Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: Hear The Wolves (Victoria Scott)

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: Hear The Wolves (Victoria Scott)

 

HEAR THE WOLVES

Author: Victoria Scott

Pub. Date: March 28, 2017

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Pages: 240

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

 

It’s survival of the strongest in a contemporary, girl-versus-wild middle-grade debut from Fire & Flood author Victoria Scott!

Sloan is a hunter.

So she shouldn’t be afraid of anything. But ever since her mom left the family and she lost hearing in one ear in a blizzard, it’s been hard to talk to people, and near-impossible to go anywhere or do anything without her dad or big sister within eyesight — it makes her too scared to be on her own.

When they leave her home alone for what should only be two nights, she’s already panicked. Then the snow starts falling and doesn’t stop. One of her neighbors is hurt in an accident. And the few people still left in Rusic need to make it to the river and the boat that’s tied there — their only way to get to a doctor from their isolated Alaska town.

But the woods are icy cold, and the wolves are hungry. Sloan and her group are running out of food, out of energy, and out of time. That’s when the wolves start hunting them . .

 

 

 

Find it: 

Amazon *Barnes & Noble *iBooks *Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Meet Victoria Scott!

Victoria Scott is the author of eight novels including Titans, Fire & Flood, Salt & Stone, the Dante Walker trilogy, Hear the Wolves (March 2017), and Violet Grenade (May 2017). She is published by Scholastic and Entangled Teen, and is represented by Sara Crowe of Pippin Properties.

 

Victoria’s latest novel, Titans, received two starred reviews, and Fire & Flood has been selected as a 2017 Spirit of Texas Reading Program book. Victoria’s novels have been bought and translated in fourteen foreign markets. The author currently resides in Philadelphia, and loves hearing from her readers.

 


Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:   Where did the inspiration for Hear the Wolves come from?


It actually came from a dream! I was watching the news before bed, and they were covering a blizzard that was expected to hit the East Coast. My brain kept buzzing around all that snow, and people being trapped in their homes. In my dream, the snow kept falling, and falling…and then the wolves came.

 

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in Hear the Wolves?


My favorite character has to be the main character, Sloan. She’s been through so much at such a young age, and yet she finds the courage and strength to face big obstacles (and sharp teeth!) in order to help an injured neighbor, and herself.

 

 

 

YABC:   Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?


There’s a particular scene where the characters have to cross an icy pond that’s pretty brutal. That scene was a white-knuckler for me!

 

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title Hear the Wolves or the words themselves?


The title! For this book, I really needed that title to know where I was going with the story. Many times, publishers will change titles to better market the book. But for this one, the title stuck from idea to finished book. I was thrilled!

 

 

 

YABC:   What scene in Hear the Wolves are you most proud of, and why?


The ending! Sloan has a lone moment of bravery in which she faces her fears, both internal and external, and it made me brilliantly satisfied to write.

 

 

 

YABC:   What do you like most about the cover of Hear the Wolves?


Can I say everything?! The designer, Nina Goffi, hand drew every single part of the cover, and it blew away every expectation I had for it. The colors, the wolf, the jagged snowflakes, the lettering…it’s absolutely stunning.

 

 

 

YABC:   What was your favorite book you read in 2016?


I read an outstanding middle grade novel called The Wolf Hollow that I highly recommend! It has great, twisted characters and a fantastic setting. A must-read!  

 

 

 

YABC:   What’s next for you?


I have a young adult novel coming out in May called Violet Grenade. It’s a psychological thriller that I’m really excited about!

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

Three winners will receive a copy of Hear The Wolves (Victoria Scott) ~ (US Only)

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

3/20/2017- YA Books Central- Interview

3/21/2017- Just CommonlyReview

3/22/2017- Falling For YAGuest Post

3/23/2017- MEREADALOTReview

3/24/2017- BookHounds YAInterview

Week Two:

3/27/2017- A Backwards StoryReview

3/28/2017- A Gingerly ReviewExcerpt

3/29/2017- Book BriefsReview

3/30/2017- Mundie MomsInterview

3/31/2017- Library of a Book WitchReview

 

Featured Review: Our Own Private Universe (Robin T...
Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
Heidi Wong on Monday, 20 March 2017 12:58

The book seems interesting, I can't wait to read it.

0
The book seems interesting, I can't wait to read it.
John on Monday, 20 March 2017 19:36

Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!

0
Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!
Lily M. on Saturday, 01 April 2017 01:47

This book sounds intriguing ?

0
This book sounds intriguing ?

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."