Spotlight on Positively Izzy (Terri Libenson), Plus Excerpt & Giveaway!

Positively-Izzy-jacket

Today we're excited to spotlight Positively Izzy by Terri Libenson!

 Read on for more about Terri and her book, plus an excerpt & giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Terri Libenson!

As a kid, Terri Libenson was labeled a “good artist.” She’s thankful it was a nice label because it stuck. Since then, she’s acquired other nice ones, like “mom,” “writer,” and “unicycle daredevil” (okay, she wishes). Terri is the Reuben Award–winning cartoonist of the internationally syndicated comic strip The Pajama Diaries and was a longtime writer of humorous cards for American Greetings. Terri lives with her husband and two daughters in Cleveland, Ohio.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet Positively Izzy!

Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson.

Middle school is all about labels.

Izzy is the dreamer. There’s nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. The downside? She can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done.

Bri is the brain. But she wants people to see there’s more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to “break out of her shell” and join drama club.

The girls’ lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Excerpt ~

 

 

IZZY

First of all, let’s get the name thing out of the way. My older sister, Danielle, started calling me Izzy when we were little. Not because my real name is Isabelle or Isabella or anything. It’s because of a knock-knock joke that I made up and repeated over and over to anyone I’d meet.

 

My mom thought the name was cute and started calling me Izzy. Then Ashley did. Then my classmates did. So it stuck. I barely remember my real name.

 

 

 

The name even grew on me. Now I kinda like it. Some people are born with a name that suits them, and others—well, they have to grow into theirs or get a new one, you know? My mom always said I look more like an Izzy than my real name, so it all makes sense. It’s a great stage name, too.

 

I’m the middle child. My older sister, Danielle, is a sophomore in high school and my younger sister, Ashley, is in sixth grade.

 

Dani is smart, practical, and very, very bossy. She’s good at getting stuff done.

 

 

Not only is Dani bossy, but she’s mega-smart too. That and being the oldest make her think she’s our mother.

 

 

Ashley is the youngest and gets away with the most. Probably ’cause she has a way of “turning lemons into lemonade,”* as my mom says.

 

 

 

Yeah, it’s a little irritating.

But Ash is so sweet, even I can’t resist her. Well, usually. We’re only fourteen months apart (“Irish Twins,” although we’re not Irish and not twins). We have similar minds and like to use our imaginations—mainly by making up plays and acting them out. Or pretending we’re characters from our favorite TV shows.

* She really says “lemon shandy” . . . whatever that is.

 

 

My mom is an ER nurse and raises us alone. Since she works odd shifts in a hospital and is gone a lot, my sisters and I have a ton of chores we’re responsible for.

 

 

“Obedient Ash” doesn’t mind the chores. Well, she doesn’t complain, anyway. Sometimes I don’t even mind, but mostly it’s really boring or gross and I have to pretend I’m doing something more exciting to make the time go faster.

 

 

My favorite time of day is when all the chores are done and my homework (yuck) is out of the way. I have this great ritual.

 

 

I write about my life (so far), stories I make up, and if I’m feeling especially artsy . . . I doodle.

 

I’d rather do that than read like Dani or watch TV like Ashley (who doesn’t study as hard as Dani but still gets decent grades!).

My grades aren’t so great, which bugs my mom. She wishes I’d pay more attention in school. I wish I would, too, but there are so many more interesting things that run through my head than come out of my teachers’ mouths.

 

 

 

Yeah, I know I could do better if I tried.

 

 

 

Or . . . to be totally, completely, ginormously honest . . .

 

 

 

 

. . . cared.

 

 

 

 

Positively Izzy

By: Terri Libenson

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: May 1st, 2018 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will recieve both a copy of Invisible Emmy & Positively Izzy ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What's New In YA ~ April 24th, 2018
Press Release: The Great American Read, A New Mult...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Tuesday, 24 April 2018 21:51

These cartoons are so delightful--like the cover, like the characters!

