Spotlight on Twin Daggers (MarcyKate Connolly), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Twin-Daggers-cove_20200827-154510_1

Today we're excited to spotlight Twin Daggers by MarcyKate Connolly.

 Read on for more about MarcyKate and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet MarcyKate Connolly!

       

MarcyKate Connolly is a New York Times Bestselling children’s book author and nonprofit marketing professional living in New England with her family and a grumble of pugs. She can be lured out from her writing cave with the promise of caffeine and new books. Twin Daggers is her debut young adult novel, and she’s also the author of several middle grade fantasy novels including Monstrous and Ravenous, and the Shadow Weaver series. You can visit her online at www.marcykate.com

  

 Website * Twitter * Facebook * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet Twin Daggers!

Aissa's life is a web of carefully constructed lies. She and her twin sister, Zandria, are Magi spies, magic users most believe to be extinct. And they're on a mission for revenge.

This action & adventure spy thriller--a fantasy spin on Romeo and Juliet from New York Times bestselling author MarcyKate Connolly--is perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Elly Blake and is about to become your new obsession!

By day, Aissa and Zandria play the role of normal young Technocrats eager to fulfill the duties of their new apprenticeships. By night, they plot their revenge to retake their city from the Technocrats. But then Aissa is given a new mission: find the heir to the Technocrat throne, who is rumored to be one of the Heartless, and kidnap her. Born without a working heart, the Heartless survive with a mechanical replacement.

Aissa is more likely to be caught than to be successful, but she's never been one to turn down an assignment, even if the hunt is complicated by a kind Technocrat researcher who is determined to find a cure for the Heartless. But when Zandria is captured by the Technocrats, Aissa will do anything to get her sister back. Even if it means abandoning all other loyalties--and missions--and deciding whether or not it's worth risking everything on getting help from her sworn enemies.
 

 

 

AmazonB & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

                      

 

 

My Quarantine Obsession: Austenland

It is a truth universally acknowledged that any human being under quarantine for a sustained period of time must be in want of a pick-me-up.

For me, that has been Austenland. (The delightful movie and book by Shannon Hale about a modern woman unlucky in love largely because she spends too much time pining after Mr. Darcy who visits an exclusive resort promising an “immersive Austen experience” in order to get it out of her system.)

Really, it’s been a running theme all my life: when things get rough, I cling more tightly than ever to the stories that bring me joy. It’s what cemented my love of reading when I was bullied in elementary school, and what has gotten me through all the ups and downs life has thrown my way ever since. The hope of finding something magical between the pages, and that if magic lives there, maybe I can find it in real life too.

So why Austenland during our current pandemic hellscape? How do I count the ways!

  1. Right from the start, the soundtrack is a delight. You immediately know this will be a fun movie.
  2. The actors all seem to be having the time of their lives. Seriously, the joy radiating from every meaningful Regency-inspired glance is uplifting in its own right.
  3. Something for everyone! There are enough Austen references to delight any Janeite, and enough poking fun at Austen for those who think classics are boring.
  4. Coolidge. Quite possibly the funniest lady alive. Small wonder that one of the other actors noted during cast interviews that he couldn’t look anyone (but especially Jennifer) in the eye during production or he would lose it. (Why, yes, I *have* watched every cast interview I can find. Did I mention I’m slightly obsessed?)
  5. Nobley. We stan JJ Feild (briefly considered turning my twitter into a JJ Feild fan account but decided my publisher might not appreciate that given I have a book to promote this summer). Also, I highly recommend checking out the 2007 BBC adaptation of Northanger Abbey after watching Austenland – it also stars JJ Field as the love interest and Felicity Jones as the main character. It’s an excellent adaption.
  6. Is. Hilarious! I have watched this film and read the book…well, more times than I should publicly admit, but I still laugh myself silly every single time.
  7. And one last thing that’s so great about Austenland: It’s an escapist story with a setting I’d actually love to escape to. For real. While fantasy novels are fun to read, for the most part I probably wouldn’t want to live in those story worlds. Middle Earth with that terrifying all seeing eye? No thank you! But Austenland? Yes, please! Why has no one bought the theme park rights to this book? It’s brilliant! (And if they did, it would obviously become my favorite vacation spot.)

