Spotlight on Buttheads From Outer Space by Jerry Mahoney, Plus Excerpt & Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-03-14-at-10.43.46-AM

Today we're excited to spotlight Buttheads From Outer Space by Jerry Mahoney! Read on for more about Jerry and his book, plus an excerpt, and a giveaway! 

 

Meet Jerry Mahoney!

 
 

Jerry Mahoney is the author of the series My Rotten Stepbrother Ruined Fairy Tales. He is located in the city of Los Angeles on the planet Earth, along with a husband and two children who are most likely human. His butt is just where you'd expect it to be, thank you very much. Find out more at jerrymahoneybooks.com. 

 
 
 
Meet Buttheads From Outer Space!
 
 

My best friend Lloyd and I had the perfect plan.

We started a blog to invite aliens to come to Earth and hang out―but only with us. That way, they wouldn't have to meet any boring world leaders or get cut open by scientists or anything like that. We'd just chill out, eat junk food, and play video games together. Sweet, right? And it worked! Two aliens showed up one night in the bathroom of my favorite restaurant, and we snuck them home to my room.

The problem is, they're total buttheads! Literally. They have butts on their heads, and they talk in farts. They're rude, disgusting, and they love Earth so much, they just invited 70 billion of their friends to join them here.

Oops.

Now it's up to us―two sixth graders with B-pluses in science―to save the planet from the sickest extraterrestrials in the universe. (Preferably without my parents finding out.)

Sorry, everyone. Better get used to talking out of your butts, because we're all probably doomed... 

 
 
 

Excerpt:

As Lloyd and I wondered what to do, we felt three hands reach out and push us aside. The alien stepped forward, bent over, and spoke through his butt mouth in a perfect Japanese accent.

Lloyd and I were both majorly impressed. “Your butt speaks Japanese?”
“Yes,” he said. “I am fluent in Earth.”
“Earth? You mean like every language people have?”
“Not just people. Dogs, porcupines, caterpillars. I know every language spoken on your 
planet. I can even understand when grown-ups talk about politics.”

“Wow! You guys are geniuses!” I said.
“I have been speaking to you in adolescent boy dialect. It’s a combination of rap lyrics, 
language we picked up from your blog, and dialogue from sitcoms starring obnoxious teenagers. We on fleek, yo?”

“No one really says that anymore,” I said.

“We may need to do some updating, home slice.” Then, he extended two of his hands, holding one out to me and one to Lloyd. “Wanna know my name?” he asked.

“IAmAWeenieBurger.”
“You are?” Lloyd wondered.

“You seem pretty cool,” I said.

He stared at us confused, then burst out laughing. “Oh, right! I forgot that IAmAWeenieBurger means something different in your language. On our planet, IAmAWeenieBurger is a very common name, like Mike or Joe. Some of our finest minds are named IAmAWeenieBurger.”

From inside the stall, a toilet flushed, and out waddled the other alien. “This is my buddy,” IAmAWeenieBurger said, “Doodoofartmama.”

Lloyd laughed. “Doodoofartmama? Is that a common name on your planet, too?” “Nah,” IAmAWeenieBurger said. “His parents are a little weird.”
Doodoofartmama held up his hands for a high five, but I backed away. “Um, on our 
planet we wash our hands after going to the bathroom.”

Doodoofartmama turned toward IAmAWeenieBurger, confused, and he farted.

IAmAWeenieBurger farted back at him.
“Sorry, yo,” IAmAWeenieBurger said. “The doodoo man doesn’t speak Earth as well as I 
do, so I translated to our language.”

“You speak in farts?” Lloyd said. “Gross!”
“Well, we think it’s gross that when humans talk, everyone can see all the nasty stuff in 
your mouth,” IAmAWeenieBurger said. “Tongues? Blecch!” “Touché,” I nodded. 

“But how do you know what anybody’s saying?” Lloyd asked. “Aren’t all farts pretty much the same?”

IAmAWeenieBurger laughed so loud he farted again. “You humans really are so simple. Farts can be distinguished based on a complex assessment of pitch, tone, and duration. I should know. I studied fartguistics in buttiversary. Oh, plus they all smell different.”

“You speak in smells?”

“Yes! If I want to say, ‘I am delighted to make your acquaintance, kind sir!’ the smell that comes out is like a combination of earwax and prune juice. FRRT!”

“Ugh, nasty!”

“Or if I want to say, ‘What a lovely planet you have here, Earthlings!’ I blast out a butt bomb not unlike an elderly middle school teacher’s perfume. FRRT!”

Out came the worst stink known to humankind. It smelled exactly like my math teacher, Mrs. Schermerhorn. I started gagging, just like I did every time Mrs. Schermerhorn walked right by my desk. “How do you say ‘I think I’m going to throw up’?”

“That one actually smells like warm cinnamon buns. FRRT!” In an instant, Lloyd and I were surrounded by the sweet odor of icing-drizzled baked goodness. I would never have guessed it was produced by an alien’s rear end.

“Mmmm!” Lloyd said as he savored the scent. “You really are an advanced species!” I added. 

 
 
 
 

Buttheads From Outer Space

By: Jerry Mahoney

Release Date: March 13, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

Three winners will receive a signed paperback copy of Buttheads From Outer Space (US only).

 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

Featured Review: Emerge: The Awakening by Melissa ...
Trailer Reveal: Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Gr...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
Lily M. on Thursday, 15 March 2018 21:29

Looks cute I'm sure my niece would enjoy this book

0
Looks cute :) I'm sure my niece would enjoy this book
John on Saturday, 24 March 2018 23:03

Looks fun! Sounds fun!

0
Looks fun! Sounds fun!
Marisa Fort on Wednesday, 28 March 2018 22:27

The cover is so cute and the synopsis sounds fun!

0
The cover is so cute and the synopsis sounds fun!
Michaela Sellers on Monday, 02 April 2018 18:49

This looks and sounds so cute!

0
This looks and sounds so cute!:D
Penny Olson on Sunday, 08 April 2018 00:01

The cover and the story would be of high interest to my daughter. She loves anything with the word butt in it.

0
The cover and the story would be of high interest to my daughter. She loves anything with the word butt in it.
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 11 April 2018 20:35

The cover is hilarious and the synopsis sounds fun to read.

0
The cover is hilarious and the synopsis sounds fun to read.
wendy rinebold on Thursday, 12 April 2018 21:11

I love the cover and this book sounds perfect for my son.

0
I love the cover and this book sounds perfect for my son.
Dan Denman on Saturday, 14 April 2018 12:33

The book cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a zany, hilarious alien story.

0
The book cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a zany, hilarious alien story.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."