0
These cartoons are so delightful--like the cover, like the characters!
Julie Daniels on Wednesday, 16 May 2018 05:06

I loved this excerpt/sneak peek! My daughter would love this!

0
I loved this excerpt/sneak peek! My daughter would love this!
Erin on Saturday, 19 May 2018 20:26

I am super excited for this next installment in this little series. My daughter is going to love this! We love reading together and this graphic novel is a perfect one for us to read! Thank you for the chance!! I would love to read these two books with her!

0
I am super excited for this next installment in this little series. My daughter is going to love this! We love reading together and this graphic novel is a perfect one for us to read! Thank you for the chance!! I would love to read these two books with her!
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 20 May 2018 10:27

I love the fun cover and can't wait to read this book based on the hilarious illustrations.

0
I love the fun cover and can't wait to read this book based on the hilarious illustrations.
Penny Olson on Wednesday, 23 May 2018 23:11

The cover is really fun and the story sounds like one that kids could relate to.

0
The cover is really fun and the story sounds like one that kids could relate to.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peppermint Post
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
'Twas the night before Christmas, when the North Pole's Peppermint...
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren Magaziner’s hilarious and high-stakes middle grade series gets a...
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reggie has never felt destined for greatness. He dreams about...
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious meets Transformers in the second...
Bread Lab!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s a sleepy Saturday morning for most people, but not...
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
This empowering picture book teaches readers that even great ideas...
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The hilarious sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller,...
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With tongue-twisty wordplay and escalating absurdity, this is a fall-down-funny...
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A LOVE POEM FROM A FATHER TO HIS TWO SONS,...
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kings become outcasts and lovers become foes in The Faithless...
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first zucchini of a summer garden is always exciting,...
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion...
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the colors of the rainbow are hidden in the...
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A family divided, a country going to war, and a...
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Crossing Lines
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Midwestern high school seniors and swim teammates Alli and Brandon...

Latest Member Reviews

Peppermint Post
 
5.0
"PEPPERMINT POST is an adorable new story about Christmas and Santa. The Peppermint Post is the busiest post office in..."
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
"STOLEN FROM THE STUDIO is a fun middle grade mystery with a choose-your-own-adventure plot. Carlos travels with his mother, a..."
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
"THE WIZENARD SERIES: SEASON ONE is written by Wesley King and created by Kobe Bryant. The MG fantasy follows Reggie,..."
The Triumphant Tale of Pippa North
 
4.0
"THE TRIUMPHANT TALE OF PIPPA NORTH combines magic and humor in a middle grade fantasy full of charm. Pippa is..."
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
"TURBO RACERS: ESCAPE VELOCITY is a fast-paced, high-stakes adventure. Mace Blazer is a TURBOnaut, a high-speed vehicle racer. He recently..."
Bread Lab!
 
4.0
"BREAD LAB! is a cute picture book that walks through the steps of making sourdough bread through the eyes of..."
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
"A THOUSAND NO'S is a cute picture book about the way that feedback can change an idea. A girl has..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
"SHARKO AND HIPPO is a clever and comical book about two best friends who are going fishing for the day...."
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
"THE THING ABOUT BEES: A LOVE LETTER is an informative and gorgeously illustrated picture book about bees. The book describes..."
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
"THE FAITHLESS HAWK is one of my favorite reads of 2020. I laughed, I sighed, I cried, and this book..."
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
"ZORA'S ZUCCHINI is a delightful picture book that explores growing vegetables and sharing with neighbors. Zora is a little bored..."
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
"LIBBY LOVES SCIENCE is a cute picture book that brings a love of science to all the fun of ice..."
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
"THE HIDDEN RAINBOW is a delightful picture book that combines counting, colors, and nature in a beautiful exploration. Each page..."
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
"THE PLACES WE SLEEP is a moving middle grade historical that takes place around 9/11. The book is written entirely..."
Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."