Spotlight on Don't Call The Wolf (Aleksandra Ross), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

40245031._SY475_

Today we're excited to spotlight Don't Call The Wolf by Aleksandra Ross.

 Read on for more about Aleksandra and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet Aleksandra Ross!

ALEKSANDRA ROSS lives in Vancouver, BC, where she works as a physician. When she isn’t writing stories, she enjoys spending time with her family and learning about obscure folklore traditions. Inspired by her grandmother and her Polish heritage, Don’t Call the Wolf is her first novel. 

  

 Amazon Author Page * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet Don't Call The Wolf!

A forest, besieged. A queen, unyielding. Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this deliciously dark Eastern European–inspired YA fantasy debut.

When the Golden Dragon descended on the forest of Kamiena, a horde of monsters followed in its wake.

Ren, the forest’s young queen, is slowly losing her battle against them. Until she rescues Lukasz—the last survivor of a heroic regiment of dragon slayers—and they strike a deal. She will help him find his brother, who vanished into her forest… if Lukasz promises to slay the Dragon.

But promises are all too easily broken.
 

 

 

AmazonB & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

 

 

The DON’T CALL THE WOLF MONSTER STARTER PACK

Thank you so much for having me at YA Books Central!

I’m so excited to share my DON’T CALL THE WOLF starter pack – a crash course on some of the creatures found in Welona, the story’s Poland-inspired kingdom. I hope you enjoy this list, which features only a small selection of the creatures lurking within this action-packed YA fantasy.

  1. Wodnik
    A water spirit resembling an amphibious human, with large frog-like eyes and bulrushes instead of hair. The legends surrounding Wodniks are variable, with depictions ranging from malevolent monsters and to the ghosts of drowned children. In this story, Wodniks are as individual as humans – some are good, some are bad, but most lie somewhere in between.
  2. Psotnik
    Associated with trees and rafters, psotniki are magpies of the monster world. They are large and deceptively cute, and collect trinkets in high-up nests that resemble the paper cocoons of hornets.
  3. Strzygi
    As monsters of human origin, strzygi are particularly gruesome. They have beaky, owl-like features and reddish hair, and slowly become more monstrous over time. They are notoriously difficult to kill.
  4. Leszy
    A trickster and a shapeshifter, Leszy can take on many forms, although he prefers that of a furry little man. He is a tricky beast, but his eyes give him away – green when he’s pleased, and red when he is particularly peeved.
  5. Vila
    Vila are forest spirits, typically beautiful and dressed in blue. Tradition has it that they accost handsome travelers on dark roads, luring them into eternal night. Yet, the vila of Welona are as individual as its Wodniks. They, along with most creatures, demonstrate that not all accepted traditions are accurate.

A special thank you is in order – this document would not be possible without the help of Captain Franciszek Smoków’s detailed notes, as well as Professor Jakub Rybak’s painstaking research.*

*Franciszek and Jakub are fictional characters featured in DON’T CALL THE WOLF. Francisek is a science-obsessed soldier, and Jakub is an Unnaturalist – an academic specializing in magical phenomena.

 

 

 

Don't Call The Wolf

By: Aleksandra Ross

Publisher: Harpercollins 

Release Date: April 28th, 2020

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Don't Call The Wolf (Aleksandra Ross) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*   

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: If These Wings Could Fly (Kyrie M...
Featured Review: Between Burning Worlds (System Di...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Tuesday, 28 April 2020 20:58

This book looks awesome, can't wait to read it!

0
This book looks awesome, can't wait to read it!
Samantha on Tuesday, 19 May 2020 09:35

The cover on this is amazing, I love the symmetry and color palette. Books with these artistic covers always draw my attention. Plus the synopsis sounds great as well! Can't wait to read.

0
The cover on this is amazing, I love the symmetry and color palette. Books with these artistic covers always draw my attention. Plus the synopsis sounds great as well! Can't wait to read.
Brooklyn on Tuesday, 19 May 2020 20:12

I LOVE THIS COVER. And the title. Both immediately caught my eye.

0
I LOVE THIS COVER. And the title. Both immediately caught my eye.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 22 May 2020 18:45

The cover is beautiful. This book will be so much fun to read.

0
The cover is beautiful. This book will be so much fun to read.
Penny Olson on Monday, 25 May 2020 17:48

The cover is beautiful and intricate. The story sounds exciting.

0
The cover is beautiful and intricate. The story sounds exciting.
Lin Ryals on Wednesday, 27 May 2020 10:36

This cover is gorgeous and the book sounds like a fun read!

0
This cover is gorgeous and the book sounds like a fun read!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's Avery's senior year in high school, and she has...
Peppermint Post
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
'Twas the night before Christmas, when the North Pole's Peppermint...
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren Magaziner’s hilarious and high-stakes middle grade series gets a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What's outside Pleasant Grove? Welcome to Pleasant...
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reggie has never felt destined for greatness. He dreams about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious meets Transformers in the second...
Bread Lab!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s a sleepy Saturday morning for most people, but not...
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
This empowering picture book teaches readers that even great ideas...
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The hilarious sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller,...
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With tongue-twisty wordplay and escalating absurdity, this is a fall-down-funny...
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A LOVE POEM FROM A FATHER TO HIS TWO SONS,...
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kings become outcasts and lovers become foes in The Faithless...
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first zucchini of a summer garden is always exciting,...
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion...
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the colors of the rainbow are hidden in the...

Latest Member Reviews

Peppermint Post
 
5.0
"PEPPERMINT POST is an adorable new story about Christmas and Santa. The Peppermint Post is the busiest post office in..."
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
"STOLEN FROM THE STUDIO is a fun middle grade mystery with a choose-your-own-adventure plot. Carlos travels with his mother, a..."
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
"THE WIZENARD SERIES: SEASON ONE is written by Wesley King and created by Kobe Bryant. The MG fantasy follows Reggie,..."
The Triumphant Tale of Pippa North
 
4.0
"THE TRIUMPHANT TALE OF PIPPA NORTH combines magic and humor in a middle grade fantasy full of charm. Pippa is..."
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
"TURBO RACERS: ESCAPE VELOCITY is a fast-paced, high-stakes adventure. Mace Blazer is a TURBOnaut, a high-speed vehicle racer. He recently..."
Bread Lab!
 
4.0
"BREAD LAB! is a cute picture book that walks through the steps of making sourdough bread through the eyes of..."
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
"A THOUSAND NO'S is a cute picture book about the way that feedback can change an idea. A girl has..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
"SHARKO AND HIPPO is a clever and comical book about two best friends who are going fishing for the day...."
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
"THE THING ABOUT BEES: A LOVE LETTER is an informative and gorgeously illustrated picture book about bees. The book describes..."
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
"THE FAITHLESS HAWK is one of my favorite reads of 2020. I laughed, I sighed, I cried, and this book..."
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
"ZORA'S ZUCCHINI is a delightful picture book that explores growing vegetables and sharing with neighbors. Zora is a little bored..."
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
"LIBBY LOVES SCIENCE is a cute picture book that brings a love of science to all the fun of ice..."
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
"THE HIDDEN RAINBOW is a delightful picture book that combines counting, colors, and nature in a beautiful exploration. Each page..."
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
"THE PLACES WE SLEEP is a moving middle grade historical that takes place around 9/11. The book is written entirely..."
Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."