Spotlight on Eleanor Roosevelt's In My Garage (Candace Fleming), Guest Post & Giveaway!

Eleanor-Roosevelts-in-My-Garage

Today we're excited to spotlight Eleanor Roosevelt's In My Garage by Candace Fleming!

Read on for more about Candace, plus a guest post, and giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Candace Fleming!

CANDACE FLEMING is the prolific author of The Family Romanov, a Sibert Honor Book and the recipient of both the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Award for Young Adult Literature; Amelia Lost, which received four starred reviews; The Great and Only Barnum, an ALA-YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction nominee and a Publishers Weekly and Booklist Best Book of the Year; The Lincolns: A Scrapbook Look at Abraham and Mary, a Boston Globe-Horn Book Award recipient; Our Eleanor, an ALA-ALSC Best Book for Young Adults; and Ben Franklin's Almanac, a James Madison Honor Book. She is also the author of many highly acclaimed picture books, including Oh, No!, illustrated by Eric Rohmann, and middle grade books, including The Fabled Fourth Graders of Aesop Elementary School and Ben Franklin's in My Bathroom! Visit her on the web at candacefleming.com [candacefleming.com] or on Twitter at @candacemfleming.

 

 

 Website * Facebook * Twitter 

 

Meet Eleanor Roosevelt's In My Garage!

In this hilarious follow-up to BEN FRANKLIN'S IN MY BATHROOM!, history and hijinks collide once more when Eleanor Roosevelt accidentally time travels to a ten-year-old's home in 21st-century America!

When Eleanor Roosevelt time travels to Nolan and Olive's house in modern-day Illinois, the kids don't know who she is at first. After all, she's old and wearing a hairnet. But the First Lady of the United States--some 80 years ago, that is-- isn't a mystery for long when she starts spouting things like "You must do the things you think you cannot do." Fresh off a visit from Ben Franklin, Nolan and Olive know what they're in for with this latest guest: an adventure. From drawing on ideals of civil protest to save the town park, to (almost) doing a loop-de-loop in a single-engine plane, to avoiding that know-it-all snoop Tommy Tuttle, there's one laugh after the next in this second book in the History Pals series. Fun back matter expands the story and unpacks the amazing life of Eleanor Roosevelt.

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~ 

 

 

                        10 Things You Might Find Surprising About Eleanor Roosevelt

            Yes, Eleanor Roosevelt was formative in the National League of Women’s Voters and the Women’s Division of the Democratic National Committee.  Sure, she championed civil rights and women’s rights, gave voice to the poor, unemployed and powerless, and drafted the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.  But here are 10 things I uncovered about her during my research for Eleanor Roosevelt’s In My Garage.  I hope you find them as surprising as I did.

  1. In 1934 she was named one of the ten best-dressed women of the year by the American fashion industry.
  1. She had a powerful sweet tooth.
  1. She favored red nail polish and always wore Chanel No. 5 perfume.
  1. She was such a controversial First Lady that during the 1940 presidential election opponent Wendell Wilke took the unprecedented step of campaigning against His campaign even issued pins that read, “I don’t want Eleanor either.”
  1. She has one of the largest FBI files in American history – 3,271 pages long.
  1. A yoga lover, she practiced the positions every night before bed wearing a one-piece, black bathing suit.
  1. She wrote a children’s book – A Trip To Washington With Bobby And Betty.
  1. She kept a gun in her underwear drawer, not for protection but because she was such a bad shot, she thought it was safer there.
  1. During a five-week trip to the South Pacific in 1943, she covered 17 islands plus New Zealand and Australia, visited 400,000 American soldiers, lost 30 pounds and wore out 2 pairs of shoes.
  1. Sheik Suleiman of Egypt – 70 years old and the husband of 39 wives – asked her to become wife number 40. Since joining a harem had never been one of her goals, she declined.

 

 

 

 

 

Eleanor Roosevelt's In My Garage 

Author: Candace Fleming

Publisher: Schwartz & Wade

Publish Date: September 25th, 2018

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of Eleanor Roosevelt's In My Garage (Candace Fleming) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: The Weekend Bucket List (Mia Keri...
Featured Review: The Unusual Suspects (Dominic Car...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Sunday, 16 December 2018 21:23

I have been a fan of Candace Fleming's nonfiction work for years. This series sounds like so much fun and I can't wait to give it a try. The cover will attract the intended readers and the storyline sounds like fun. Good luck with Eleanor!

0
I have been a fan of Candace Fleming's nonfiction work for years. This series sounds like so much fun and I can't wait to give it a try. The cover will attract the intended readers and the storyline sounds like fun. Good luck with Eleanor!
Victoria Scott on Thursday, 27 December 2018 17:34

The story sounds like the perfect read for my daughter! The cover is cute too!

0
The story sounds like the perfect read for my daughter! The cover is cute too!
Marisa Fort on Saturday, 05 January 2019 21:37

The cover looks awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover looks awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 06 January 2019 09:27

The cover is fun and the synopsis promises an exciting adventure while learning history.

0
The cover is fun and the synopsis promises an exciting adventure while learning history.
Penny Olson on Thursday, 10 January 2019 23:13

The cover is really fun and will attract young readers. The story sounds really engaging.

0
The cover is really fun and will attract young readers. The story sounds really engaging.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."