Rockstar Book Tours: Salt and Iron (October Weeks), Plus Excerpt & Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

RBTBanner


YABC is thrilled to be hosting a spot on the SALT AND IRON by October Weeks Blog Tour
hosted by Rockstar Book Tours.
Check out our post and make sure to enter the giveaway!
 
About the Book:
 
Title: SALT AND IRON
Author: October Weeks
Pub. Date: July 9, 2020
Publisher: Evernight Teen
Formats:  eBook
Pages: 98
 
Hunting monsters is not an easy business, but for Billie Shane it’s the only career she’s ever wanted. At nineteen, her aunt and uncle give her something that means more to her than money—her first solo case. But there’s a catch, and his name is Galileo Beck, a psychic training with the state to help law enforcement with supernatural cases.
 
Billie has disliked the popular young man since childhood, but unfortunately for her the case involves his three best friends. The three managed to summon a powerful demon, and though locked in the cemetery, the demon is feeding off of them in order to gain the power to free itself.
 
With a large festival coming to Eden Hollow, Billie and Galileo must work together if they want to stop not only the death of his friends, but also to save their hometown from becoming a feeding ground for a demon.
 
 
 
~ Excerpt ~

 

The holy water had burned like a son-of-a-bitch, and the area of broken skin, though small, still felt the next day as if someone had poured acid on her. The rest of her body didn’t feel much better. Bruises, a mild concussion, and the overall feeling of being hit by a Mack truck had greeted her when she woke mid-morning.

Her uncle smirked as she walked into the kitchen. “You look like crap.”

She rolled her eyes as she came to a stop near the island. “Thanks.”

“Here.” He set a plate of homemade waffles with a side of sausage in front of her. “Eat something.”

As she sat on a stool, she said, “Smells good.”

“I called your parents last night, after you’d gone to bed. Give them a call when you have a moment.”

Upon her graduation the previous year, her parents had moved back to Oregon, where they’d grown up and still had family. Rory had agreed to finish her training, and she could stay with him until she was ready to be on her own.

She had worked part time while in school, but when she’d made the decision to be a full-time hunter in New England, her only job was training. The state paid handsomely, as her uncle liked to say.

Last night had seen eight grand placed into her bank account—her cut of the hunt.

Vampires came in on the low end of the pay scale. Witches, ghosts, and werewolves ranked far higher. The biggest payday came from demons, angels, and the ancient gods.

“I have a case for you … and you probably aren’t going to like it.”

He said that so nonchalantly that Billie was certain “probably” meant she would absolutely hate it.

She raised an eyebrow and waited for him to speak.

“I got a call from Detective Ellis Beck around five o’clock this morning.” He leaned his elbows on the counter, coffee still in hand. “Apparently, four days ago, three boys decided to have a good time at the Tinsbrook Cemetery. Séance. And by boys I mean Chase, Damien, and Ulrich.”

Billie choked on her orange juice, causing it to dribble down her chin and down onto her food as she coughed. When she got control of the shock, she said, “What the hell?”

Rory handed her a paper towel to clean her face, which she happily took.

Those three names made her want to immediately say no to the case. Three out of four of the biggest assholes I grew up and went to school with.

That is the question,” Rory said. “Beck’s nephew said he saw flashes of whatever is attacking his friends through nightmares: black wings tipped with talons, long fangs from the mouth. But he’s pretty certain the beast can’t leave the cemetery.”

“Lashing out from afar,” she mumbled. Karma, you are a bitch…and damn funny. “Is he certain it’s just through nightmares? Is it syphoning their energy while they’re awake?”

“Right now, all Beck is certain of is that they are being attacked through dreams.”

Well, that narrows it down to ghosts, demons, angels, and a few dozen non-human spirits from around the globe. “You want me to investigate with you?”

He shook his head. “This is the part you won’t like.”

Billie picked her fork up again and inquired, “What won’t I like?”

Crossing his arms, he sighed heavily. “You are experienced with ghosts and demons because they are your mother’s specialty.”

Her father and Rory had mainly hunted werewolves, vampires, and other beasts of that nature, while her mother had focused on the ghosts, demons, angels, and the occasional god and goddess.  

“But Harlow isn’t trained enough in her gift to block out a strong demon or ghost, so…”

Billie suddenly began to understand where he was going. “No.”

“No what?”

“No, I am not investigating a cemetery with Galileo Beck.” I fucking refuse. “He’s an arrogant ass.”

“I can be, too, but you still work with me.”

She rolled her eyes. “Har, har.”

 
 
About October:

I’m a dark fantasy/horror writer and a reader with too many books and not enough shelves!
I live in Vermont. Autumn is my favorite season- October and November are my favorite months.
Loves: reading, writing, movies (horror, sci-fi, and fantasy especially), taking walks, fishing, and family
Obsessions: Lindt dark chocolate and the paranormal.
 
 
 
 
 
Giveaway Details:
 
1 winner will receive a $10 Amazon GC sponsored by Rockstar Book Tours, International.
 
 
 
 
Tour Schedule:
Week One:
7/27/2020
Excerpt
7/28/2020
Excerpt
7/29/2020
Excerpt
7/30/2020
Review
7/31/2020
Review
 
Week Two:
8/3/2020
Review
8/4/2020
Review
8/5/2020
Review
8/6/2020
Review
8/7/2020
Review

 

Spotlight on The Mall (Megan McCafferty), Guest Po...
Featured Review: 10 Things I Hate About Pinky (Dim...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"