Spotlight on The Babysitter's Coven (Kate Williams), Plus Guest Post & Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

3885638_20191025-161039_1

 Today we're excited to spotlight The Babysitter's Coven (Kate Williams).

 Read on for more about Kate, a guest post, plus a giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Kate Williams!

 

I'm a YA write or die, originally from Kansas but now living in California.

I've written for Cosmopolitan, NYLON and Seventeen, amongst other magazines, and worked with brands including Urban Outfitters, Vans and Calvin Klein.

The Babysitters Coven is my first novel, but fingers crossed it won't be my last.

 

 

 

 

** Website **

 

 

 

Meet The Babysitter's Club!

Adventures in Babysitting meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this funny, action-packed novel about a coven of witchy babysitters who realize their calling to protect the innocent and save the world from an onslaught of evil.

Seventeen-year-old Esme Pearl has a babysitters club. She knows it's kinda lame, but what else is she supposed to do? Get a job? Gross. Besides, Esme likes babysitting, and she's good at it.

And lately Esme needs all the cash she can get, because it seems like destruction follows her wherever she goes. Let's just say she owes some people a new tree.

Enter Cassandra Heaven. She's Instagram-model hot, dresses like she found her clothes in a dumpster, and has a rebellious streak as gnarly as the cafeteria food. So why is Cassandra willing to do anything, even take on a potty-training two-year-old, to join Esme's babysitters club?

The answer lies in a mysterious note Cassandra's mother left her: "Find the babysitters. Love, Mom."

Turns out, Esme and Cassandra have more in common than they think, and they're about to discover what being a babysitter really means: a heroic lineage of superpowers, magic rituals, and saving the innocent from seriously terrifying evil. And all before the parents get home.

 

 

 AmazonB & NIndiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

 

The Babysitters Coven-YA Books Central

The babysitter has always been a pop culture trope on the page and on screen, and some of her (and the babysitter is almost always a her) most notable appearances have been in horror movies. Sure, sometimes she’s a victim, but she’s also often the one who fights back, the one who picks up a knife (or whatever else was handy) and goes to town on a psychopath or demon to protect herself, her friends and her charges. I always found this interesting, and felt like it was the beginning of its own story. What if the babysitter was so suited to being a heroine because she had spells and superpowers? What if it was her job to protect the world? What if the babysitter was really a witch, so instead of a club, she had a coven?

For a long time, The Babysitters Coven was my joke book. While I labored away on other, more “serious” topics, I’d laughingly tell people that someday I was going to write a book with that very title. It just seemed so obvious, and so perfect, that I assumed someone, somewhere, had written it. 

Except they hadn’t.

And after a few years, as my other ideas languished and went nowhere, I finally decided that someday, somebody was going to write The Babysitters Coven, so it might as well be me.

Here are the top five babysitting tales that inspired my joke-turned-very-real book. 

1.

The Baby-Sitters’ Club—obviously!! 

Ann M. Martin’s epic series about five teenage girls who join forces to start a babysitting club was the required reading of my own teen years. I admired Claudia Kishi for her clothes and Dawn Schafer for being from California (hey, I’m from Kansas and California seemed very exotic). I hid the books in my text books so I could read them at school, and my friends and I even tried to start our own babysitting club, which unfortunately disbanded when the club leader got grounded. 

  1. Halloween (1978)

John Carpenter’s genre-defining slasher flick was originally called The Babysitter Murders. High-school student Laurie Strode is babysitting on Halloween when mental patient Michael Myers—locked up for killing his sister on the same night 15 years earlier—escapes from the asylum. Screams and gore abound, but one of my favorite scenes is when Laurie runs into her babysitting charge, Tommy, on the way to school. “You coming over tonight?” he asks her. “Same time, same place,” she says, responding with the nonchalant confidence of someone who babysits not just because she has to, but because she likes it.

  1. When a Stranger Calls (1979) 

Inspired by the truly terrifying urban legend of a babysitter who puts the children to bed and starts to get calls from an unknown man, urging her to “Check the children.” At first, she dismisses the calls as a prank, but when the man keeps calling, she calls the police. The police trace the calls, and find out that the call is coming from inside the house!!! As you can imagine, nothing good happens after that. 

  1. Adventures in Babysitting (1987) 

In this classic ‘80s the-parents-are-away-so-the-kids-will-play caper, 17-year-old Chris Parker gets talked into babysitting on a night when her lame-o boyfriend has stood her up. When Chris gets a panicked call from her best friend Brenda, who’s run away to the bus station, she loads her babysitting charges in the family station wagon and heads downtown to pick her up. Bad idea, Chris, bad idea. Shootings, stolen cars, cat-sized rats, blues clubs, gang fights, frat parties and, ultimately, a cute college boy follow. So maybe, all in all, not a totally bad night?

  1. When a Stranger Calls Back (1993)

No spoilers, but GTFO of the house already! And take the children!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Babysitter's Coven

Author: Kate Williams

Publishing Date: September 17th, 2019

Publisher: Delacorte Press

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of The Babysitter's Coven (Kate Williams) ~ US Only

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: The Beautiful (Renee Ahdieh)
Featured Review: Colliding Skies (Debbie Zaken)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."