Spotlight on The Point (John Dixon), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway!

36702289

Today we're excited to spotlight The Point by John Dixon.

 Read on for more about John and his book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet John Dixon!

 John Dixon’s Phoenix Island and Devil’s Pocket won back-to-back Bram Stoker Awards and inspired the CBS TV series Intelligence. A former boxer, teacher, and stonemason, Dixon lives in West Chester, Pennsylvania, with his wife, daughter, and freeloading border collie.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter

 

 

 

 

Meet The Point!

What if you had a power you had to hide from everyone--until now? In this bold sci-fi action thriller, a secret training program at West Point is turning misfits into a new generation of heroes.

Scarlett Winter has always been an outsider, and not only because she's a hardcore daredevil and born troublemaker--she has been hiding superhuman powers she doesn't yet understand. Now she's been recruited by a secret West Point unit for cadets with extraordinary abilities. Scarlett and her fellow students are learning to hone their skills, from telekinetic combat to running recon missions through strangers' dreamscapes. At The Point, Scarlett discovers that she may be the most powerful cadet of all. With the power to control pure energy, she's a human nuclear bomb--and she's not sure she can control her powers much longer.

Even in this army of outsiders, Scarlett feels like a misfit all over again, but when a threat that endangers her fellow students arises from the school's dark past, duty calls and Scarlett must make a choice between being herself and becoming something even greater: a hero.
 

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Excerpt ~

 

“You came here as children,” keynote speaker

Senator Wesley Ditko said, “but you leave here as men and women.”

Mid-May

was typically beautiful in the Philadelphia suburbs, but

today the sun beat down mercilessly on the 411 graduating seniors

seated before the stage. Their suffering families sagged along open

bleachers.

Master Sergeant Charles Winter, U.S. Army, retired, gray-haired

and bespectacled, sat ramrod straight on the top bleacher, watching

the proceedings with a stony face that betrayed neither pride nor

impatience.

Mrs. Winter, resplendent in a bright yellow dress, moved incessantly,

fanning herself with the graduation program. She shifted in her

seat and whispered to her son.

Sergeant Daniel Winter, U.S. Marine Corps, sat as straight as his

father but failed to replicate the man’s stoicism. He beamed, proud

and relieved. His kid sister actually was going to graduate after all.

“A plane in its hangar is safe,” Senator Ditko said, and smiled

down at the fidgeting seniors, pausing to make eye contact with the

valedictorian: his daughter. “But planes aren’t meant to sit in hangars.

Ladies and gentlemen, you are clear for takeoff. Spread your wings

and fly!”

Principal Santana returned to the microphone, her face shining

with perspiration, and began calling students onstage. Douglas Abbey

stumbled coming up the stairs but caught himself and gave the

crowd a big grin before shaking the principal’s hand and accepting

his diploma.

One by one, students crossed the stage. Whatever each had

been—athlete

or scholar, geek or dullard, stud or square—it

was over

now. He or she had run the gauntlet, surviving the thirteen years of

institutionalized insanity that constitute the American public school

experience.

Mrs. Winter fanned her face, which grew redder with each passing

minute.

Principal Santana called, “Demarcus Winslow.”

Mrs. Winter tucked the makeshift fan into her purse and grabbed

the hands of her husband and son. “Here we go.”

This was it.

After all these years, all these worries—troubles

at school and

problems with police and endless emergency room visits in which

nurses cooed over her pretty daughter, the girl with a wild streak, a

daredevil who seemed to have broken every bone in her body—her

baby finally was graduating.

Wild but sweet, her Scarlett. Always sweet and loving, full of kindness.

Mrs. Winter loved her husband and son, but they were cold and

self-reliant,

as her own father had been. Not Scarlett. Scarlett was her

heart, her only warmth in the Winter household.

The long suffering was finally over. At last, a new beginning.

Principal Santana called, “Scarlett Winter.”

Mrs. Winter laughed and leaned forward, her vision blurry with

tears of joy.

There was a brief pause.

From the student seating, choppy bursts of laughter rattled like

sporadic gunfire.

“Scarlett Winter?” Principal Santana repeated.

No one stood. No one climbed the stairs. No one crossed the

stage.

More laughter rippled through the crowd, and for a frantic second

Mrs. Winter feared she might join in with a peal of hysterical

laughter.

Principal Santana cleared her throat. “Jeffrey Wood.”

A blond-haired

boy whooped loudly, charged up the stairs, and

Frisbeed his mortarboard into the applauding crowd.

Mrs. Winter dropped her face into her hands and sobbed.

Master Sergeant Winter, his mouth a grim slash across his sunburned

face, stood and nodded to his son. Together they took Mrs.

Winter’s arms and helped her to her feet. If not overtly sympathetic,

the men were inarguably gentle and protective. Fiercely so, even.

As the family made its slow descent, people turned to watch

with sympathy, amusement, or horror. Master Sergeant Winter stared

straight ahead, betraying nothing.

The eyes of the broad-shouldered

Marine, however, burned with

rage. Marching stiffly toward the parking lot, he growled, “Where the

hell is Scarlett?”

 

 

 

The Point

By: John Dixon

Publisher: Del Ray Books

Release Date: August 7th, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Three winners will each receive a copy of The Point (John Dixon) ~ (US Only) 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Wicked Saints (Emily A Duncan)
Giveaway: ALWAYS SMILE (US & Canada)

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Friday, 05 April 2019 21:34

If a misfit can't be turned into a hero I-just-don't-know-what!

0
If a misfit can't be turned into a hero I-just-don't-know-what!
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 30 April 2019 23:11

I like the cover. The story sounds intriguing and suspenseful.

0
I like the cover. The story sounds intriguing and suspenseful.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 02 May 2019 18:14

I like the mysterious cover. This book sounds thrilling and suspenseful.

0
I like the mysterious cover. This book sounds thrilling and suspenseful.
Dan Denman on Friday, 03 May 2019 11:05

I like the design of the book cover. I think this story sounds like a good sci-fi action thriller.

0
I like the design of the book cover. I think this story sounds like a good sci-fi action thriller.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."