RT Teen Day: Interviews, Info, and More!

rt-teen-day

Who's ready for this year's Romance Times's TEEN DAY? It's just around the corner.... next week! Every year RT has an amazing line up on YA authors. Geared towards teens, and open to everyone, Teen Day is the chance for YA readers to attend panels with their favorite YA authors, as well as a signing, and so much more. Find out more about this year's RT Teen Day line up, here and follow them on Facebook, here

 

Register HERE!

 

Interview with Lisa Brown Roberts:

  1. Why are you excited to attend RT Teen Day?I had a great time last year! Fun

  2. games and meeting readers is the best!

  3. Who doesn't love a good romance? Whether it's the driving force of the story or snuck off to

    the side, I'm always up for it! What appeals to you about including romance in your stories? I love writing about two people who appreciate the best in each other, who connect on multiple levels- emotional, intellectual, and physical. Also first love- first real love - is an amazing experience and so much fun to write.

  4. What are some of your favorite romance tropes? For example, I love the enemies to lovers

    trope! Friends to lovers is my favorite and what I usually write.

    I've also written "frenemies to lovers" which was fun, too.

  5. Who are some of your all time favorite fictional couples? Books, movies, comics...

    whatever! Darcy and Elizabeth- Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. Cath

    & Levi - Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Iron Man & Pepper Potts (the

    movie versions).

  6. Obviously I think Young Adult books are simply incredible. I love the variety and the quality.

    What's you're favorite part of being an author of young adult books? Writing about "firsts" - the joy and anguish of being a teenager is experience so many things for the first time. It's intense, overwhelming, and amazing. I love playing with those emotions and creating characters who grow into their "best selves" as they crash through life, as well as characters who grow from wallflowers to agents of change in their worlds. Humor and dialog are my favorite things to write, and what seems to resonate with my readers. I love hearing that my books made someone laugh out loud.

  7. If you could spend a day inside the world of any book, which would you choose and why? Pride & Prejudice. It's a classic book that arguably began the romance genre. I love the Regency time period and would love to experience it. Also- watching snooty Darcy fall for the witty Lizzie - who wouldn't want to watch that go down?

  8. What have you been reading or recommending lately? YA: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, Starflight by Melissa Landers. Adult: On Second Thought by Kristan Higgins, The Country Club Murders series by Julie Mulhern, My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella. 

 

Interview with Lucy D.:

1. Why are you excited to attend RT Teen Day?

I’ve attended RT Teen Day 3 times as a reader before becoming a published author and this is my second as an author. I’ve experienced both sides and both are equally as fun. I love mingling with the other authors and still fan girl over my faves. I especially love talking with the readers, hearing what their favorite books are and why. And the trivia and games are a blast!

2. Who doesn't love a good romance? Whether it's the driving force of the story or snuck off to the side, I'm always up for it! What appeals to you about including romance in your stories?

I’ve always gravitated toward YA romance novels. Even if a book is not my cup of tea I will still keep reading to the end because I need to know what happens to the protagonist and his/her love interest. I’m a sucker for a soft touch and a stolen kiss. No surprise that I need that same connection in my own writing.

3. What are some of your favorite romance tropes? For example, I love the enemies to lovers trope!

I also love the enemies to lovers trope but am also a big fan of the best friend to lovers and the opposite side of the tracks to lovers tropes.

4. Who are some of your all-time favorite fictional couples? Books, movies, comics... whatever!

Some of my all-time favorite fictional couples would have to be...

Rogue and Gambit from the X-MEN comics. They are not together anymore but I still have my fingers crossed.

Ariel and Eric from The Little Mermaid and Rapunzel and Flynn from Tangled because I’m seriously the biggest Disney Nerd.

Haley and Nathan from the TV show One Tree Hill. A show that should have never been cancelled in my opinion.

And last but not least, Lucinda and Daniel from the Fallen Series. They really hit me in the feels from the first book. A cursed love that lasts for generations...come on!!

5. Obviously I think Young Adult books are simply incredible. I love the variety and the quality. What's your favorite part of being an author of young adult books?

For me Young Adult novels are more relatable. I’m still a teen at heart. I am a Disney fanatic, a comic book geek, and I play board games and Lego PlayStation games on my spare time. As an adult I still experience the same frustrations of peer pressure, feeling like an outcast, not being taken seriously, and having to fight to be heard as I did some years ago, only now the school books and assignments have been replaced with corporate projects and financial budgets. It’s no surprise to me that the YA genre is where I belong and is what I love to write.

6. If you could spend a day inside the world of any book, which would you choose and why?

MAGNETIC SHIFT of course but that’s bias. I wrote it. So I would have to say I would love to spend a day in the book HAVEN by Kristi Cook. Her story is set in a school similar to the Xavier School for Gifted Youngsters in the X-MEN comics. A school for those with special abilities. That would be stupendous!

7. What have you been reading or recommending lately?

I just started reading Touching Fate by Brenda Drake and so far I’m hooked. I’m also looking forward to starting her Library Jumpers series. Soo many books...so little time!! 

 

Here's what you can look forward to at this year's RT:

0.jpg

 

0.jpg

 

0.jpg

 

0.jpg

 

0.jpg

 

0.jpg

 

0.jpg

 

 

Register HERE!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chapter 13 Read Along: Tendrils of Darkness!
Spotlight on How to Be a Supervillain by Michael F...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."