Spotlight on Libby Loves Science (Kimberly Derting & Shelli R. Johannes), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

50175382._SX318_

Today we're excited to spotlight Libby Loves Science by Kimberly Derting & Shelli R. Johannes.

 Read on for more about Kimberly & Shelli and their book, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet Kimberly Derting!

 

As a child, Kimberly Derting spent hours drawing intricate underground “worm cities” because her art skills didn’t allow her to draw anything with arms or legs. In college, she studied biology, but her real experiments are done at home, where she wrangles three kids, just one husband, two dogs, two cats, and a rabbit named Thumper—seriously, she’s practically a zookeeper! She’s terrified of spiders and snakes, but loves animals (obviously!), so she’s spent her free time volunteering for a local animal shelter with her daughter. Her hypothesis is that she’s always right…although she’s never actually been able to prove that theory. And even if you don’t laugh at her jokes, she knows in her heart that she’s hilarious.  

  

 Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 


 

Meet Shelli R. Johannes!

 

Shelli R. Johannes never warmed up to creepy crawly bugs, but she always loved zoology and biology. In fact, she can often be found on highways and country roads saving strays and other jaywalking critters, or volunteering with animal-conservation groups like the Atlanta Zoo, the Dolphin Project, and animal rescue centers. Unfortunately she learned early on that chemistry (aka cooking) was not her favorite science, often resulting in odd reactions and minor explosions. She lives in Atlanta with her husband, two kids, one bird, one fish, and two crazy-haired doodles who, just like Einstein, all who seem to love fruit and dessert, but loathe veggies. 

 

  

 Website * Twitter 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Libby Loves Science!

Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion to the popular Cece Loves Science, Libby and her friends are put in charge of the science booth at their school fair. There’s only one problem: No one is visiting their booth! Does everyone think science is boring?

Libby and her friends use teamwork, creativity, and just a bit of chemistry to turn things around and prove that science is for everyone. Perfect for aspiring scientists, story times, classrooms, home-schooling, and fans of Andrea Beaty’s Ada Twist, Scientist. Includes a glossary and four super-fun experiments to try at home!

Libby Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer and What Do You Do with an Idea? and anyone who loves to ask questions and learn about the world.

 

 

AmazonB & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

   

Five Ways Parents Can Encourage Scientific Curiosity In Their Kids

It seems like everyone is on the STEM bandwagon these days, and there’s an excellent reason for that—teaching children critical thinking and problem-solving through science is essential to their education. But, if you’re like many parents, you probably struggle with finding ways to convince your kids that science isn’t just a dull subject matter for the classroom. We have some ideas to show your kids science can be fun too!

  1. Ask open-ended questions. Kids are curious by nature, and asking questions helps their brains develop. But you don’t have to wait for them to ask why, what, where, and when. Ask them questions. Get them thinking and talking. You’ll be surprised where your conversations will take you.
  1. Take advantage of electronic devices. Let’s face it, we live in a world of computers, cellphones, and iPads. But not all screen time is bad screen time. There are plenty of apps and websites devoted to science, exploration, and computer coding. Take photos of animals, record sounds in nature, and make videos of experiments. Help teach your kids how to have fun navigating this technological landscape.
  1. Explore the world around you. Visit museums, zoos, beaches, farms, natural attractions, and national parks. Take a hike and go on a woodland scavenger hunt. If you can’t go in person, and many of us can’t, take a virtual tour.
  1. Encourage playtime. Your kids have energy to spare, so why not take advantage of that? Do hands-on experiments with them—it’s okay to make a mess! Bake a cake and explain measurements. Jump rope and tell your kids about gravity. Building structures of any kind is a great way to explore engineering—use Legos, Lincoln Logs, wooden blocks, or cardboard boxes.
  1. Our personal favorite: READ! Reading isn’t just a great way to spend time with your kids, it’s also a way to expand your kid’s curious minds. Need reading suggestions? Try Rosie Revere, Engineer by Andrea Beaty, What Do You Do With An Idea? By Kobi Yamada, Mae Among the Stars by Roda Ahmed, or Shark Lady by Jess Keating.

Show your kids that science isn’t at just for school. Science can be found everywhere in the world around them, in the everyday things they do.

 

 

 

 

Libby Loves Science

By: Kimberly Derting & Shelli R. Johannes

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: June 9th, 2020

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Two winners will each receive a copy of Libby Loves Science (Kimberly Derting & Shelli R. Johannes) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*   

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

10 LGBTQ Books by Black Authors!
Author Chat with Mary Helen Fein (Stitching A Life...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Thursday, 11 June 2020 13:01

This book looks awesome!
Can't wait for my niece to read it.

0
This book looks awesome! Can't wait for my niece to read it.
Marissa Hakala on Thursday, 11 June 2020 16:48

This looks amazing! I'm sure my science loving little cousin will love it, especially with a main character that looks like her!

0
This looks amazing! I'm sure my science loving little cousin will love it, especially with a main character that looks like her!
Andrea Carroll on Sunday, 21 June 2020 11:28

Whoot Whoot! -- girls in science!!

0
Whoot Whoot! -- girls in science!!
Heena Cruzl on Monday, 22 June 2020 01:30

I found this post of yours while looking for information to research related to blogs. It is a good article, keep posting and update information.
click here to download

0
I found this post of yours while looking for information to research related to blogs. It is a good article, keep posting and update information. [url=https://apkxyz.com/]click here to download[/url]
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 04 July 2020 13:51

The cover is super cute and fun. The synopsis sounds awesome.

0
The cover is super cute and fun. The synopsis sounds awesome.
Jessica Robayo on Tuesday, 07 July 2020 11:00

Love STEM-themed picture books, this sounds great. Cute artwork!

0
Love STEM-themed picture books, this sounds great. Cute artwork!
Dan Denman on Thursday, 09 July 2020 13:43

I like the design of the book cover. This sounds like a fun story.

0
I like the design of the book cover. This sounds like a fun story.
Penny Olson on Saturday, 11 July 2020 23:58

This book looks like so much fun!

0
This book looks like so much fun!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."