Spotlight on Analiese Rising (Brenda Drake), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway!

39863558

 

 Read on for more about Brenda and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Brenda Drake!

Brenda Drake

Brenda Drake grew up the youngest of three children, an Air Force brat, and the continual new kid at school. Her fondest memories growing up is of her eccentric, Irish grandmother's animated tales, which gave her a strong love for storytelling. With kids of all ages populating Brenda's world, it was only fitting that she would choose to write stories with a bend toward the fantastical for both younger readers and the young at heart. And because she married her prince charming, there's always a romance warming the pages. Her favorite books are The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis, Kings Row by Henry Bellamann, and Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. When she's not writing, she hosts workshops and contests for writers such as Pitch Wars and Pitch Madness on her blog, and holds Twitter pitch parties on the hashtag, #PitMad. In her free time, Brenda enjoys hanging out with her family, haunting libraries, bookstores, and coffee shops, or just reading someplace quiet and not at all exotic (much to her disappointment).

 

 

 

 Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet Analiese Rising!

When a stranger gives Analiese Jordan a list of names before he dies, the last thing she expects to see is her own on it. Not. Cool. Her search for answers leads to the man’s grandson, Marek, who has dangerous secrets of his own. Both are determined to unlock the mystery of the list.

But the truth is deadly. Analiese is a descendant of the God of Death, known as a Riser, with the power to raise the dead and control them. Finding out she has hidden powers? Cool. Finding out she turns corpses into killers? No, thank you.

Now the trail plants her and Marek in the middle of a war between gods who apparently want to raise an army of the Risen, and Analiese must figure out how to save the world—from herself.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Excerpt ~

 

“To your right,” Cain mutters.

Sid glances over his shoulder. “What about it?”

Cain returns to looking out the window. “Blind spot.”

Sid slows down, and a gray smart car flies by, barely missing us.

A scowl scrunches those perfect eyebrows of his. “Next time maybe you can give me a better warning. Like some urgency in your voice.”

I lean against Marek when Sid takes a sharp turn. The warmth of his shoulder against mine causes all my nerve endings to ignite.

Shona scoots forward and wraps her arms around the front seat, resting her hands on Sid’s chest. “So what have you been up to?”

“Same as usual.” He honks the horn at a slow driver. “Partying. And more partying. However, I did go to the Philippines to see my people. Where I did some more partying.”

His people? That’s a strange way of putting it. Usually someone says they went home to visit family or friends. Maybe he doesn’t have any family. Or friends other than Shona.

“My family died ages ago,” he says as if he can read my thoughts. “I’m an orphan.”

I shift uneasily on the pleather cushion, and it makes an unpleasant noise. No one says anything. Not even a joke. If Dalton were here, he wouldn’t hold back. He’d embarrass me until I was the color of these pink seats.

We come to an abrupt stop that makes all of us jerk forward and knock back.

“We’re here,” Sid sort of sings out as if he didn’t just give everyone whiplash, slamming on the brakes.

Shona opens the door. “You still can’t brake right.”

“Girl, I got you here, didn’t I?” He leaves the Fiat running and meets us at the trunk.

The boutique hotel Shona insisted we stay at is expensive looking. It’s the kind you see in movies. The ones with vine covered stucco, romantic balconies, and potted flowers. With small cars and brightly colored Vespas weaving in and out of traffic on the road in front of it, and with street cafés and baked bread and coffee beans scenting the air around them.

Cain takes out his small and Shona’s large suitcases from the back compartment. Marek grabs mine before I can.

He places it on the asphalt. “Here you go.”

My eyes linger on his face until I realize what I’m doing and quickly turn away and grab the handle. But I don’t latch onto plastic. Marek’s hand is still there. A yelp leaves my lips, and I stumble back slightly.

“You okay?” Marek grasps my elbow to steady me, and I’m not okay. Warmth rises to my cheeks, my pulse is out of control, and I’m not sure if he realizes how touching him affects me.

But Sid does, because he gives me a knowing smile and follows it with a wink.

Grasping the handle of my bag, I tug it up the curb, getting some distance from the whole situation. I just want to be somewhere alone. Heal my embarrassment. Avoid Marek until this little incident is forgotten.

 

 

 

 

Analiese Rising

By: Brenda Drake

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Release Date: January 8th, 2019

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

One winner will receive a copy of Analiese Rising (Brenda Drake) ~ (US Only) 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: After The Green Withered (Kristin...
Featured Review: Camp Valor (Scott McEwen)

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Tiffany Engler on Thursday, 10 January 2019 15:45

I love this cover! This book sounds so good!

0
I love this cover! This book sounds so good!
Debra Branigan on Friday, 11 January 2019 09:30

The cover is gorgeous and will attract your YA readers. This sounds like a great story! Good luck with your novel.

0
The cover is gorgeous and will attract your YA readers. This sounds like a great story! Good luck with your novel.
Jayda on Saturday, 12 January 2019 19:09

The cover is so pretty and the story sounds interesting.

0
The cover is so pretty and the story sounds interesting.
Candice Gigous on Thursday, 17 January 2019 05:26

The cover is eye-catching. The synopsis is exciting. The Library Jumpers by this author was a great series and this book sounds awesome.

0
The cover is eye-catching. The synopsis is exciting. The Library Jumpers by this author was a great series and this book sounds awesome.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 27 January 2019 19:00

The cover is attractive and very cool. The synopsis sounds like an original and exciting take on zombie stories.

0
The cover is attractive and very cool. The synopsis sounds like an original and exciting take on zombie stories.
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 05 February 2019 15:34

The cover is gorgeous and the synopsis sounds exciting and unique.

0
The cover is gorgeous and the synopsis sounds exciting and unique.
Hannah on Saturday, 09 February 2019 01:06

Cover is gorgeous!

0
Cover is gorgeous!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."