Spotlight on My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life (Rachel Cohn), Guest Post & Giveaway!

My-Almost-Flawless-Tokyo-Dream-Life-High-Res

Today we're excited to spotlight My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life by Rachel Cohn!

Read on for more about Rachel, plus a guest post, and giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Rachel Cohn!

Rachel Cohn is the New York Times best-selling author of several young adult novels, including Kill All HappiesGingerbreadShrimpCupcake, and, with David Levithan, Nick & Norah’s Infinite PlaylistDash & Lily’s Book of Dares, and Sam & Ilsa's Last Hurrah. Visit Rachel online at rachelcohn.com [rachelcohn.com] or on Twitter @rachelcohn.

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram 

 

 

 

 

Meet My Almost Flawless Toyko Dream Life!

“I’m here to take you to live with your father. In Tokyo, Japan! Happy birthday!”

In the Land of the Rising Sun, where high culture meets high kitsch, and fashion and technology are at the forefront of the First World’s future, the foreign-born teen elite attend ICS—the International Collegiate School of Tokyo. Their accents are fluid. Their homes are ridiculously posh. Their sports games often involve a (private) plane trip to another country. They miss school because of jet lag and visa issues.  When they get in trouble, they seek diplomatic immunity.

Enter foster-kid-out-of-water Elle Zoellner, who, on her sixteenth birthday, discovers that her long-lost father, Kenji Takahara, is actually a Japanese hotel mogul and wants her to come live with him. Um, yes, please! Elle jets off first class from Washington, DC, to Tokyo, which seems like a dream come true. Until she meets her enigmatic father, her way-too-fab aunt, and her hyper-critical grandmother, who seems to wish Elle didn’t exist. In an effort to please her new family, Elle falls in with the Ex-Brats, a troop of uber-cool international kids who spend money like it’s air. But when she starts to crush on a boy named Ryuu, who’s frozen out by the Brats and despised by her new family, her already tenuous living situation just might implode.

My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life is about learning what it is to be a family, and finding the inner strength to be yourself, even in the most extreme circumstances. 

 

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~ 

 

 

When one of my favorite cousins got a great job in Tokyo, which included a swank 3-bedroom hi-rise apartment with views all the way to Mount Fuji on a clear day, you bet I jumped on that opportunity. I went to Tokyo three times in two years.  You might say I love it there…A LOT!  Several of the places mentioned in My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life were inspired by my own visits to them.  If you’re headed to Tokyo (lucky you!), here’s some of my favorites places to go.  (If you know me or my books at all, you will probably not be surprised that many involve food.  Yum.)

 

Robot Restaurant

Insane – in the best way – is the word that comes to mind for this crazy show where robotic monsters clash with dancers and lasers in an over-the-top entertainment phantasmagoria.

http://www.shinjuku-robot.com/pc/

 

Depachika

As a vegetarian, I was surprised to find Japan to be the most challenging place I’ve travelled to.  They sneak fish into everything!  (Not really, but sometimes that’s how it felt.)  Finding meatless food was hard, but also like finding a unicorn, because when I did find it, the food was amazing.  My favorite food explorations took place in the underground food halls of big department stores like Takashimaya, Isetan, Mitsukoshi and Daimaru. Called depachika, these food halls offer every kind of food you could imagine, beautifully presented, and sure to have something for everyone.  (Side note:  If you are vegetarian or vegan, I can’t recommend the Happy Cow app and website for travel – it’s an indispensable resource for finding veg options anywhere you go.)

https://www.vogue.com/article/tokyo-department-store-food-halls-depachika-guide

 

Office Supplies (and Other Rando Supplies You Don’t Need but Totally Want)

Itoya, Tokyu Hands

Tokyo is a shopper’s paradise, especially when it comes to stationery and ingenious office and household supplies.  Itoya in Ginza was a personal favorite.  Don’t even ask how many variations of post-it notes and flags I’ve purchased there.  I even bought some wrapping paper there that was so gorgeous I had it framed for my home back in the USA.  They have a whole floor dedicated to the greens they grow to serve in their delicious café, too.

https://matcha-jp.com/en/1176

For everything you never knew you needed, check out the Tokyu Hands department store in Shibuya – also a great excuse to see the famous Shibuya Crossing intersection, where as many as 1000 pedestrians cross every time the light changes.

https://www.gotokyo.org/en/spot/375/

https://www.lonelyplanet.com/japan/tokyo/attractions/shibuya-crossing/a/poi-sig/396831/356817

 

Shiseido Parlour Café

Those shopping trips to Ginza should be rewarded with epic treats, right?  I highly recommend the fruit parfaits – as delicious as they are gorgeous.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g14129573-d1660552-Reviews-Shiseido_Parlour_Salon_De_Cafe-Ginza_Chuo_Tokyo_Tokyo_Prefecture_Kanto.html

 

Kappabashi

Kappabashi,  or Kitchenware Town, as English speakers tend to call it, is in the city’s Asakusa neighborhood.  If you love to cook or, like me, just collect kitchen gadgets, this is the place to go.  It’s also an epic place to window shop at the stores that sell plastic, display versions of restaurant foods – completely mesmerizing.

https://bento.com/phgal-kappabashi.html

 

 

 

 

 

My Almost Flawless Toyko Dream Life 

Author: Rachel Cohn

Publisher: Disney Books

Publish Date: December 18th, 2018

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Two winners will each receive a copy of My Almost Flawless Toyko Dream Life (Rachel Cohn) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: My Almost Flawless Toyko Dream Li...
What's New In YA ~ December 18th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 15

Already Registered? Login Here
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 13 January 2019 08:10

The cover is cute and I love the colors. The synopsis sounds fun with an awesome setting.

0
The cover is cute and I love the colors. The synopsis sounds fun with an awesome setting.
Beatrice P on Sunday, 13 January 2019 17:42

Interesting cover and I love that the book is about Tokyo

0
Interesting cover and I love that the book is about Tokyo
cammie scoles on Monday, 14 January 2019 05:18

The cover is so cute and eye popping

0
The cover is so cute and eye popping
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 15 January 2019 21:35

The cover is fun and the synopsis promises a lot of drama.

0
The cover is fun and the synopsis promises a lot of drama.
Dan Denman on Thursday, 17 January 2019 12:49

I like the book cover design. The story sounds very interesting.

0
I like the book cover design. The story sounds very interesting.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."