Spotlight on B*Witch (Paige Mckenzy/Nancy Ohlin), Plus Guest Post!

111_20200716-054613_1

 Today we're excited to spotlight B*Witch (Paige McKenzy/Nancy Ohlin).

 Read on for more about Paige & Nancy, plus a guest post!

 

 

 

 

Meet Paige McKenzy & Nancy Ohlin!

      

Paige McKenzie is a millennial hyphenate: a New York Times best-selling author, YouTuber, actor, influencer, creator, artist, producer. Her first book series, The Haunting of Sunshine Girl, was on the New York Times bestseller list for over a month. Paige is constantly creating. Her Etsy shop the Homebody Guild is full of her art and designs, and she is always updating it with new creations. Paige also interacts daily with her Sunshiners across a variety of media including YouTube (where she has over half a million subscribers), FacebookTwitter, and Instagram. Paige is a founding member of Coat Tail Productions, with three projects in active development. Paige lives in Portland, Oregon, with the love of her life, a seven-pound Chihuahua named Pongo.

Nancy Ohlin was born in Tokyo and moved to the United States when she was nine. She has written, ghostwritten, or collaborated on over one hundred fiction and nonfiction books for children, teens, and adults, including her YA novels ConsentBeauty, and Always, Forever (Simon & Schuster). Most recently, she collaborated with Paige on The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl (Hachette Books), Quvenzhané Wallis on the Shai and Emmie chapter book series (Simon & Schuster), and Chloé Lukasiak on her forthcoming memoir Girl on Pointe: Chloe's Guide to Taking on the World (Bloomsbury). Learn more at nancyohlin.com and on Twitter. Nancy lives in Ithaca, NY.

 

 

 

 

 

Meet B*Witch!

A lone witch has powers. A coven has a multitude more.

New girl and secret witchl Iris just wants to get through her first day of school without a panic attack. The last thing she expects is to be taken in by a coven of three witches-soft-spoken Greta, thoughtful and musical Ridley, and fiery and spirited Binx. They may be the first witches Iris has met IRL, but their coven is not alone in their small northwestern town.

The Triad is the other coven at their school. When the Triad's not using spells to punish their exes or break up happy couples for fun, they practice dark magic. The two covens have a rivalry stretching all the way back to junior high.

When tragedy strikes and one of their own is murdered, the rival covens must band together to find out who is responsible before it's too late. Someone's anti-witch ideology has turned deadly . . . and one of them is next.

With an inclusive cast of teen witches who leap off the page with style, attitude, and charm, B*Witch is a singable read perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Mean Girls alike.
 

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

 

 

10 WITCHES WE LOVE

By Paige McKenzie and Nancy Ohlin





Here are ten not-B*Witch witches we love, in no particular order. It was really, really hard to pick just ten; next time we’ll be back with a much longer list!

 

Kiki from the movie Kiki's Delivery Service (based on the novel by Eiko Kadono). She is one of the sweetest and most complex witches out there. She struggles to find her true witch identity, and it's so pure and raw. We love her, and she will always have a special place in our hearts.

 

The Owens sisters, Sally and Gillian, from the movie Practical Magic (based on the novel by Alice Hoffman). First of all, their house alone earns them a spot on this list, plus we really want to live there, so who do we call about that? Sally and Gillian are so different from each other as witches and as women, which makes for a deep storyline with many wonderful, twisty-turny layers. 

 

Glinda and Elphaba from the musical Wicked (based on the novel by Gregory Maguire, which in turn is based on the book by L. Frank Baum and the 1939 MGM movie). Talk about a team! Pure magic is made in their story. They support each other even when they disagree. So much love.

 

Circe from the novel Circe by Madeline Miller. Most of us know Circe as the scary sorceress in the tale of Odysseus who turns his men into pigs. But Miller transforms her into an awesome and complicated character who uses her magical powers to connect with nature and animals, and to survive (and thrive) as a BA woman in a male-dominated world. A true feminist hero.

 

Sunny Nwazue from the Akata Witch books by Nnedi Okorafor. Who wouldn’t love Sunny? A 12-year-old girl born in New York City to Nigerian parents, and now living in a small town in Nigeria, she is a total outsider because of her American background and because of her albinism. But then she discovers her secret magic powers and finds a coven, and her journey (which includes Leopards, Lambs, and a magic-wielding serial killer) is breathtaking.

 

Willow and Tara from the TV series Buffy: The Vampire Slayer. We adore how magic brings them together, and how they fall in love while growing and supporting each other as witches. It’s also fascinating (and relatable and heart-breaking) when Willow becomes unhealthily addicted to magic, promises Tara she’ll give it up, breaks her promise, then uses magic to make Tara forget about this transgression because she can’t bear to lose her.  

 

And last but not least, Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter books and movies. Because we will never grow tired of listening to her correct Ron Weasley’s pronunciation of the levitation spell (“it’s levi-OH-sa, not levi-o-SAH”), or seeing her at the Yule Ball on the arm of the guy who isn’t her OTL, or watching her punch Draco Malfoy in the face because he super-deserved it.

 

 

 

B*Witch

By: Paige McKenzy/Nancy Ohlin

Publisher: Little Brown BYR

Release Date: July 7th, 2020

 

 

 

Featured Review: The Lost City (The Omte Origins #...
Featured Review: The Call of the Rift: Flight (The...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"One day, Thirty, a strange woman comes up to thirteen-year-old Anamaria and tells her she's from her future. Anamaria lives..."
Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."