Spotlight on ICK!: Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Animal Defenses (Melissa Stewart), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

49289904._SX318_SY475_

Today we're excited to spotlight

ICK!: Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Animal Defenses

 by Melissa Stewart.

 Read on for more about Melissa and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet Melissa Stewart!

  

Melissa Stewart has written more than 180 science books for children, including the ALA Notable Feathers: Not Just for Flying, illustrated by Sarah S. Brannen; the SCBWI Golden Kite Honor title Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs, illustrated by Stephanie Laberis; and Can an Aardvark Bark?, illustrated by Caldecott Honoree Steve Jenkins. Her most recent title is Ick! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses. Melissa maintains the award-winning blog Celebrate Science and serves on the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators board of advisors. Her highly-regarded website features a rich array of nonfiction writing resources.

  

 Website * Facebook * Twitter 

 


 

 

Meet ICK!: Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Animal Defenses!

Animals--they're cute and fluffy, cuddly and puffy, and ... sometimes downright disgusting. Get ready to be totally grossed out as you discover the incredibly icky ways animals eat, make their homes, and defend themselves.

From award-winning author Melissa Stewart comes the grossest journey through the animal world you'll ever take. From ants to zebras, get ready to discover some seriously strange animal behaviors. Slurp up soupy insides with houseflies, spit sticky saliva to build nests with birds, and fend off predators with poop-flinging caterpillars and farting snakes. And that's just the tip of the dung pile! These yucky habits may seem surprising to us, but they're totally normal for these animals. In fact, their survival depends on them.

Snappy text, incredible photography, and more cool features add to the learning fun. Ready to chew some fingernails with cockroaches? Dive into the digusting world of animals!

 

 

AmazonB & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

  

 

Melissa’s Inspiration Behind Ick! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses


One of my favorite icky examples is the bombardier beetle—an insect that blasts enemies with a scalding spray that bursts out its butt. I first observed the insect in action during a class I took at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, many years ago.

 

 

In March 2018, an article in Science News led me to an amazing video of a Japanese common toad vomiting an Asian bombardier beetle drenched with gooey mucus. For 88 minutes, the tenacious insect fought for its life by blasting the toad’s insides with nasty, sizzling-hot spray. Finally, the toad couldn’t take it anymore and spewed its supper. After a brief rest, the slime-covered beetle slowly crawled away.

 

You know you’ve chosen one of the world’s best professions when watching something so weird and wonderful is a legitimate part of your job!



Melissa’s Top 10 Icky Animal Facts from Ick! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses

 

  1. At mating time, white-nest swiftlets spend hours building a nest with threads of sticky saliva. As the spit dries, it forms a snug pocket that’s more than strong enough to hold two chicks until they’re old enough to survive on their own.

 

  1. Would you want to live inside a rotting whale carcass? You would if you were a bone-eating snot flower worm. They spend most of their lives attached to a whalebone.

 

  1. Silver-spotted skipper caterpillars are eating-growing machines. Day and night, they eat and poop, eat and poop. If all their stinky scat piled up in one spot . . .. Pee-eeew! The little critters would be easy targets for hungry birds. Luckily, they blast their frass out their butts, propelling the poopy pellets more than 5 feet through the air.

 

  1. To stay safe from hungry hunters, a young Komodo dragon rolls in its own poop. The awful odor makes its enemies lose their appetite. 

 

  1. If something startles a turkey vulture while it’s eating, the bird upchucks its meal—sometimes right into the carcass. Vomiting its vittles decreases the vulture’s body weight, so it can take flight quickly.

 

  1. When a tiny beaded lacewing larva feels the need to feed, it points its rear end at the head of a large, tasty termite and lets one rip. That’s right—it farts! The toxic toot stuns the termite, giving the lacewing time to subdue its prey.

 

  1. Before a panda cub can eat solid food, it needs to dine on its mom’s dung. Why eat poop? Because it’s full of bacteria the little one needs to digest bamboo.   A mother panda eats poop, too. By swallowing her baby’s wastes, she keeps it safe from predators that could sniff a whiff of the scat’s smelly scent.  

 

  1. When northern fulmar parents fly off in search of fish, their chick must fend for itself. Luckily, the baby bird is anything but helpless. When a hungry predator gets too close, the chick opens its beak wide and showers the attacker with a stream of stinky spew. It can fire half a dozen blasts in quick succession and hit a target up to 6 feet away.

 

  1. Many butterflies dine on sugary flower nectar, but others prefer mud, blood, tears, or sweat. A few even sip juices from animal dung or rotting carcasses. 

 

  1. Red-billed oxpeckers sit on a rhinoceros’s back and devour ticks bursting with blood. If ticks are in short supply, the little birds climb into the rhino’s ears and nibble on earwax. They also dine on spit, snot, and dandruff. 

 

 

 

 

 

ICK!

By: Melissa Stewart

Publisher: National Geographic Kids

Release Date: June 23rd, 2020

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of ICK! (Melissa Stewart) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*   

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

It's Live! Cover Reveal: Ice Queen by Felicia T. F...
Author Chat with J Mercer (Perfection and Other Il...

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
Jeana Kwiecinski on Monday, 27 July 2020 14:18

What an awesome creepy cover! My son would love this!

0
What an awesome creepy cover! My son would love this!
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 28 July 2020 01:54

The cover is squirmy and eye-catching. My daughter and I would love this book.

0
The cover is squirmy and eye-catching. My daughter and I would love this book.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 02 August 2020 13:21

I enjoy this cover that matches the synopsis. This book will be fun to read.

0
I enjoy this cover that matches the synopsis. This book will be fun to read.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."