But what Austenland really taps into for me is a lifelong love of classic stories. Shakespeare, Poe, and Austen being my all-time faves. There’s just something so appealing about taking what’s old and familiar and making it fresh and new again, and Austenland does precisely that.

It’s also what I hope I’ve succeeded in doing with my new young adult fantasy novel, Twin Daggers. It’s a fantasy reimagining of Shakespeare’s Romeo + Juliet if Juliet and her twin sister were magic wielding spies set in a world of magic versus technology. Putting my own spin on a well-known tale was both fun and tricky. There are character archetypes, as well as themes and motifs and classic lines to weave in and riff off of. Those serve as the skeleton for the story, what grounds it in the familiar, whereas the muscle and skin and clothing should make the new tale feel familiar, yet totally different at the same time. And hopefully, readers will appreciate that blending, sort of like finding just the right balance of salty and sweet.

And most importantly, I hope my stories give readers the means to step away from the stress of the current world situation for a little while. I know Austenland certainly has done that for me!

 

 

 

 

Twin Daggers

By: MarcyKate Connolly

Publisher: Blink Publishing

Release Date: August 27th, 2020

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Twin Daggers (MarcyKate Connolly) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*   

 

 

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Sia Martinez and the Moonlit Begi...
Featured Review: What Goes Up (Christine Hepperman...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
Andrea Cerda on Monday, 31 August 2020 13:18

The cover is really eye catching, want to read it!

0
The cover is really eye catching, want to read it!
Candice Gigous on Wednesday, 09 September 2020 13:33

The cover is cool. The synopsis is very intriguing. Sounds like a great read.

0
The cover is cool. The synopsis is very intriguing. Sounds like a great read.
Brittany on Sunday, 13 September 2020 12:13

Added to my list, sounds great

0
Added to my list, sounds great:D
Alex Colpitts on Sunday, 13 September 2020 14:41

love a good romeo and juliet retelling

0
love a good romeo and juliet retelling
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 22 September 2020 17:49

The cover is powerful. The synopsis promises lots of action and intrigue.

0
The cover is powerful. The synopsis promises lots of action and intrigue.
Penny Olson on Thursday, 24 September 2020 14:51

I love the fiery bright cover. There has never been such an interesting sounding Romeo and Juliet retelling.

0
I love the fiery bright cover. There has never been such an interesting sounding Romeo and Juliet retelling.
Autumn on Thursday, 24 September 2020 21:42

A fantasy Romeo and Juliet retelling sounds awesome.

0
A fantasy Romeo and Juliet retelling sounds awesome.
Lauren on Friday, 25 September 2020 13:28

The cover promises a lot of action! The synopsis definitely has hints of R&J in it, but I want to see how it all plays out, especially romance?

0
The cover promises a lot of action! The synopsis definitely has hints of R&J in it, but I want to see how it all plays out, especially romance?

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The King's Daughter: A Girl Lost In Time
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summary: Wales 1294 A country...
Fiver Finds Home
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the world’s first blue dwarf giraffe! With five purple...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites,...
Ember of Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I am a weed. Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good...
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the...
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the first time in his life, Rain Ryland...
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
Parachutes
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jaret Bachmann travels with his family to his beloved...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Beautiful Ones
 
5.0
"I’d really like to advice all out there feeling depressed and broken hearted from relationship stress, there’s hope for dr..."
Rent a Boyfriend
 
5.0
"I'm not even sure where to begin with this review, to be honest, because I loved this book so much...."
Reclaimed
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
New Moon (Twilight #2)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
"Junie Kim faces racist comments from a school bully at her middle school. Along with that her school is vandalized..."
Parachutes
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
"NOSOTROS MEANS US is a beautiful bilingual picture book about the enduring and unconditional love between mother and child. The..."