Spotlight on Earthweeds by Rod Little, Plus Interview & Book Trailer Reveal!

Screen-Shot-2017-10-04-at-7.47.09-AM

Today we're excited to spotlight Earthweeds by Rod Little, plus an author chat, and book trailer reveal! 

 

 

Meet Rod Little!

 
 
 
Rod Little has written for two dozen science fiction, fantasy, and horror magazines over the past two decades. He has also written two novellas for the Wayward Pines series and The 100 series, and five novels, including his own series:  Sons of Neptune.
Born in Illinois, Rod later moved to Pittsburgh, PA, and worked as a translator. In 1994 he opened a sci-fi gaming store called Starbase One, which he kept open for 11 years, until 2005. A year later he moved to Thailand to begin writing again.
Motto:  "Reading sci-fi should open your eyes, but most of all it should be fun!"
 
Learn more at Rod's website HERE!

 

 
 
 
 

Meet Earthweeds!

 
 Earthweeds.
  • Two students return from a summer camping trip to find an empty city. All human life has vanished, and a new post-apocalyptic world is upon them. Soon giant lizards the size of komodo dragons start flooding into town, attacking the remaining humans. Eventually other species of mutations, giant spiders, begin to fight against the lizards. A war breaks out between the genetically-altered creatures, and the last humans are caught in the middle.
    -A high school student born with a gift to generate electricity from his hands. 
    -A college student who can communicate with animals. 
    -A scientist with a secret, and a motorcycle gang using him for their ends.
    The last young survivors form separate camps in the race to find clues to the world's end, while caught between hordes of giant lizards and spiders battling for the remaining food supply.
    Soon they discover it's not just the end of the world. It's the start of something new, and its origins may be alien in nature!
     
    You can purchase Earthweeds HERE!
     

 

 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Multiple sources inspired me to write Earthweeds. Ironically, it was other shows and books not directly related to this field or idea. Reading many post-apocalyptic books, I thought “What if Earth can't be saved? Has anyone ever gone the other way, where we can't win in an alien invasion?” Watching The Walking Dead, I thought how much I dislike zombies and yet I'm glued to the screen because of the characters and story. Similarly, I love shows like Blake's 7, despite poor special effects. I thought, “Let's put strong characters into a better setting.” It made me realize how important the story is, and the love or hatred for each character, and not the surroundings. I wanted to create a story strong enough to surpass its genre.

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?

I like Bohai, the kid who can hear the spiders and communicate with birds. His character is the most dynamic, and he's the most likable. Obviously Sam is also interesting, with his sparking abilities to create lightning. Those two are my favorite.

3. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The first two novels in the series were completed before I had a title, and the title changed many times. Finally I settled on Earthweeds for the first book, and Revenge of the Spiders for the Second. However, the overall series was always going to be Sons of Neptune – that title I had from the start of the concept.

4. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I like the attack on the hotel where the kids are hiding. It came off pretty well, and I thought the surprise twist came off as planned. I am also fond of the two opening scenes I the book.

5. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I've learned not to over-edit. I can get carried away. After a few edits, just let it rest, let the story stick.

6. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love the ephemeral look of the distant city in its post-apocalyptic state.

7. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017? Call to Vengeance by Timothy Zahn (although that's rumored to be pushed to 2018), and The Outsider by Stephen King.

8. What was your favorite book in 2016?

I think perhaps The Fever Code by James Dashner (Maze Runner).

9. What’s up next for you?

This week, Revenge of the Spiders has just been released. Next I am writing The Last Starbase (Book 3), but first: a short novella for The 100 TV series (Kindle Worlds Sci-Fi). I am hoping to get a collection of my short stories together by mid 2018 (sci-fi, fantasy and horror). These would be previously published magazine pieces, but I intend to write a new story just for the collection.

10. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising? I like the first draft the best. I write as if I am telling a story to friend sitting next to me. I love that. Later, the revision process can be grueling. 

 

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Girl and the Grove b...
Press Release: Book Trailer for Rick Riordan's The...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."