40245031._SY475_

Today we're excited to spotlight Don't Call The Wolf by Aleksandra Ross.

 Read on for more about Aleksandra and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet Aleksandra Ross!

ALEKSANDRA ROSS lives in Vancouver, BC, where she works as a physician. When she isn’t writing stories, she enjoys spending time with her family and learning about obscure folklore traditions. Inspired by her grandmother and her Polish heritage, Don’t Call the Wolf is her first novel. 

  

 Amazon Author Page * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet Don't Call The Wolf!

A forest, besieged. A queen, unyielding. Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this deliciously dark Eastern European–inspired YA fantasy debut.

When the Golden Dragon descended on the forest of Kamiena, a horde of monsters followed in its wake.

Ren, the forest’s young queen, is slowly losing her battle against them. Until she rescues Lukasz—the last survivor of a heroic regiment of dragon slayers—and they strike a deal. She will help him find his brother, who vanished into her forest… if Lukasz promises to slay the Dragon.

But promises are all too easily broken.
 

 

 

AmazonB & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

 

 

The DON’T CALL THE WOLF MONSTER STARTER PACK

Thank you so much for having me at YA Books Central!

I’m so excited to share my DON’T CALL THE WOLF starter pack – a crash course on some of the creatures found in Welona, the story’s Poland-inspired kingdom. I hope you enjoy this list, which features only a small selection of the creatures lurking within this action-packed YA fantasy.

  1. Wodnik
    A water spirit resembling an amphibious human, with large frog-like eyes and bulrushes instead of hair. The legends surrounding Wodniks are variable, with depictions ranging from malevolent monsters and to the ghosts of drowned children. In this story, Wodniks are as individual as humans – some are good, some are bad, but most lie somewhere in between.
  2. Psotnik
    Associated with trees and rafters, psotniki are magpies of the monster world. They are large and deceptively cute, and collect trinkets in high-up nests that resemble the paper cocoons of hornets.
  3. Strzygi
    As monsters of human origin, strzygi are particularly gruesome. They have beaky, owl-like features and reddish hair, and slowly become more monstrous over time. They are notoriously difficult to kill.
  4. Leszy
    A trickster and a shapeshifter, Leszy can take on many forms, although he prefers that of a furry little man. He is a tricky beast, but his eyes give him away – green when he’s pleased, and red when he is particularly peeved.
  5. Vila
    Vila are forest spirits, typically beautiful and dressed in blue. Tradition has it that they accost handsome travelers on dark roads, luring them into eternal night. Yet, the vila of Welona are as individual as its Wodniks. They, along with most creatures, demonstrate that not all accepted traditions are accurate.

A special thank you is in order – this document would not be possible without the help of Captain Franciszek Smoków’s detailed notes, as well as Professor Jakub Rybak’s painstaking research.*

*Franciszek and Jakub are fictional characters featured in DON’T CALL THE WOLF. Francisek is a science-obsessed soldier, and Jakub is an Unnaturalist – an academic specializing in magical phenomena.

 

 

 

Don't Call The Wolf

By: Aleksandra Ross

Publisher: Harpercollins 

Release Date: April 28th, 2020

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Don't Call The Wolf (Aleksandra Ross) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*   

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway