Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones)

THE-HEARTS-WE-SOLD
Hello! Today YABC is hosting the blog tour stop for Emily Lloyd-Jones's The Hearts We Sold!
 
Read on for more about Emily, an interview and a tour-wide giveaway! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet Emily Lloyd-Jones!
 

Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Illusive is her debut novel.

 

 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Meet The Hearts We Sold!

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.


With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

In THE HEARTS WE SOLD, author Lloyd-Jones returns with a complex, thought-provoking Faustian tale for the modern age that will capture your heart. With horror elements and fantasy elements set in a recognizable, semirealistic world, THE HEARTS WE SOLD is a great fit for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black. The book also

features a diverse breadth of topics, ranging from sexuality, transgender transitions, race, and familial abuse.

 

 Amazon | B&N | iBooks | TBD | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

I’m infamously bad at titling things. Mine usually consist of bad puns of some sort. In this book’s case, the working title was THAT HEART BOOK until I came up with something I actually liked.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There are a few scenes I love in this book but probably my favorite is when Dee, the main character, loses her heart. It’s a very emotional scene; Dee has to stare down the dangers she might face and decide if she truly wants to venture into that unknown. That scene also introduces one of my favorite characters, and there’s some delicious banter.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That no book is going to be perfect—and that’s all right. I’m always striving to create the best story I can, and every book turns out to be a little different than I envisioned. But that’s okay. Art can be a little messy and still be beautiful.

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

That title font! It’s so gorgeous. I love the embroidered look of it.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017-2018?

Gah. I’m supposed to choose just one? How about three? THE CRUEL PRINCE by Holly Black, YOU DON’T KNOW ME BUT I KNOW YOU by Rebecca Barrow, and THE BELLES by Dhonielle Clayton.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

With any luck, more writing!

 

YABC:   Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Fun fact—there were originally two male side characters. But one of them seemed more interesting than the other, while the other one had necessary plot skills. I was stumped… until I mashed them into one character. Voila! The character problems were solved! And as an inside joke, I ended up combining their names, as well.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

When I’m drafting, my answer would be “revising.” When I’m revising, my answer would be “drafting.” Distance makes the heart grow fonder, right? But seriously, I enjoy both for different reasons. Drafting is often where the magic happens—where the ideas run wild and scamper all over the pages. But revising is where the ideas are strengthened so they can stand on their own.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

To remember utterly useless facts with perfect recall, yet forget the name of a person I’ve met at least ten times.

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m a cat lover, and I’ve always loved supporting shelters or organizations that help animals. The Cat Town Café in Oakland, California, is a wonderful organization that helps cats find homes. Also, you can sip coffee and play with cats! (http://www.cattownoakland.org/cat-town-cafe/)

 

 

 

 

 

The Hearts We Sold

By: Emily Lloyd-Jones

Publishing Date: August 8th, 2017 

Publisher: Little, Brown Books For Young Readers

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 Three winners will receive a copy of The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones) US Only

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

8/7/2017- Owl Always Be ReadingExcerpt

8/8/2017- When Books Defy GravityReview

8/9/2017- YA Books CentralInterview

8/10/2017- Take Me Away To A Great ReadReview

8/11/2017- Angelic Book ReviewsInterview

Week Two:

8/14/2017- The Layaway DragonReview

8/15/2017- Two Chicks on BooksGuest Post

8/16/2017- Book BriefsReview

8/17/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview

8/18/2017- Stories & SweetiesReview

 

 

 

 

Author Chat with Chandler Baker (This is Not the E...
Featured Review: The Disappearances (Emily Bain Mu...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
Kristy Petree on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 14:01

This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover.

0
This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

American Betiya
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A luminous story of a young artist grappling with first...
The Story Blanket
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Babba Zarrah lives in a tiny village in the snow-covered...
Now That Night is Near
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's bedtime, and across the land everyone is settling down...
Mommy Loves You
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With heart-shaped lift-the-flaps and a surprise mirror at the end,...
Calm Bunny (Yoga Tots)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charming illustrations and step-by-step instructions take little ones through a...
The Problem with Pierre
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The differences between Bertram and his neighbor Alan were never...
Noisy Tractor (I Can Learn)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love to press the soft, silicone buttons on...
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Step into an opulent world filled with risk, romance, and...
Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...

Latest Member Reviews

American Betiya
 
5.0
"AMERICAN BETIYA is a breathtaking contemporary read about identity, family, and racism. Rani is an Indian American with dreams of..."
The Story Blanket
 
5.0
"‘The Story Blanket’ by Ferida Wolff and Harriet May Savitz, illustrated by Elena Odriozola, is the story of Babba Zarrah,..."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
4.5
"‘My Best Friend Prince Charming’ by Cindy Ray Hale tells the story of Ryker and Shannon, two best friends who..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
" The Story: Willow is a figure skater who has been sidelined from her team by an injury...."
Now That Night is Near
 
4.0
"NOW THAT NIGHT IS NEAR is a lovely poem in a picture book about going to sleep. A cat travels..."
Mommy Loves You
 
4.5
"MOMMY LOVES YOU is a sweet board book of love between mother and child. The book features mother and baby..."
Calm Bunny (Yoga Tots)
 
4.0
"CALM BUNNY is a colorful board book that walks young children through some simple yoga poses to help promote focus..."
The Problem with Pierre
 
4.5
"THE PROBLEM WITH PIERRE is a sweet picture book about a picky cat, good friends, and problem-solving. Bertram and Alan..."
Noisy Tractor (I Can Learn)
 
4.3
"NOISY TRACTOR is a cute board book with an interactive element that presents some farm-themed basics. Each page features some..."
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
"RAVAGE THE DARK is a satisfying conclusion to a YA fantasy duology. In this sequel, we begin with Cayo, Amaya,..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"One day, Thirteen-year-old Anamaria has an encounter from Thirty, a strange woman who insists she's from the future...."
Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."