Spotlight on The Point (John Dixon), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway!

36702289

Today we're excited to spotlight The Point by John Dixon.

 Read on for more about John and his book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet John Dixon!

 John Dixon’s Phoenix Island and Devil’s Pocket won back-to-back Bram Stoker Awards and inspired the CBS TV series Intelligence. A former boxer, teacher, and stonemason, Dixon lives in West Chester, Pennsylvania, with his wife, daughter, and freeloading border collie.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter

 

 

 

 

Meet The Point!

What if you had a power you had to hide from everyone--until now? In this bold sci-fi action thriller, a secret training program at West Point is turning misfits into a new generation of heroes.

Scarlett Winter has always been an outsider, and not only because she's a hardcore daredevil and born troublemaker--she has been hiding superhuman powers she doesn't yet understand. Now she's been recruited by a secret West Point unit for cadets with extraordinary abilities. Scarlett and her fellow students are learning to hone their skills, from telekinetic combat to running recon missions through strangers' dreamscapes. At The Point, Scarlett discovers that she may be the most powerful cadet of all. With the power to control pure energy, she's a human nuclear bomb--and she's not sure she can control her powers much longer.

Even in this army of outsiders, Scarlett feels like a misfit all over again, but when a threat that endangers her fellow students arises from the school's dark past, duty calls and Scarlett must make a choice between being herself and becoming something even greater: a hero.
 

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Excerpt ~

 

“You came here as children,” keynote speaker

Senator Wesley Ditko said, “but you leave here as men and women.”

Mid-May

was typically beautiful in the Philadelphia suburbs, but

today the sun beat down mercilessly on the 411 graduating seniors

seated before the stage. Their suffering families sagged along open

bleachers.

Master Sergeant Charles Winter, U.S. Army, retired, gray-haired

and bespectacled, sat ramrod straight on the top bleacher, watching

the proceedings with a stony face that betrayed neither pride nor

impatience.

Mrs. Winter, resplendent in a bright yellow dress, moved incessantly,

fanning herself with the graduation program. She shifted in her

seat and whispered to her son.

Sergeant Daniel Winter, U.S. Marine Corps, sat as straight as his

father but failed to replicate the man’s stoicism. He beamed, proud

and relieved. His kid sister actually was going to graduate after all.

“A plane in its hangar is safe,” Senator Ditko said, and smiled

down at the fidgeting seniors, pausing to make eye contact with the

valedictorian: his daughter. “But planes aren’t meant to sit in hangars.

Ladies and gentlemen, you are clear for takeoff. Spread your wings

and fly!”

Principal Santana returned to the microphone, her face shining

with perspiration, and began calling students onstage. Douglas Abbey

stumbled coming up the stairs but caught himself and gave the

crowd a big grin before shaking the principal’s hand and accepting

his diploma.

One by one, students crossed the stage. Whatever each had

been—athlete

or scholar, geek or dullard, stud or square—it

was over

now. He or she had run the gauntlet, surviving the thirteen years of

institutionalized insanity that constitute the American public school

experience.

Mrs. Winter fanned her face, which grew redder with each passing

minute.

Principal Santana called, “Demarcus Winslow.”

Mrs. Winter tucked the makeshift fan into her purse and grabbed

the hands of her husband and son. “Here we go.”

This was it.

After all these years, all these worries—troubles

at school and

problems with police and endless emergency room visits in which

nurses cooed over her pretty daughter, the girl with a wild streak, a

daredevil who seemed to have broken every bone in her body—her

baby finally was graduating.

Wild but sweet, her Scarlett. Always sweet and loving, full of kindness.

Mrs. Winter loved her husband and son, but they were cold and

self-reliant,

as her own father had been. Not Scarlett. Scarlett was her

heart, her only warmth in the Winter household.

The long suffering was finally over. At last, a new beginning.

Principal Santana called, “Scarlett Winter.”

Mrs. Winter laughed and leaned forward, her vision blurry with

tears of joy.

There was a brief pause.

From the student seating, choppy bursts of laughter rattled like

sporadic gunfire.

“Scarlett Winter?” Principal Santana repeated.

No one stood. No one climbed the stairs. No one crossed the

stage.

More laughter rippled through the crowd, and for a frantic second

Mrs. Winter feared she might join in with a peal of hysterical

laughter.

Principal Santana cleared her throat. “Jeffrey Wood.”

A blond-haired

boy whooped loudly, charged up the stairs, and

Frisbeed his mortarboard into the applauding crowd.

Mrs. Winter dropped her face into her hands and sobbed.

Master Sergeant Winter, his mouth a grim slash across his sunburned

face, stood and nodded to his son. Together they took Mrs.

Winter’s arms and helped her to her feet. If not overtly sympathetic,

the men were inarguably gentle and protective. Fiercely so, even.

As the family made its slow descent, people turned to watch

with sympathy, amusement, or horror. Master Sergeant Winter stared

straight ahead, betraying nothing.

The eyes of the broad-shouldered

Marine, however, burned with

rage. Marching stiffly toward the parking lot, he growled, “Where the

hell is Scarlett?”

 

 

 

The Point

By: John Dixon

Publisher: Del Ray Books

Release Date: August 7th, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Three winners will each receive a copy of The Point (John Dixon) ~ (US Only) 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Wicked Saints (Emily A Duncan)
Giveaway: ALWAYS SMILE (US & Canada)

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Friday, 05 April 2019 21:34

If a misfit can't be turned into a hero I-just-don't-know-what!

0
If a misfit can't be turned into a hero I-just-don't-know-what!
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 30 April 2019 23:11

I like the cover. The story sounds intriguing and suspenseful.

0
I like the cover. The story sounds intriguing and suspenseful.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 02 May 2019 18:14

I like the mysterious cover. This book sounds thrilling and suspenseful.

0
I like the mysterious cover. This book sounds thrilling and suspenseful.
Dan Denman on Friday, 03 May 2019 11:05

I like the design of the book cover. I think this story sounds like a good sci-fi action thriller.

0
I like the design of the book cover. I think this story sounds like a good sci-fi action thriller.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
N/A
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."