of course, reading great books. Learn more about her at BethRodgersAuthor.com.

 

 

Website * Twitter * Facebook 

 

 

 

Meet Welcome To Chanu-Con!

Join Max and his sister Lila as they navigate their synagogue's Chanukah extravaganza, "Chanu-Con!" Their day's highlights include making a human menorah, dipping Chanukah candles, tasting latkes and Chanukah treats, and dancing to festive music. A comic-book style graphic children's book written in verse and inclusive of the Chanukah story with its deeper meanings, "Welcome to Chanu-Con!" is the first collaboration between Beth Rodgers, author and Chanu-Con! founder, and veteran children's illustrator, Howard Frids

 

 

 AmazonB & NIndiebound

 

 

 

 

Welcome to Chanu-Con! is a comic book style graphic children's story based on a real event called Chanu-Con!, which is a community-wide Chanukah festival held at Congregation Beth Shalom in Metro Detroit each year. This year was our fourth annual event, and it was held on Sunday, November 24th. The idea for the event, and eventually this book, came from my then 3-year old son who is now 6. He couldn't say “Happy Chanukah” and instead said “Happy Chanu-Con!” and that's where the idea stemmed from. It's kind of like Comic-Con, but based around Chanukah. That's why we decided that the book should look kind of like a comic book. I chose to write 'Welcome to Chanu-Con!' in verse to give it more of a flow for readers, and Howard Fridson's illustrations do a fantastic job of highlighting the words.

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome To Chanu-Con!

Author: Beth Rodgers

Publishing Date: November 1st, 2019

Publisher: Clear Stone Press

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Welcome To Chanu-Con! (Beth Rodgers) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Golden Crown (M Lynn)
5th Annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaga...

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Thursday, 12 December 2019 09:14

The book looks awesome, hope I can win this to read to my twins!

0
The book looks awesome, hope I can win this to read to my twins!
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 05 January 2020 11:09

The cover is okay. The synopsis sounds intriguing as I will learn about a new faith.

0
The cover is okay. The synopsis sounds intriguing as I will learn about a new faith.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...

Latest Member Reviews

Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."