Spotlight on Welcome to Chanu-Con (Beth Rodgers), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

4840990_20191211-170259_1

 Today we're excited to spotlight Welcome to Chanu-Con! by Beth Rodgers.

 Read on for more about the inspiration behind this new comic, some fun facts about Chanukah, and some of the illustrations by Howard Fridson, plus a giveaway!

 

8 Facts of Chanukah

1. Chanukah (also called the Festival of Lights) is celebrated for eight days and nights because of the oil that miraculously lasted eight days when it was thought it would only last for one.

2. Chanukah celebrates the victory of the Maccabees or Israelites over the Greek-Syrian ruler, Antiochus, about 2200 years ago.

3. A Menorah is a special nine-branched candelabrum, also known in Hebrew as a Hanukiah.

4. Each night of Chanukah, an additional candle is placed in the Menorah from right to left (the way Hebrew is read), and then lit from left to right (newest candle first). On the last night, all the candles are lit. A total of 44 candles are lit during the holiday. One of these is called a shamash (helper candle) that lights the others each night.

5. During Chanukah, families eat latkes (potato pancakes) and sufganiyot (jelly donuts), or other foods which are fried in oil, to celebrate and commemorate the miracle of the Festival of Lights.

6. A dreidel, or s'vivon, is a four-sided top that has a Hebrew letter on each side.

7. The four letters on a dreidel form an acronym. The letters – nun, gimel, hay, and shin – stand for the Hebrew phrase, “Nes Gadol Hayah Sham,” meaning “A great miracle happened there,” which refers to the miraculous, long-lasting oil. Interestingly, in Israel, the phrase is changed to be “Nes Gadol Hayah Po” meaning “A great miracle happened here.”

8. While the holiday always begins on the 25th day of Kislev in the Hebrew calendar, the date changes each year in the Gregorian calendar (what most people use). This year it starts the evening of Sunday, December 22nd, but it has started as early as late November and as late as the end of December. It is just a coincidence that it sometimes overlaps with Christmas.

 

 

 

 

Meet Beth Rodgers!

  

Beth Rodgers is an author and editor. Her newest release is a children's picture book, 'Welcome to Chanu-Con!' She is also the author of two young adult novels, 'Freshman Fourteen' and its sequel 'Sweet Fifteen,' as well as the short story 'Hearts & Homes,' found in the 'Mistletoe & Magic' anthology from YA Books Central. Her world is made up of her three boys, her husband, and good family and friends. She loves spending her time watching TV and movies, volunteering at her kids' schools, taking walks, and, of course, reading great books. Learn more about her at BethRodgersAuthor.com.

 

 

Website * Twitter * Facebook 

 

 

 

Meet Welcome To Chanu-Con!

Join Max and his sister Lila as they navigate their synagogue's Chanukah extravaganza, "Chanu-Con!" Their day's highlights include making a human menorah, dipping Chanukah candles, tasting latkes and Chanukah treats, and dancing to festive music. A comic-book style graphic children's book written in verse and inclusive of the Chanukah story with its deeper meanings, "Welcome to Chanu-Con!" is the first collaboration between Beth Rodgers, author and Chanu-Con! founder, and veteran children's illustrator, Howard Frids

 

 

 AmazonB & NIndiebound

 

 

 

 

Welcome to Chanu-Con! is a comic book style graphic children's story based on a real event called Chanu-Con!, which is a community-wide Chanukah festival held at Congregation Beth Shalom in Metro Detroit each year. This year was our fourth annual event, and it was held on Sunday, November 24th. The idea for the event, and eventually this book, came from my then 3-year old son who is now 6. He couldn't say “Happy Chanukah” and instead said “Happy Chanu-Con!” and that's where the idea stemmed from. It's kind of like Comic-Con, but based around Chanukah. That's why we decided that the book should look kind of like a comic book. I chose to write 'Welcome to Chanu-Con!' in verse to give it more of a flow for readers, and Howard Fridson's illustrations do a fantastic job of highlighting the words.

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome To Chanu-Con!

Author: Beth Rodgers

Publishing Date: November 1st, 2019

Publisher: Clear Stone Press

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Welcome To Chanu-Con! (Beth Rodgers) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Golden Crown (M Lynn)
5th Annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaga...

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Thursday, 12 December 2019 09:14

The book looks awesome, hope I can win this to read to my twins!

0
The book looks awesome, hope I can win this to read to my twins!
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 05 January 2020 11:09

The cover is okay. The synopsis sounds intriguing as I will learn about a new faith.

0
The cover is okay. The synopsis sounds intriguing as I will learn about a new faith.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."