Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: Illuminae (Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman)

unnamed
Hello! Today YABC is hosting the blog tour stop for Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman's Illuminae!
Read on for more about the authors, an interview, and a tour-wide giveaway!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman!
 
 
Amie Kaufman is the New York Times bestselling co-author of These Broken Stars and This Shattered World, and Illuminae, the first in a new series starting in 2015. She writes science fiction and fantasy for teens, and her favourite procrastination techniques involve chocolate, baking, sailing, excellent books and TV, plotting and executing overseas travel, and napping.

She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband, their rescue dog, and her considerable library. She is represented by Tracey Adams of Adams Literary.
 
 
 

 

Jay Kristoff is the award-winning author of THE LOTUS WAR trilogy, a Japanese-inspired steampunk fantasy. Part 3, ENDSINGER, is out now. He's also co-author of the upcoming ILLUMINAE (with Amie Kaufman), a YA Sci-Fi... thing, to be released by Knopf/Random House in 2015, and NEVERNIGHT, the first part of a new fantasy trilogy kicking off in 2016.

Jay is 6’7 and has approximately 13380 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell.

He does not believe in happy endings.

 

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Illuminae!

It certainly filled the Battlestar Galactica-shaped hole in my heart.- --Victoria Aveyard, bestselling author of The Red Queen

Read the New York Times bestselling blockbuster that critics are calling -out-of-this-world awesome.- The first in an epic sci-fi series unlike anything else out there.

Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the worst thing she'd ever been through. That was before her planet was invaded. Now, with enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra are forced to fight their way onto one of the evacuating craft, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But the warship could be the least of their problems. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their biggest threat; and nobody in charge will say what's really going on. As Kady plunges into a web of data hacking to get to the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: Ezra.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents--including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more--Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

 

Amazon * Barnes & Noble * Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

The book started as a dream. Amie dreamed we were writing an email book together, but in the dream she couldn’t remember what the book was about. Awkward, no? After we talked about it (post-dream), we decided the idea was so crazy it might work. But the more we brainstormed, the more we realized we didn’t need to limit ourselves to email. We could really incorporate any document we could think of. And once we decided AIDAN would be a narrator, and that it’s madness would physically alter the way the data appeared on the page, that gave us a license to go crazy.

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

For Amie it’s Kady, because soooo much snark and sass. She was too much fun to write. And Kady’s a very real character, full of uncertainties and failings, even as she’s pulling off some thrilling heroics. That combination was fantastic to write.

For Jay it’s AIDAN, because the deeper you go into the artificial intelligence’s way of thinking, the twistier things become. Throughout the book, AIDAN wrestles with some deeply philosophical questions, and the chance to explore those—and utterly confuse readers about whether they were supposed to hate AIDAN or cheer for it or do something else entirely—was incredibly rewarding.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. Titles are hard. We were calling it “The Thing” for a long while, because we couldn’t think of name. We ended up making up a word entirely after Jay went to a Tool concert, only to find out a year and a half later that it’s actually a real word Latin.

 

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

We could give you a list, but one of the best times we had during writing the book was writing the instant message conversations between Ezra and Kady. We’d start out with a loose idea, like “they have a fight” and ad-lib from there. This meant we were always surprising each other with twists, jokes, punches to the feels, that kind of thing. So when we look at those, we really see what it meant to collaborate together. (1, 2, 3… awwwwww!)

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That the success of any book is due to a lot of hard work by a lot of people, and a lot of luck. ILLUMINAE wouldn’t be the book it is without the incredible team we had behind us, from our agents and editors, production, sales, marketing, design, all the booksellers and bloggers and vloggers and bookstagrammers who got involved and spread the word—honestly, we are so grateful and lucky to have such an awesome crew along for the ride!

 

 

 

 

Illuminae

By: Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

Publishing Date: April 25th, 2017 

Publisher: Ember

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 Three winners will receive a paperback copy of Illuminae (Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman)!

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

 

Week One:

4/24/2017- A Gingerly ReviewRe-Post-Review

4/25/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview

4/26/2017- Mary Had a Little Book Blog Blogger Content

4/27/2017- YA and WineReview

4/28/2017-Such a Novel IdeaReview

Week Two:

5/1/2017- YA BibliophileInterview

5/2/2017- Owl Always Be ReadingRe-Post-Review

5/3/2017- Book BriefsReview

5/4/2017- BookHounds YARe-Post Review or Blogger Content

5/5/2017- Novel Novice- Interview

Week Three:

5/8/2017- Page Turners BlogRe-Post Review or Blogger Content

5/9/2017- YA Books Central- Interview

5/10/2017- Lisa Loves LiteratureReview

5/11/2017- Two Chicks on Books- Interview

5/12/2017- Tales of the Ravenous ReaderRe-Post Review or Blogger Content

 

 

Author Chat with Alys Arden (The Romeo Catchers), ...
What's New in YA ~ May 9th, 2017

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"One day, Thirty, a strange woman comes up to thirteen-year-old Anamaria and tells her she's from her future. Anamaria lives..."
Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."