Spotlight on Buttheads From Outer Space by Jerry Mahoney, Plus Excerpt & Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-03-14-at-10.43.46-AM

Today we're excited to spotlight Buttheads From Outer Space by Jerry Mahoney! Read on for more about Jerry and his book, plus an excerpt, and a giveaway! 

 

Meet Jerry Mahoney!

 
 

Jerry Mahoney is the author of the series My Rotten Stepbrother Ruined Fairy Tales. He is located in the city of Los Angeles on the planet Earth, along with a husband and two children who are most likely human. His butt is just where you'd expect it to be, thank you very much. Find out more at jerrymahoneybooks.com. 

 
 
 
Meet Buttheads From Outer Space!
 
 

My best friend Lloyd and I had the perfect plan.

We started a blog to invite aliens to come to Earth and hang out―but only with us. That way, they wouldn't have to meet any boring world leaders or get cut open by scientists or anything like that. We'd just chill out, eat junk food, and play video games together. Sweet, right? And it worked! Two aliens showed up one night in the bathroom of my favorite restaurant, and we snuck them home to my room.

The problem is, they're total buttheads! Literally. They have butts on their heads, and they talk in farts. They're rude, disgusting, and they love Earth so much, they just invited 70 billion of their friends to join them here.

Oops.

Now it's up to us―two sixth graders with B-pluses in science―to save the planet from the sickest extraterrestrials in the universe. (Preferably without my parents finding out.)

Sorry, everyone. Better get used to talking out of your butts, because we're all probably doomed... 

 
 
 

Excerpt:

As Lloyd and I wondered what to do, we felt three hands reach out and push us aside. The alien stepped forward, bent over, and spoke through his butt mouth in a perfect Japanese accent.

Lloyd and I were both majorly impressed. “Your butt speaks Japanese?”
“Yes,” he said. “I am fluent in Earth.”
“Earth? You mean like every language people have?”
“Not just people. Dogs, porcupines, caterpillars. I know every language spoken on your 
planet. I can even understand when grown-ups talk about politics.”

“Wow! You guys are geniuses!” I said.
“I have been speaking to you in adolescent boy dialect. It’s a combination of rap lyrics, 
language we picked up from your blog, and dialogue from sitcoms starring obnoxious teenagers. We on fleek, yo?”

“No one really says that anymore,” I said.

“We may need to do some updating, home slice.” Then, he extended two of his hands, holding one out to me and one to Lloyd. “Wanna know my name?” he asked.

“IAmAWeenieBurger.”
“You are?” Lloyd wondered.

“You seem pretty cool,” I said.

He stared at us confused, then burst out laughing. “Oh, right! I forgot that IAmAWeenieBurger means something different in your language. On our planet, IAmAWeenieBurger is a very common name, like Mike or Joe. Some of our finest minds are named IAmAWeenieBurger.”

From inside the stall, a toilet flushed, and out waddled the other alien. “This is my buddy,” IAmAWeenieBurger said, “Doodoofartmama.”

Lloyd laughed. “Doodoofartmama? Is that a common name on your planet, too?” “Nah,” IAmAWeenieBurger said. “His parents are a little weird.”
Doodoofartmama held up his hands for a high five, but I backed away. “Um, on our 
planet we wash our hands after going to the bathroom.”

Doodoofartmama turned toward IAmAWeenieBurger, confused, and he farted.

IAmAWeenieBurger farted back at him.
“Sorry, yo,” IAmAWeenieBurger said. “The doodoo man doesn’t speak Earth as well as I 
do, so I translated to our language.”

“You speak in farts?” Lloyd said. “Gross!”
“Well, we think it’s gross that when humans talk, everyone can see all the nasty stuff in 
your mouth,” IAmAWeenieBurger said. “Tongues? Blecch!” “Touché,” I nodded. 

“But how do you know what anybody’s saying?” Lloyd asked. “Aren’t all farts pretty much the same?”

IAmAWeenieBurger laughed so loud he farted again. “You humans really are so simple. Farts can be distinguished based on a complex assessment of pitch, tone, and duration. I should know. I studied fartguistics in buttiversary. Oh, plus they all smell different.”

“You speak in smells?”

“Yes! If I want to say, ‘I am delighted to make your acquaintance, kind sir!’ the smell that comes out is like a combination of earwax and prune juice. FRRT!”

“Ugh, nasty!”

“Or if I want to say, ‘What a lovely planet you have here, Earthlings!’ I blast out a butt bomb not unlike an elderly middle school teacher’s perfume. FRRT!”

Out came the worst stink known to humankind. It smelled exactly like my math teacher, Mrs. Schermerhorn. I started gagging, just like I did every time Mrs. Schermerhorn walked right by my desk. “How do you say ‘I think I’m going to throw up’?”

“That one actually smells like warm cinnamon buns. FRRT!” In an instant, Lloyd and I were surrounded by the sweet odor of icing-drizzled baked goodness. I would never have guessed it was produced by an alien’s rear end.

“Mmmm!” Lloyd said as he savored the scent. “You really are an advanced species!” I added. 

 
 
 
 

Buttheads From Outer Space

By: Jerry Mahoney

Release Date: March 13, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

Three winners will receive a signed paperback copy of Buttheads From Outer Space (US only).

 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

Featured Review: Emerge: The Awakening by Melissa ...
Trailer Reveal: Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Gr...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
Lily M. on Thursday, 15 March 2018 21:29

Looks cute I'm sure my niece would enjoy this book

0
Looks cute :) I'm sure my niece would enjoy this book
John on Saturday, 24 March 2018 23:03

Looks fun! Sounds fun!

0
Looks fun! Sounds fun!
Marisa Fort on Wednesday, 28 March 2018 22:27

The cover is so cute and the synopsis sounds fun!

0
The cover is so cute and the synopsis sounds fun!
Michaela Sellers on Monday, 02 April 2018 18:49

This looks and sounds so cute!

0
This looks and sounds so cute!:D
Penny Olson on Sunday, 08 April 2018 00:01

The cover and the story would be of high interest to my daughter. She loves anything with the word butt in it.

0
The cover and the story would be of high interest to my daughter. She loves anything with the word butt in it.
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 11 April 2018 20:35

The cover is hilarious and the synopsis sounds fun to read.

0
The cover is hilarious and the synopsis sounds fun to read.
wendy rinebold on Thursday, 12 April 2018 21:11

I love the cover and this book sounds perfect for my son.

0
I love the cover and this book sounds perfect for my son.
Dan Denman on Saturday, 14 April 2018 12:33

The book cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a zany, hilarious alien story.

0
The book cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a zany, hilarious alien story.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."