Spotlight on LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff

61caLnrnt5L._SX329_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

On a floating junkyard beneath a radiation sky, a deadly secret lies buried in the scrap. Eve isn’t looking for secrets—she’s too busy looking over her shoulder. The robot gladiator she’s just spent six months building has been reduced to a smoking wreck, and the only thing keeping her Grandpa from the grave was the fistful of credits she just lost to the bookies. To top it off, she’s discovered she can destroy electronics with the power of her mind, and the puritanical Brotherhood are building a coffin her size. If she’s ever had a worse day, Eve can’t remember it. But when Eve discovers the ruins of an android boy named Ezekiel in the scrap pile she calls home, her entire world comes crashing down. With her best friend Lemon Fresh and her robotic conscience, Cricket, in tow, she and Ezekiel will trek across deserts of irradiated glass, infiltrate towering megacities and scour the graveyard of humanity’s greatest folly to save the ones Eve loves, and learn the dark secrets of her past. Even if those secrets were better off staying buried.

 

*Review Contributed by Sage Knightly, Staff Reviewer*

MUST READ!

LifeL1k3 is an engaging novel full of incredible writing, violence, action, romance, and strong world-building. Told in third person, and sometimes in alternate views, readers are taken to a new world full of possibilities that perhaps one day may actually come true. With how technology keeps advancing, it isn't far-fetched to think that one days humans will live among robots as this author wrote; made to be better than us but forced to be our servants, until they realize their potential and attempt to take humanity over...

Mixed with the perfect amount of slang and poetic prose, I was easily immersed in the story of humans battling robots for money, a special line of robots breaking the rules and harming humans, a girl who fights in those battles to save her sick grandpa. Almost every chapter, if not all, has a scene with action and violence, a fight that keeps readers on the edge of their seat for the outcome, the winner. The thrill sets your heart thumping and your breath stalling, because the author expertly weaves these scenes to create an image in your mind like a movie; your eyes following every move with bated breath as if you are there in the crowd, roaring for the victor. These scenes were definitely my favorites when reading! Not to say that the rest of the book was bad, because in fact I adore this book and the brilliantly written world the author sets us in, however action/violence has and always will, be my true love in all books.

As for the characters, they were good. I love how natural their slang comes off in the writing, their style and choice of words. It was easy to follow and honestly, it kept me entertained with every new word or sentence that is so different but also similar to how we speak now. I will admit however, that I found Lemon and Eve to be similar. At times, I would question which one was speaking. Maybe it's because they are best friends and obviously think alike, maybe it's just that one of them was imitating the other to fit in? I'm not really sure; it was easy enough to overlook however, since it didn't happen constantly.

Eve is our MC and the one who fight in robot battles to earn money. She fixed up her own bot with the skills she learned from her grandpa, and she is very passionate about her work. I loved how much pride she took in her creations, and how tough she seemed. She didn't sit and cry about life. She stood up and found herself some options, and then did her best to do one of them. She was constantly thrown for a loop and stomped on, but she always got back up and fought harder the next time. After the ending we got, I definitely need to know what the heck happens to her in the next book!

Lemon is Eve's best friend, the one who is always by her side when trouble finds her, and when she falls and gets back up. Lemon is tough, but soft. She grew up in Dregs and has been on her own for most of her life, having to fend for herself; until she met Eve. Even though her life has been incredibly tough, she still trusts and loves and supports those she is attached to. She shows us multiple times in the novel just how far she is willing to go for her best friend, and just how hard she will fight for those she loves. She is honestly one of my all time favorite characters.

I just want to quickly mention Kaiser and Cricket, the two robots that were made to protect Eve. They will forever be in my heart and I adore them. Though they were programmed to protect and serve, they both were so loyal and were like best friends throughout the book. I hope to see them again in the next book!

As far as romance goes, it wasn't bad. The flashbacks from their past help readers get a feel for their emotions so that we know them better as a couple, but also how much they struggle currently to regain that closeness. I admire the female counterpart, because even though she remembered loving him, and part of her still does, she fought those feelings until she got to know him better. Years change people, and she didn't gain her strength or lose any because of him. I adore how strong she is. As for him, it was easy to see how much he cared, but at the same time I feel like he just wanted to rush things. Which makes sense when you read the book, but that doesn't mean I have to like it. So all in all, it was good but not necessarily long lasting in my mind, especially after the end of the novel.

In the end, I question why something so scarily possible intrigues me so much, and why I adore this book as it shows readers just how much damage and death could come from our own creations. In truth, though we could create robots that look like us, talk and think and act like us, but with stronger abilities and intelligence, it is still fantasy at this time, so I enjoyed it as a work of fiction and not a warning. I assume that was the author's intent.

Overall, this is an amazing book that I will love forever despite a few issues I had. Filled to the brim with incredible world-building and characters I won't forget, this is a book I definitely recommend!

Good Points
Brilliant world-building and writing, good characters, amazing action scenes

*Find More Info On This Book HERE*

 
Spotlight on Camp Valor by Scott McEwen, Plus Exce...
Spotlight on Tokyo's Last Vampire by Tiffany Wayne...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
Carina Olsen on Thursday, 29 November 2018 18:29

Eee, loved this spotlight post Great review Kayla. Thrilled that you loved this one I did too. So very much.

0
Eee, loved this spotlight post :D Great review Kayla. Thrilled that you loved this one :D I did too. So very much.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
Blade of Mad Vision
 
5.0
"Loved it! It makes me want to be an artist and a fencer and learn languages and go on adventures..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
The Curie Society
 
4.2
"Three roommates at Edmonds University all face different challenges in settling into college life. Biologist Simone is very young to..."
Spi-ku: A Clutter of Short Verse on Eight Legs
 
4.3
"From the creative team that brought us Amphibian Acrobats and Superlative Birds, we now have this poetic treatment about every..."