Spotlight on A Time Traveler's Theory Of Relativity (Nicole Valentine), Plus Guest Post & Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

40126811._SX318_

 Today we're excited to spotlight A Time Traveler's Theory Of Relativity.

 Read on for more about Nicole, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Nicole Valentine!

 

Nicole Valentine (https://www.nicolevalentinebooks.com/) earned her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts and teaches writing workshops at the Highlights Foundation in Honesdale, PA. As the former chief technology officer at Figment.com and Space.com, Nicole loves science and as a writer enjoys pondering the times when science falls short of explanation and magic has room to sneak in. When not engaged in fictional world-building, Nicole can often be found with a hawk on her arm. A Time Traveler’s Theory of Relativity is her debut novel. She lives in Pennsylvania with her family.

 

 

 Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet A Time Traveler's Theory Of Relativity!

He believes in science, but only magic can help his mom.

Twelve-year-old Finn is used to people in his family disappearing. His twin sister, Faith, drowned when they were three years old. A few months ago, his mom abandoned him and his dad with no explanation. Finn clings to the concrete facts in his physics books—and to his best friend, Gabi—to ward off his sadness. But then his grandmother tells him a secret: the women in their family are Travelers, able to move back and forth in time. Finn's mom is trapped somewhere in the timeline, and she's left Finn a portal to find her. But to succeed, he'll have to put his trust in something bigger than logic.


 

 AmazonB & NIndiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

 

It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with all things time travel.

Here are my top five favorite time travel novels (and one novella) to get you in the mood for some serious tessering. They are not in any particular order (asking me to order them would be cruel so please don’t make me).

 

  1. Jack Finney’s Time and Again – First published in 1970, but like all good time travel novels, it’s timeless. It’s particularly good if you also happen to love New York City as Finney made the Big Apple a major character. I first read this on my bus commute up and down Fifth Avenue. The time travel was so believable I almost expected to see horses and hoop skirts when I peered out the window.
  1. Octavia Butler’s Kindred – I read it in one sitting over a weekend. This is a book I didn’t discover until I was in my twenties. First published in 1979, it’s about an African American woman who accidentally finds herself being pushed back and forth between her modern life in L.A. to a life with her enslaved ancestors on a Maryland plantation. It’s a riveting and painful read that I think it should be part of every high school curriculum.
  2. Charles de Lint’s Timeskip – This is a novella I read when I was a teenager in 1989. It stuck with me as the very first time travel story that made me feel that it was both entirely possible and magical at the same time. As the years passed, I forgot the title and author, but never forgot the story and tried valiantly to remember it for many years. I became a fan of de Lint’s other novels in the years after and read many of his works before finding Timeskip again. When I sat down with it, I had no idea it was the novella I had been looking for, but I was instantly pulled back to my teenage bedroom with my blue flowered comforter and my favorite yellow mug filled with piping hot herbal tea. It’s the closest I’ve come to real time travel.
  1. Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife – The very first time travel book I read where traveling was a genetic condition. My novel owes a great debt of inspiration to Niffenegger because I loved this notion and decided I wanted to make mine mitochondrial. (In A Time Traveler’s Theory of Relativity the ability is passed from mother to daughter.) The emotion in this novel is palpable. Do yourself a favor and never watch the movie. It can’t compete.
  2. Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time – What list would be complete without it? This book meant everything to me as a twelve-year old girl and it still does. I own a signed first edition. It was the book that told me it was okay to be the heroine and I credit it with empowering me to pursue my first career in technology.

 

 

 

 

A Time Traveler's Theory Of Relativity

Author: Nicole Valentine

Publisher: Carolrhoda Books

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

Three winners will each receive a copy of A Time Traveler's Theory Of Relativity (Nicole Valentine) ~ US Only

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Giveaway: The Beautiful (Renee Ahdieh) ~ (US Only)
Featured Review: Super Powers (T.M. Franklin)

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Sunday, 13 October 2019 19:38

The cover is nice and will attract your readers. I love the premise and cannot wait to read this one. Best wishes.

0
The cover is nice and will attract your readers. I love the premise and cannot wait to read this one. Best wishes.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 01 November 2019 13:15

The cover is okay. The synopsis, however, sounds so much fun to read with time travel, high-stakes, and suspense.

0
The cover is okay. The synopsis, however, sounds so much fun to read with time travel, high-stakes, and suspense.
Penny Olson on Saturday, 02 November 2019 01:29

The cover is eerie. The time travel synopsis sounds interesting and thought provoking.

0
The cover is eerie. The time travel synopsis sounds interesting and thought provoking.
Dan Denman on Monday, 04 November 2019 09:43

I like the design of the book cover. I like a good time travel story.

0
I like the design of the book cover. I like a good time travel story.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."