Spotlight on Don't Call The Wolf (Aleksandra Ross), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

40245031._SY475_

Today we're excited to spotlight Don't Call The Wolf by Aleksandra Ross.

 Read on for more about Aleksandra and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet Aleksandra Ross!

ALEKSANDRA ROSS lives in Vancouver, BC, where she works as a physician. When she isn’t writing stories, she enjoys spending time with her family and learning about obscure folklore traditions. Inspired by her grandmother and her Polish heritage, Don’t Call the Wolf is her first novel. 

  

 Amazon Author Page * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet Don't Call The Wolf!

A forest, besieged. A queen, unyielding. Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this deliciously dark Eastern European–inspired YA fantasy debut.

When the Golden Dragon descended on the forest of Kamiena, a horde of monsters followed in its wake.

Ren, the forest’s young queen, is slowly losing her battle against them. Until she rescues Lukasz—the last survivor of a heroic regiment of dragon slayers—and they strike a deal. She will help him find his brother, who vanished into her forest… if Lukasz promises to slay the Dragon.

But promises are all too easily broken.
 

 

 

AmazonB & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

 

 

The DON’T CALL THE WOLF MONSTER STARTER PACK

Thank you so much for having me at YA Books Central!

I’m so excited to share my DON’T CALL THE WOLF starter pack – a crash course on some of the creatures found in Welona, the story’s Poland-inspired kingdom. I hope you enjoy this list, which features only a small selection of the creatures lurking within this action-packed YA fantasy.

  1. Wodnik
    A water spirit resembling an amphibious human, with large frog-like eyes and bulrushes instead of hair. The legends surrounding Wodniks are variable, with depictions ranging from malevolent monsters and to the ghosts of drowned children. In this story, Wodniks are as individual as humans – some are good, some are bad, but most lie somewhere in between.
  2. Psotnik
    Associated with trees and rafters, psotniki are magpies of the monster world. They are large and deceptively cute, and collect trinkets in high-up nests that resemble the paper cocoons of hornets.
  3. Strzygi
    As monsters of human origin, strzygi are particularly gruesome. They have beaky, owl-like features and reddish hair, and slowly become more monstrous over time. They are notoriously difficult to kill.
  4. Leszy
    A trickster and a shapeshifter, Leszy can take on many forms, although he prefers that of a furry little man. He is a tricky beast, but his eyes give him away – green when he’s pleased, and red when he is particularly peeved.
  5. Vila
    Vila are forest spirits, typically beautiful and dressed in blue. Tradition has it that they accost handsome travelers on dark roads, luring them into eternal night. Yet, the vila of Welona are as individual as its Wodniks. They, along with most creatures, demonstrate that not all accepted traditions are accurate.

A special thank you is in order – this document would not be possible without the help of Captain Franciszek Smoków’s detailed notes, as well as Professor Jakub Rybak’s painstaking research.*

*Franciszek and Jakub are fictional characters featured in DON’T CALL THE WOLF. Francisek is a science-obsessed soldier, and Jakub is an Unnaturalist – an academic specializing in magical phenomena.

 

 

 

Don't Call The Wolf

By: Aleksandra Ross

Publisher: Harpercollins 

Release Date: April 28th, 2020

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Don't Call The Wolf (Aleksandra Ross) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*   

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: If These Wings Could Fly (Kyrie M...
Featured Review: Between Burning Worlds (System Di...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Tuesday, 28 April 2020 20:58

This book looks awesome, can't wait to read it!

0
This book looks awesome, can't wait to read it!
Samantha on Tuesday, 19 May 2020 09:35

The cover on this is amazing, I love the symmetry and color palette. Books with these artistic covers always draw my attention. Plus the synopsis sounds great as well! Can't wait to read.

0
The cover on this is amazing, I love the symmetry and color palette. Books with these artistic covers always draw my attention. Plus the synopsis sounds great as well! Can't wait to read.
Brooklyn on Tuesday, 19 May 2020 20:12

I LOVE THIS COVER. And the title. Both immediately caught my eye.

0
I LOVE THIS COVER. And the title. Both immediately caught my eye.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 22 May 2020 18:45

The cover is beautiful. This book will be so much fun to read.

0
The cover is beautiful. This book will be so much fun to read.
Penny Olson on Monday, 25 May 2020 17:48

The cover is beautiful and intricate. The story sounds exciting.

0
The cover is beautiful and intricate. The story sounds exciting.
Lin Ryals on Wednesday, 27 May 2020 10:36

This cover is gorgeous and the book sounds like a fun read!

0
This cover is gorgeous and the book sounds like a fun read!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically...
Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...
Missing the Beat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dream job? Check. The best friends? Check....
Meeting the Star
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The spotless reputation? Check. The gorgeous movie star?...
Making the Play
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The school of her dreams? Check. The perfect...
Runaway : Immortals of Indriell
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They claim her mother died a hero. They...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine...
Kneel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression...
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death,...
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of The Best Laid Plans comes...

Latest Member Reviews

Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE LLAMA is a charming picture book story about friendship. Little Llama lives with her herd high in the..."
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
"THE BOY AND THE SEA is a beautiful story about growing up, dreaming, and peace. The boy brings his questions..."
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
"IN YOUR BED is a cute board book containing a poem about bedtime. The book captures elements of bedtime, such..."
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
"CHICKS ROCK! is a fun picture book about friendship, reaching for your dreams, and embracing your strengths. Rocker Chick loves..."
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
"BLUEY: THE BEACH is a charming picture book about bravery and adventure. Bluey is excited to be at the beach..."
All About Bluey
 
4.0
"ALL ABOUT BLUEY is a cute board book that introduces the character and some simple facts about her. Whether..."
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
"INSTRUCTIONS FOR DANCING is an engaging YA contemporary about romance, family, and coming of age. Evie stopped believing in love..."
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
"THE TRAGEDY OF DANE RILEY is a compelling YA contemporary read about family, grief, depression, and mental illness. Dane is..."
The Shadow War
 
3.3
"What worked: Intriguing mix of Sci-fi with historical set during WWII. There is a lot going on in this engaging..."
Even and Odd
 
5.0
"Even and Odd are sisters born a year apart who share their magical power. Odd isn't thrilled with hers, and..."
Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE BUNNY is an interesting picture book read about a bunny's first trip out of the burrow. Bunny is..."
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
"When Jordyn's mother offers to help Noura Alwan's family settle in Tampa, Florida, Jordyn hopes that it will improve her..."
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
"In 2012, Samira and her family are members of the Rohingya people. Because of the oppressive government in Myanmar (or..."
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
"NOT NOW, COW is a charming and funny picture book about seasonal clothes. The animals are getting ready for each..."
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
"CUCU! EN EL MAR/ PEEKABOO! IN THE OCEAN is an adorable bilingual lift-the-flap board book. Each page features an animal..."
Family Reunion
 
4.0
"FAMILY REUNION is a colorful picture book that captures all the joy of seeing family, even when you think you..."
The Dog Who Saved the World
 
5.0
"Georgie and her friend Ramzy enjoy hanging out in their seaside English town, romping with Georgie's rescue dog, Mr. Mash,..."
Mission Multiverse
 
4.0
"In the near future, Dev's family has moved from California to Conroy, Ohio because of the problems being caused on..."
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
"A SEASON OF SINISTER DREAMS is an engaging YA fantasy that follows two young women, Evra and Annalise. Annalise lives..."