Spotlight on ICK!: Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Animal Defenses (Melissa Stewart), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

49289904._SX318_SY475_

Today we're excited to spotlight

ICK!: Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Animal Defenses

 by Melissa Stewart.

 Read on for more about Melissa and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet Melissa Stewart!

  

Melissa Stewart has written more than 180 science books for children, including the ALA Notable Feathers: Not Just for Flying, illustrated by Sarah S. Brannen; the SCBWI Golden Kite Honor title Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs, illustrated by Stephanie Laberis; and Can an Aardvark Bark?, illustrated by Caldecott Honoree Steve Jenkins. Her most recent title is Ick! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses. Melissa maintains the award-winning blog Celebrate Science and serves on the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators board of advisors. Her highly-regarded website features a rich array of nonfiction writing resources.

  

 Website * Facebook * Twitter 

 


 

 

Meet ICK!: Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Animal Defenses!

Animals--they're cute and fluffy, cuddly and puffy, and ... sometimes downright disgusting. Get ready to be totally grossed out as you discover the incredibly icky ways animals eat, make their homes, and defend themselves.

From award-winning author Melissa Stewart comes the grossest journey through the animal world you'll ever take. From ants to zebras, get ready to discover some seriously strange animal behaviors. Slurp up soupy insides with houseflies, spit sticky saliva to build nests with birds, and fend off predators with poop-flinging caterpillars and farting snakes. And that's just the tip of the dung pile! These yucky habits may seem surprising to us, but they're totally normal for these animals. In fact, their survival depends on them.

Snappy text, incredible photography, and more cool features add to the learning fun. Ready to chew some fingernails with cockroaches? Dive into the digusting world of animals!

 

 

AmazonB & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

  

 

Melissa’s Inspiration Behind Ick! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses


One of my favorite icky examples is the bombardier beetle—an insect that blasts enemies with a scalding spray that bursts out its butt. I first observed the insect in action during a class I took at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, many years ago.

 

 

In March 2018, an article in Science News led me to an amazing video of a Japanese common toad vomiting an Asian bombardier beetle drenched with gooey mucus. For 88 minutes, the tenacious insect fought for its life by blasting the toad’s insides with nasty, sizzling-hot spray. Finally, the toad couldn’t take it anymore and spewed its supper. After a brief rest, the slime-covered beetle slowly crawled away.

 

You know you’ve chosen one of the world’s best professions when watching something so weird and wonderful is a legitimate part of your job!



Melissa’s Top 10 Icky Animal Facts from Ick! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses

 

  1. At mating time, white-nest swiftlets spend hours building a nest with threads of sticky saliva. As the spit dries, it forms a snug pocket that’s more than strong enough to hold two chicks until they’re old enough to survive on their own.

 

  1. Would you want to live inside a rotting whale carcass? You would if you were a bone-eating snot flower worm. They spend most of their lives attached to a whalebone.

 

  1. Silver-spotted skipper caterpillars are eating-growing machines. Day and night, they eat and poop, eat and poop. If all their stinky scat piled up in one spot . . .. Pee-eeew! The little critters would be easy targets for hungry birds. Luckily, they blast their frass out their butts, propelling the poopy pellets more than 5 feet through the air.

 

  1. To stay safe from hungry hunters, a young Komodo dragon rolls in its own poop. The awful odor makes its enemies lose their appetite. 

 

  1. If something startles a turkey vulture while it’s eating, the bird upchucks its meal—sometimes right into the carcass. Vomiting its vittles decreases the vulture’s body weight, so it can take flight quickly.

 

  1. When a tiny beaded lacewing larva feels the need to feed, it points its rear end at the head of a large, tasty termite and lets one rip. That’s right—it farts! The toxic toot stuns the termite, giving the lacewing time to subdue its prey.

 

  1. Before a panda cub can eat solid food, it needs to dine on its mom’s dung. Why eat poop? Because it’s full of bacteria the little one needs to digest bamboo.   A mother panda eats poop, too. By swallowing her baby’s wastes, she keeps it safe from predators that could sniff a whiff of the scat’s smelly scent.  

 

  1. When northern fulmar parents fly off in search of fish, their chick must fend for itself. Luckily, the baby bird is anything but helpless. When a hungry predator gets too close, the chick opens its beak wide and showers the attacker with a stream of stinky spew. It can fire half a dozen blasts in quick succession and hit a target up to 6 feet away.

 

  1. Many butterflies dine on sugary flower nectar, but others prefer mud, blood, tears, or sweat. A few even sip juices from animal dung or rotting carcasses. 

 

  1. Red-billed oxpeckers sit on a rhinoceros’s back and devour ticks bursting with blood. If ticks are in short supply, the little birds climb into the rhino’s ears and nibble on earwax. They also dine on spit, snot, and dandruff. 

 

 

 

 

 

ICK!

By: Melissa Stewart

Publisher: National Geographic Kids

Release Date: June 23rd, 2020

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of ICK! (Melissa Stewart) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*   

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

It's Live! Cover Reveal: Ice Queen by Felicia T. F...
Author Chat with J Mercer (Perfection and Other Il...

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
Jeana Kwiecinski on Monday, 27 July 2020 14:18

What an awesome creepy cover! My son would love this!

0
What an awesome creepy cover! My son would love this!
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 28 July 2020 01:54

The cover is squirmy and eye-catching. My daughter and I would love this book.

0
The cover is squirmy and eye-catching. My daughter and I would love this book.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 02 August 2020 13:21

I enjoy this cover that matches the synopsis. This book will be fun to read.

0
I enjoy this cover that matches the synopsis. This book will be fun to read.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"