Spotlight on The Vanishing Spark of Dust by Sara Baysinger, Plus Top 5 Alien Stories in Pop Culture, & Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-01-18-at-9.34.54-A_20180118-145023_1

Today we're excited to spotlight The Vanishing Spark of Dust by Sara Baysinger! Read on for more about Sara and her book, plus the top 5 aliens in pop culture, and a giveaway! 

 

Meet Sara Baysinger!

Sara was born in the heart of the Andes Mountains in Ecuador where she spent her early life exploring uncharted lands and raising chickens. She now makes her home among the endless cornfields of Indiana with her husband and two children…and she still raises chickens. When not getting lost in a book, Sara can be found gardening, star-gazing, or drinking her favorite vanilla chai tea. You can visit her online at www.sarabaysinger.com .

Meet The Vanishing Spark of Dust!
 
 
Stand up. 

When Lark is stolen from Earth to be a slave on the planet Tavdora, she’s determined to find her way back home to her family, no matter the cost. Placed in the household of a notorious slave trader, Lark quickly learns her best assets are her eyes and ears. And if she’s brave enough, her voice.

Be heard. 

Kalen is the Tavdorian son of a slave trader and in line to inherit his father’s business. But his growing feelings for Lark, the new house slave who dares to speak of freedom, compel him to reveal his new plan for the slave ships returning to Earth—escape. Together, they just might spark a change that flares across the universe.

Fight back.
 
 

Top 5 Alien Stories in Pop Culture

I’m Sara Baysinger, the author of The Vanishing Spark of Dusk, which is a YA sci-fi story with a romance between a human named Lark and a 7 foot tall alien with violet eyes named Kallen. In order to celebrate the release of my book, I thought I’d talk about my top 5 alien stories across all types of pop culture.

 

BOOKS:

 

1.) The LUX series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I read the first book in ONE NIGHT. Daemon Black is total #bookboyfriend material. I love the alien features that Armentrout created, and the tension between light and dark, and how that plays into real life. Much like THE VANISHING SPARK OF DUSK, these aliens are humanoids (well, they’re energy put in human bodies, but still), and it helped me feel not so alone in the alien romance genre. And the sexual tension in the LUX series! Good #swoonworthy material right there, folks.

 

MOVIES:

 

2.) Avatar

I was well underway with THE VANISHING SPARK OF DUSK when Avatar came out. There were few romantic alien movies to draw my inspirations from at the time, so I can’t even begin to describe my excitement when Avatar came out. And the story world is AMAZING. Those who read my book won’t be able to miss the similarities between both worlds, because who wouldn’t put bioluminescent plants in their story world?

 

 

3.) Star Wars

Confession time: I was not a huge fan of Star Wars growing up. Don’t get me wrong—I love the creativity and thought put into the worlds and cultures, but the storyline and characters never hooked me. I probably wouldn’t have watched the new movies, except that my husband is the ultimate Star Wars nerd and left me little choice. ;) I went with him to watch Episodes VII and VIII, and GUYS. I don’t care how much grief the new movies might get, I'm sold. I love the new characters, the diversity, the philosophy of the Force, ALL OF IT. The Last Jedi especially hit me in all the right places. I watched it twice, and CRIED BOTH TIMES, at different parts! Okay, I’ll stop gushing now.

 

TV:

 

4.) Stargate SG-1

Not a hugely popular show, but I kind of owe the beginning of my writing career to it. This is another one that my nerd husband practically forced me to watch. I didn’t like it at first because each episode was pretty much a standalone, and I’m more into the every-episode- ties-into-the-next type shows. But I eventually got into it, and after watching several seasons, I was inspired to create my own SciFi world with its own rules and cultures that no one could police me about, because I created it. ;)

 

 

5.) The Orville

Okay, I totally saved the best for last. This is a new show that just came out last year. And it’s SO FREAKING GOOD. It’s science fiction tied in with edgy humor. And while it’s more focused on comedy and adventure, there are also a few episodes that really make you think. I also love that they don’t just have weird aliens as key characters, but each alien has their own culture, their own games, their own way of looking at life, and the series shows all those aspects in a creative and fun way.

What are your fave alien stories in books, movies, and TV? 

 
 

 

The Vanishing Spark of Dust

By: Sara Baysinger

Release Date: January 8, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

One winner will receive a $5 Amazon gift card (International).  

 
 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Spotlight on Busted by Gina Ciocca, Plus Top 5 Boo...
January 2018 Book Haul

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Already Registered? Login Here
Marisa Fort on Friday, 26 January 2018 18:16

The cover is beautiful - the colors really pop! The synopsis sounds very exciting and adventurous!

0
The cover is beautiful - the colors really pop! The synopsis sounds very exciting and adventurous!
Emily on Monday, 12 February 2018 22:58

The cover is nice but the synopsis sounds amazing

0
The cover is nice but the synopsis sounds amazing
wendy rinebold on Tuesday, 13 February 2018 19:53

I love the Lux books! Jennifer Armentrout is amazing. This book sounds great too. I wish the giveaway was for a copy!

0
I love the Lux books! Jennifer Armentrout is amazing. This book sounds great too. I wish the giveaway was for a copy!
Nicole Baker on Tuesday, 13 February 2018 21:03

I just adore the cover. Reminds me of romantic walks on the beach. Wish the giveaway was for the book

0
I just adore the cover. Reminds me of romantic walks on the beach. Wish the giveaway was for the book:(
Kelly G on Wednesday, 14 February 2018 17:46

This is probably one of my favorite covers, and the book sounds so good!

0
This is probably one of my favorite covers, and the book sounds so good!
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 14 February 2018 19:40

Love the cover and the synopsis sounds suspenseful and full of action and adventure to keep me reading.

0
Love the cover and the synopsis sounds suspenseful and full of action and adventure to keep me reading.
Dan Denman on Friday, 16 February 2018 10:33

The cover is romantic. This sounds like a really good alien abduction story.

0
The cover is romantic. This sounds like a really good alien abduction story.
Penny Olson on Friday, 16 February 2018 22:47

The cover is very beautiful. The story sounds really interesting.

0
The cover is very beautiful. The story sounds really interesting.
Lily M. on Sunday, 18 February 2018 06:11

This cover is very pretty, he blues on it ??

0
This cover is very pretty, he blues on it ??

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."