Spotlight on Don't Call The Wolf (Aleksandra Ross), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

40245031._SY475_

Today we're excited to spotlight Don't Call The Wolf by Aleksandra Ross.

 Read on for more about Aleksandra and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet Aleksandra Ross!

ALEKSANDRA ROSS lives in Vancouver, BC, where she works as a physician. When she isn’t writing stories, she enjoys spending time with her family and learning about obscure folklore traditions. Inspired by her grandmother and her Polish heritage, Don’t Call the Wolf is her first novel. 

  

 Amazon Author Page * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet Don't Call The Wolf!

A forest, besieged. A queen, unyielding. Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this deliciously dark Eastern European–inspired YA fantasy debut.

When the Golden Dragon descended on the forest of Kamiena, a horde of monsters followed in its wake.

Ren, the forest’s young queen, is slowly losing her battle against them. Until she rescues Lukasz—the last survivor of a heroic regiment of dragon slayers—and they strike a deal. She will help him find his brother, who vanished into her forest… if Lukasz promises to slay the Dragon.

But promises are all too easily broken.
 

 

 

AmazonB & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

 

 

The DON’T CALL THE WOLF MONSTER STARTER PACK

Thank you so much for having me at YA Books Central!

I’m so excited to share my DON’T CALL THE WOLF starter pack – a crash course on some of the creatures found in Welona, the story’s Poland-inspired kingdom. I hope you enjoy this list, which features only a small selection of the creatures lurking within this action-packed YA fantasy.

  1. Wodnik
    A water spirit resembling an amphibious human, with large frog-like eyes and bulrushes instead of hair. The legends surrounding Wodniks are variable, with depictions ranging from malevolent monsters and to the ghosts of drowned children. In this story, Wodniks are as individual as humans – some are good, some are bad, but most lie somewhere in between.
  2. Psotnik
    Associated with trees and rafters, psotniki are magpies of the monster world. They are large and deceptively cute, and collect trinkets in high-up nests that resemble the paper cocoons of hornets.
  3. Strzygi
    As monsters of human origin, strzygi are particularly gruesome. They have beaky, owl-like features and reddish hair, and slowly become more monstrous over time. They are notoriously difficult to kill.
  4. Leszy
    A trickster and a shapeshifter, Leszy can take on many forms, although he prefers that of a furry little man. He is a tricky beast, but his eyes give him away – green when he’s pleased, and red when he is particularly peeved.
  5. Vila
    Vila are forest spirits, typically beautiful and dressed in blue. Tradition has it that they accost handsome travelers on dark roads, luring them into eternal night. Yet, the vila of Welona are as individual as its Wodniks. They, along with most creatures, demonstrate that not all accepted traditions are accurate.

A special thank you is in order – this document would not be possible without the help of Captain Franciszek Smoków’s detailed notes, as well as Professor Jakub Rybak’s painstaking research.*

*Franciszek and Jakub are fictional characters featured in DON’T CALL THE WOLF. Francisek is a science-obsessed soldier, and Jakub is an Unnaturalist – an academic specializing in magical phenomena.

 

 

 

Don't Call The Wolf

By: Aleksandra Ross

Publisher: Harpercollins 

Release Date: April 28th, 2020

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Don't Call The Wolf (Aleksandra Ross) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*   

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: If These Wings Could Fly (Kyrie M...
Featured Review: Between Burning Worlds (System Di...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Tuesday, 28 April 2020 20:58

This book looks awesome, can't wait to read it!

0
This book looks awesome, can't wait to read it!
Samantha on Tuesday, 19 May 2020 09:35

The cover on this is amazing, I love the symmetry and color palette. Books with these artistic covers always draw my attention. Plus the synopsis sounds great as well! Can't wait to read.

0
The cover on this is amazing, I love the symmetry and color palette. Books with these artistic covers always draw my attention. Plus the synopsis sounds great as well! Can't wait to read.
Brooklyn on Tuesday, 19 May 2020 20:12

I LOVE THIS COVER. And the title. Both immediately caught my eye.

