Spotlight on 20 Recipes Kids Should Know (Esme Washburn/Calista Washburn), Plus Guest Post & Giveaway! ~ (US/Canada Only)

40829699

 Today we're excited to spotlight 20 Recipes Kids Should Know.

 Read on for more about Esme Washburn & Calista Washburn, an guest post, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Esme Washburn & Calista Washburn!

ESME and CALISTA WASHBURN are sisters living in New York City. Esme, who is in middle school, is an amateur chef and cooking enthusiast. She has learned everything she knows from her grandmother. Calista, a recent high school graduate and budding photographer, loves helping out in the kitchen and eating the delicious food that Esme cooks.

 

 

 

 

Meet 20 Recipes Kids Should Know!

The perfect book for children, this fun and engaging cookbook is written and photographed by a pair of young sisters for budding chefs.

Whether they're helping stir cake batter or producing their own YouTube cooking channel, kids of all ages are getting
increasingly busy in the kitchen. This cookbook features twenty classic recipes that are fun, healthy, adaptable, and easy to prepare. From banana bread and the perfect grilled cheese to breaded chicken and apple pie, each recipe is written in a clear, accessible style that young cooks of every level will be able to follow. The author is a young chef whose love of cooking developed from her own family's food traditions like baking popovers with her grandmother and Sunday-night pizza making. By teaching kids basic recipes that can be adapted in endless ways, this book is the perfect launching pad to finding their way around the kitchen--or launching their own cooking careers.

 

 AmazonB & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Guest Post ~

 

We have a lot of tips and tricks for young chefs. Many tricks and tips are directed toward certain techniques, ingredients, recipes, etc. Here are some more general tips for safety and also for you to cook your best and most importantly to have fun in the kitchen!

  1. When you are ready to make a recipe, read the full recipe first to make sure you have all the ingredients. Take out each ingredient and put it in the order you will use it. After you have used it, put it away (that way you won’t forget to include an ingredient or use something twice!). (Cleaning up as you go is very helpful, so that you don’t get confused. The more you clean as you go the less you have to do at the end, and you can enjoy the time while you are cooking more.)
  1. When you are cooking your food, make sure to use a kitchen timer and set it to the shortest time noted in a recipe. Because different stove tops and ovens sometimes cook at different rates, many recipes give a range of cooking times. If your food isn’t done when the smallest time noted is up, you can always keep cooking, but if you overcook something you can’t go back!
  1. Use a different cutting board for different uses. We have separate ones for raw meat, vegetables, onions and garlic, and bread and cheese. If you are cutting on a large board you can use a bench scraper to move the ingredients you are chopping around easier or to move them from the board to a bowl or tray.
  1. When you are cutting something, curl your fingertips in and hold the food with your knuckles down so that you don’t cut your fingers. If you are trying to cut a hard, round vegetable or fruit like an onion, melon, or round squash, cut off the ends or just one side so that it is more stable on the cutting board and easier to cut. Never cut when your fingers or someone else’s are on the cutting board!
  1. When you are making muffins or cupcakes or popovers or anything that needs a muffin tin, don’t fill one of the corner holes/cups so that the pan is easier to handle and always use oven mitts! (We use silicone mitts, which are heat-resistant up to 500 degrees.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20 Recipes Kids Should Know

Author: Esme Washburn

Illustrator: Calista Washburn

Publisher: Prestel Junior

Release Date: April 2nd, 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

  

One winner will receive a copy of 20 Recipes Kids Should Know (Esme Washburn/Calista Washburn) ~ US Only

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Magical Creatures Academy 1: Nigh...
Featured Review: The Genie Dagger (Bethany Wicker)

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Thursday, 25 April 2019 20:38

What a fun recipe book! The recipes all sound like things I'd like to eat!

0
What a fun recipe book! The recipes all sound like things I'd like to eat!
Victoria Scott on Wednesday, 01 May 2019 15:58

I love it! My daughter is at the age where she wants to start learning to cook! This would be a great place to start!

0
I love it! My daughter is at the age where she wants to start learning to cook! This would be a great place to start!
Alyssa Annico on Monday, 06 May 2019 08:43

This has a bright, colorful cover and sounds like a great cooking book for kids!

0
This has a bright, colorful cover and sounds like a great cooking book for kids!
Erin on Wednesday, 08 May 2019 15:08

Thia looks like such a fun introductory little cookbook that my daughter and I can enjoy together! I love how colorful the cover is...and I like that it is geared towards kids!

0
Thia looks like such a fun introductory little cookbook that my daughter and I can enjoy together! I love how colorful the cover is...and I like that it is geared towards kids!
Debra Branigan on Sunday, 12 May 2019 09:09

What a great idea for kids. The cover is attractive.

0
What a great idea for kids. The cover is attractive.
Jana Leah on Friday, 17 May 2019 23:09

It would be fun to try out these recipes with my niece & nephew.

0
It would be fun to try out these recipes with my niece & nephew.
Nancy Hernandez on Saturday, 18 May 2019 16:06

I want to try these recipes and I like the cover.

0
I want to try these recipes and I like the cover.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 19 May 2019 16:39

The cover is bright and looks delicious. I want to try these recipes!

0
The cover is bright and looks delicious. I want to try these recipes!
Penny Olson on Sunday, 19 May 2019 23:40

The cover is bright and fun and the recipes sound really tasty.

0
The cover is bright and fun and the recipes sound really tasty.
Maggie on Thursday, 23 May 2019 12:05

I love how colorful it is!

0
I love how colorful it is!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Bad Guys are back for the monstrously funny 9th...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...

Latest Member Reviews

The Haunted
 
3.7
"THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."