Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: Hear The Wolves (Victoria Scott)

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: Hear The Wolves (Victoria Scott)

 

HEAR THE WOLVES

Author: Victoria Scott

Pub. Date: March 28, 2017

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Pages: 240

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

 

It’s survival of the strongest in a contemporary, girl-versus-wild middle-grade debut from Fire & Flood author Victoria Scott!

Sloan is a hunter.

So she shouldn’t be afraid of anything. But ever since her mom left the family and she lost hearing in one ear in a blizzard, it’s been hard to talk to people, and near-impossible to go anywhere or do anything without her dad or big sister within eyesight — it makes her too scared to be on her own.

When they leave her home alone for what should only be two nights, she’s already panicked. Then the snow starts falling and doesn’t stop. One of her neighbors is hurt in an accident. And the few people still left in Rusic need to make it to the river and the boat that’s tied there — their only way to get to a doctor from their isolated Alaska town.

But the woods are icy cold, and the wolves are hungry. Sloan and her group are running out of food, out of energy, and out of time. That’s when the wolves start hunting them . .

 

 

 

Find it: 

Amazon *Barnes & Noble *iBooks *Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Meet Victoria Scott!

Victoria Scott is the author of eight novels including Titans, Fire & Flood, Salt & Stone, the Dante Walker trilogy, Hear the Wolves (March 2017), and Violet Grenade (May 2017). She is published by Scholastic and Entangled Teen, and is represented by Sara Crowe of Pippin Properties.

 

Victoria’s latest novel, Titans, received two starred reviews, and Fire & Flood has been selected as a 2017 Spirit of Texas Reading Program book. Victoria’s novels have been bought and translated in fourteen foreign markets. The author currently resides in Philadelphia, and loves hearing from her readers.

 


Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:   Where did the inspiration for Hear the Wolves come from?


It actually came from a dream! I was watching the news before bed, and they were covering a blizzard that was expected to hit the East Coast. My brain kept buzzing around all that snow, and people being trapped in their homes. In my dream, the snow kept falling, and falling…and then the wolves came.

 

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in Hear the Wolves?


My favorite character has to be the main character, Sloan. She’s been through so much at such a young age, and yet she finds the courage and strength to face big obstacles (and sharp teeth!) in order to help an injured neighbor, and herself.

 

 

 

YABC:   Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?


There’s a particular scene where the characters have to cross an icy pond that’s pretty brutal. That scene was a white-knuckler for me!

 

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title Hear the Wolves or the words themselves?


The title! For this book, I really needed that title to know where I was going with the story. Many times, publishers will change titles to better market the book. But for this one, the title stuck from idea to finished book. I was thrilled!

 

 

 

YABC:   What scene in Hear the Wolves are you most proud of, and why?


The ending! Sloan has a lone moment of bravery in which she faces her fears, both internal and external, and it made me brilliantly satisfied to write.

 

 

 

YABC:   What do you like most about the cover of Hear the Wolves?


Can I say everything?! The designer, Nina Goffi, hand drew every single part of the cover, and it blew away every expectation I had for it. The colors, the wolf, the jagged snowflakes, the lettering…it’s absolutely stunning.

 

 

 

YABC:   What was your favorite book you read in 2016?


I read an outstanding middle grade novel called The Wolf Hollow that I highly recommend! It has great, twisted characters and a fantastic setting. A must-read!  

 

 

 

YABC:   What’s next for you?


I have a young adult novel coming out in May called Violet Grenade. It’s a psychological thriller that I’m really excited about!

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

Three winners will receive a copy of Hear The Wolves (Victoria Scott) ~ (US Only)

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

3/20/2017- YA Books Central- Interview

3/21/2017- Just CommonlyReview

3/22/2017- Falling For YAGuest Post

3/23/2017- MEREADALOTReview

3/24/2017- BookHounds YAInterview

Week Two:

3/27/2017- A Backwards StoryReview

3/28/2017- A Gingerly ReviewExcerpt

3/29/2017- Book BriefsReview

3/30/2017- Mundie MomsInterview

3/31/2017- Library of a Book WitchReview

 

Featured Review: Our Own Private Universe (Robin T...
Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
Heidi Wong on Monday, 20 March 2017 12:58

The book seems interesting, I can't wait to read it.

0
The book seems interesting, I can't wait to read it.
John on Monday, 20 March 2017 19:36

Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!

0
Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!
Lily M. on Saturday, 01 April 2017 01:47

This book sounds intriguing ?

0
This book sounds intriguing ?

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."