0
I LOVE THIS COVER. And the title. Both immediately caught my eye.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 22 May 2020 18:45

The cover is beautiful. This book will be so much fun to read.

0
The cover is beautiful. This book will be so much fun to read.
Penny Olson on Monday, 25 May 2020 17:48

The cover is beautiful and intricate. The story sounds exciting.

0
The cover is beautiful and intricate. The story sounds exciting.
Lin Ryals on Wednesday, 27 May 2020 10:36

This cover is gorgeous and the book sounds like a fun read!

0
This cover is gorgeous and the book sounds like a fun read!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Sprinkle of Spirits (Love Sugar Magic, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonora Logroño has finally been introduced to her family’s bakery...
The Order of Time
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
“If you’re into secret societies, time-travel, dangerous artifacts, deadly assassins,...
Thomas Edison
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Learn about the life of Thomas Edison in this early...
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Pete the Cat for 12 groovy, cozy stories perfect...
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As in Anne Frank's "Diary of a Young Girl" and...
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning non-fiction picture book about the origins of the...
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: All...
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A reassuring bedtime story about the special bond between a...
We Are Together
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The power of love and friendship is celebrated in this...
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Half-angel Trinity and her bonded gargoyle protector, Zayne, have been...
Diamond City (Diamond City, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"A thrilling adventure, through a vibrant city as alive as...
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Cassandra Cain, teenage assassin, isn't exactly Batgirl material...yet. Will she...
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The long-awaited sequel to Of Fire and Stars—in which Mare...
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid's Tale meets Wilder Girls in this genre-defying novel...
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...

Latest Member Reviews

A Sprinkle of Spirits (Love Sugar Magic, #2)
 
5.0
"A SPRINKLE OF SPIRITS is the delightful second book in the LOVE SUGAR MAGIC middle grade series. Leo is a..."
The Order of Time
 
3.0
"THE ORDER OF TIME by Scott P. Southall is a Middle Grade Sci-Fi Fantasy novel. The story follows two twins,..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Always Forever Maybe
 
3.7
"ALWAYS FOREVER MAYBE is a YA contemporary about domestic abuse and friendship. Bee (Joanna Betts) has always felt like a..."
Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way
 
5.0
"'Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way,' an I Can Read book by Lori Haskins Houran, illustrated by Gustavo Mazali, is a..."
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat 5-Minute Bedtime Stories' by Kimberly and James Dean is an adorable storybook that any lover of children's..."
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
"'Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm' by Bella Kuligowska Zucker is an incredibly moving tale of the author's search..."
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
"'Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From' by Patrick Skipworth, illustrated by Nicholas Stevenson, is a creative book that..."
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
"'Ty's Travels: All Aboard!' by Kelly Starling Lyons, pictures by Nina Mata, is an adorable story of Ty and his..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
"CUDDLE CLOSE, LITTLE KOALA is a sweet story of the special connection between mother and child. Little Koala is lost..."
We Are Together
 
3.5
"WE ARE TOGETHER is a book about activism and teamwork. In the form of a rhyming poem, the book stresses..."
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
"RAGE AND RUIN is a fantastic sequel in THE HARBINGER series. Picking up where the first book left off, we..."
Diamond City (City of Steel and Diamond, #1)
 
3.3
"DIAMOND CITY follows Aina, an assassin. Aina was out on the streets as a young child, when her parents were..."
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
"SHADOW OF THE BATGIRL is an origin story for Cassandra Cain. Cassandra was raised by her villain father as a..."
That's Not What Happened
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: There have been countless school shootings in the United States and hundreds if not thousands of..."
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: One of my biggest complaints about Of Fire and Stars was its lacking characterization, but that’s been..."
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
"AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a poignant YA dystopian that really speaks to humanity and the present...."
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
"MY LOVE IS ALL AROUND is a sweet book about love between parent and child and the many ways in..."