Spotlight on This Lie Will Kill You (Chelsea Pitcher), Excerpt, and Giveaway!

4068004_20181128-152203_1

 Today we're excited to spotlight This Lie Will Kill You by Chelsea Pitcher.

 Read on for more about Chelsea and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Chelsea Pitcher!

Chelsea Pitcher is a karaoke-singing, ocean-worshipping Oregonian with a penchant for twisty mysteries.

She began gobbling up stories as soon as she could read, and especially enjoys delving into the darker places to see if she can draw out some light.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet This Lie Will Kill You!

Tell the truth. Or face the consequences.

Clue meets Riverdale in this page-turning thriller that exposes the lies five teens tell about a deadly night one year ago.

One year ago, there was a party.
At the party, someone died.
Five teens each played a part and up until now, no one has told the truth.

But tonight, the five survivors arrive at an isolated mansion in the hills, expecting to compete in a contest with a $50,000 grand prize. Of course . . . some things are too good to be true. They were each so desperate for the prize, they didn’t question the odd, rather exclusive invitation until it was too late. Now, they realize they’ve been lured together by a person bent on revenge, a person who will stop at nothing to uncover what actually happened on that deadly night, one year ago.

Five arrived, but not all can leave.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Excerpt ~

 

 

The forest was on fire. Flames licked at the darkness, stripping bark from the trees and turning the leaves to ash. Inside the great, glimmering inferno was a car, the front hood dented and the windows cracked.

Inside the car was a boy.

They didn’t know, at the time. The firefighters were just arriving on the scene, and the police were keeping onlookers from getting too close. From their vantage point, they could see only red, ominous light pulsating from the forest.

Then everything went white. Smoke curled over the world, settling into their lungs and forcing their eyes to close. Ash covered whatever it could touch, and soon, outlines formed in the dark woods.

That was when they saw the vehicle. Paint flaked away by the heat. Leather seats sunken and distorted. They prayed aloud that no one was inside, but deep down, in the marrow of their bones, they must’ve known they would find someone. Cars didn’t drive themselves down long, twisting roads. They didn’t slam into trees, flip several times, and explode.

Not on their own. But when cars made friends with mortals, they could do all these things and more. They could transform a beautiful forest into a wasteland. They could transform a beautiful face, with moon-pale skin and startling blue eyes, into a candle of wax, dripping and contorting until none of the loveliness remained.

The fire had stripped away almost everything. Where there had once been long, lithe fingers, now there was bone. Smoke billowed off of him, as if his soul was slipping into the sky. People whispered that they would need dental records to identify the remains.

But that would come later. For now, the authorities made their little calculations, focusing on the things they could control. How would they wrench the door open? How would they get the body out?

Farther back, in the darkest part of the forest, a girl made calculations too, counting off suspects on a gloved hand.

One, two, three . . .

Four? The specifics were fuzzy, but time would reveal everything. Time, and a carefully crafted plan. Until then, the girl would put on a mask and sit like a doll on a shelf, waiting patiently. It was the only way to survive. That smoldering skeleton had once been a boy, and that boy had been loved.

Held.

Kissed.

Not anymore. The fire had transformed him into a creature of ashes and bone, and the sight made the girl tremble, tears sliding down her cheeks. She needed to be strong. No, she needed to be cold, like an unfeeling doll. Porcelain limbs couldn’t tremble, and a heart made of plastic couldn’t ache this terribly. It couldn’t break. It couldn’t bleed.

But glass eyes could watch everything. And now, as the girl turned away from the wreckage, new images unfolded behind those eyes. There was a beautiful mansion, high up on a hill, and a very exclusive guest list. A gloved hand striking a match. And maybe, if everything went exactly as planned, her porcelain limbs would turn back into flesh and her heart would soften to red.

But first, there would be fire.

 

 

 

 

 

This Lie Will Kill You

By: Chelsea Pitcher

Publisher: Margaret K McElderry Books

Release Date: December 12th, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Three winners will each receive a signed copy of This Lie Will Kill You (Chelsea Pitcher) ~ (US Only) 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: #Murdertrending (Gretchen McNeil)
Waiting On Wednesday ~ November 28th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Already Registered? Login Here
Dan Denman on Thursday, 27 December 2018 12:02

I like the design of the book cover. The plot of the story really intrigues me. I think this will be a mysterious thriller.

0
I like the design of the book cover. The plot of the story really intrigues me. I think this will be a mysterious thriller.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."