Spotlight on I Like The Me I See! (Culture Queen), Plus Guest Post & Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Ilikethem_20191001-193615_1

 Today we're excited to spotlight I Like The Me I See.

 Read on for more about Culture Queen, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Culture Queen!

 

Jessica “Culture Queen” Hebron is an award-winning author, entertainer and educator who holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre Education from Virginia Commonwealth University. Since 2010, Jessica has owned and operated her own company Culture Kingdom Kids, LLC, where she has performed and produced innovative children’s performances, festivals, workshops, and professional development programs for diverse audiences from primary school to Yale University, The Kennedy Center, the Atlas Performing Arts Center, and museums including the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African-American History and Culture, the National Children’s Museum, the Reginald F. Lewis Museum of Maryland African-American History and Culture, the Black History Museum of Virginia, the Prince George’s African American Museum, and Busboys and Poets’ Restaurants. Culture Queen has been honored to be a featured speaker at TEDxRVA; and a featured screenwriter on TED-ED ’s animated short film on Malian King Mansa Musa which to date has received over 4 million views. She released her first children’s music album ‘I Like the Me I See!’ in 2016; and her first picture book with the same title in 2019.

Culture Queen has been featured in  media outlets including the nationally syndicated show “NewsOne Now” with Roland Martin, Fox 5, NBC, ABC’s “Good Morning Washington”, Youtube,  93.9 WKYS, The Washington Post,  Billboard Magazine, Baltimore’s Child, Richmond Family Magazine and Red Tricycle. She was voted “40 Under Forty” by the Prince George’s County Social Innovation Fund, “Alumnus of the Year" Award by the Prince George's County Public Schools' Board of Education; and is the proud recipient of the Africa Access Award for Excellence In Children’s Programming, the Jack and Jill of America, Inc. Community Leadership Award, and the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. “Women’s History In the Making” Award. In 2019, Culture Queen became the Children’s Cultural Literacy Ambassador-In-Residence for Busboys and Poets.

 

 Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet I Like The Me I See!

In rhyming text, Culture Queen and her royal children celebrate body positivity through their cultural identity.

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

 

5 Ways To Like The Me I See!

By Culture Queen

© 2019 Culture Kingdom Kids, LLC. All rights reserved.

As a child, my parents always emphasized the importance of loving myself, having a positive mindset, and being proud of my African-American heritage. They were very mindful and intentional about the music, books, toys, games, art and cultural experiences that they exposed my sister and I to. Our daily life was filled with fun and impromptu history lessons and family adventures to libraries, museums, theatres, and cultural festivals. All of these enriching experiences truly empowered me and had a direct impact on how I perceived myself. I felt like an African-American queen! My first children’s book I Like The Me I See! and children’s album by the same title was created to help nurture your royal children’s self-esteem, and to ignite cultural curiosity and pride, just like my experiences with my parents did for me. My parents taught me to like the me I see! Here are 5 ways you can do the same with your royal children:

  1. Recite positive affirmations in the mirror together with your child like “I Like the me I see! I am who I’m supposed to be!” and “I’m a tower or royal power!” On the way to and from school, listen to my album I Like The Me I See! which features 14 affirmation-rich songs for kids including “ I’m A Tower of Royal Power!”, “I’m A Culture Kingdom Kid!” and of course the title track “I Like The Me I See!”. Be sure to sing along with them.  By doing this you will model for your child the type of body positive behaviors you want them to exhibit.
  1.  Fill your home with age-appropriate toys, art, books, children’s music and television programming, etc. that positively reflect the rich heritage and diverse contributions of African-Americans. Buy books about African-Americans written by African-American authors like I Like The Me I See!  Read together as often as possible as a family. Double check to make sure all books, toys, videos and other media do not contain outdated or inaccurate information; or that perpetuate negative images and stereotypes.
  1. Celebrate Black History beyond the month of February by attending events that  recognize holidays of historical significance to Black history and culture including the birthdays of noteworthy figures including Kwanzaa (December), Martin Luther King Day (January), Jazz and Poetry Appreciation Month (April), Memorial Day (May), Juneteenth (June),  and Black Music Month (June). Always be conscientious to be enthusiastic, curious, and willing to learn about African- American History.
  1. Research and your family’s history with your child and create a family tree to honor your family’s ancestors. Explore the topics that most interest your child and introduce them to historical and contemporary African-American leaders who have made contributions in those areas. Do not forget to include lesser known hometown heroes who might live right in your community.
  1. Attend cultural programs for children and families hosted by museums, libraries, and other organizations. Even better: Host your own cultural events at home like black history-themed children’s birthday parties and holiday celebrations like Kwanzaa and Juneteenth! You’re always invited to attend my Culture Kingdom Kids events and performances that I produce throughout the year! To see my calendar of empowering events, visit: www.culturekingdomkids.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I Like The Me I See!

Author: Culture Queen

Publisher: Culture Kingdom Kids, LLC

Release Date: October 15th, 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

  

One winner will each receive a copy of I Like The Me I See! (Culture Queen) ~ US Only

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Whispers Of Shadow & Flame (L Pen...
Author Chat with Carolyn Crimi (Weird Little Robot...

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Thursday, 10 October 2019 09:36

I adore the cover and the synopsis sounds perfect for our readers. Best wishes on the new book and thanks for sharing.

0
I adore the cover and the synopsis sounds perfect for our readers. Best wishes on the new book and thanks for sharing.
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 26 October 2019 13:35

The cover is perfect for this fun and educational book for me.

0
The cover is perfect for this fun and educational book for me.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 27 October 2019 00:51

The cover is affirming and the synopsis sounds positive and much needed.

0
The cover is affirming and the synopsis sounds positive and much needed.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."