#ReadISLA Flashback: Lola And The Boy Next Door

#ReadISLA Flashback: Lola And The Boy Next Door

 

Hey guys, today we're hanging out with Lola and Cricket!

b2ap3_thumbnail_16101168.jpg

 

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion...she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit--more sparkly, more fun, more wild--the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket--a gifted inventor--steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

 

*Review originally posted in October 2011* 

Lololololo-la! Sorry, can't help but hear the Kinks song in my head each time I hear the name, see the title...you get the picture. I thoroughly enjoyed ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS and was really looking forward to LOLA and I was not disappointed!

Once again author, Stephanie Perkins has created unique characters full of heart, passion and who are just plain fun to read! LOLA has all the love and heart pounding romance that ANNA did but with a couple of interesting twists thrown in. There's also a few unexpected guests who had me squealing with delight and I DO NOT squeal. (Really, I don't) Plus, Lola has not one, not two, but three cute boys... T-H-R-E-E! Let's take a peak at them shall we?

If you could take a rainbow, a few rays of sunshine, some shooting stars (for their sparkle factor), and maybe even a snowflake or two, mixed them all together and shook them out, Lola is what would you get. She's bright, colorful, full of life and has a sparkle that's all her own. 

Max is our resident rocker bad-boy. What makes him bad? Well, for starters, he's a "few" years older than Lola. Her two Dads aren't too thrilled with the idea of him but then again they're dads. He's cute, he sings and writes music, has multiple tattoos and engages in less desirable behavior (according to dear old "Dads) which, of course, makes him a total chick magnet.

Cricket is Lola's neighbor and childhood friend. He's not only cute, nice and super intelligent (he invents cool stuff like Barbie elevators) but he's tall - really, really tall. He's also the twin brother of Calliope Bell (aka figure skater extraordinaire/mean girl). Lola's parents like Cricket and there's a bit of history between he and Lola which isn't all happy, happy sunshine but no biggie, because he's the very definition of "Tall drink of water". Thirsty much? Yes.I.Am!

Whose the third cute guy? Well, now, that would just spoil the fun so you'll have to read it for yourself. *wink* *wink*

Lola struggles with making the right choices sometimes as a way to protect herself or those around her from getting hurt. This is familiar territory for her considering she's had her fair share of pain either from her mother's behavior or for being ostracized for her appearance. What she learns is that in order to be true to yourself, you have to "be" yourself, regardless of what others think...you have to live fully and without fear. (You wanna wear a pink wig, a sparkly tutu and combat boots? You go, girl!) 

She also discovers that some things are worth the risk if you're willing to give it a chance. Even if it's a second, or a third chance and she finds that when it comes to love, sometimes you have to go back to the start in order to cross the finish line.

 

LOLA chapter sample

 

 

GIVEAWAY

3 winners will win one of these ANNA, LOLA, ISLA button packs.

U.S. Only

b2ap3_thumbnail_ISLAbutton.jpg

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Map Reveal: Winterspell by Claire Legrand + Giveaw...
YA Authors as YAs: The Megan Whitmer Edition + Giv...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Vivien (website) on Monday, 21 July 2014 12:44

This is the first contemporary that I fell head over heels!! Utterly amazing.

0
This is the first contemporary that I fell head over heels!! Utterly amazing.
Guest - AJ Pine (website) on Monday, 21 July 2014 22:23

Etienne St. Clair. British accent. Speaks French. Buys Neruda poetry.

0
Etienne St. Clair. British accent. Speaks French. Buys Neruda poetry.
Guest - nardos on Monday, 21 July 2014 22:45

Because it amazing, its was my first stand alone romantic ya book and of course the lovable characters

0
Because it amazing, its was my first stand alone romantic ya book and of course the lovable characters
Kara (website) on Tuesday, 22 July 2014 11:58

God, I love Anna and the French Kiss. The book gave a little knowledge & laughter. Anna was a character w/ faults, but I couldn't get mad at her. Her career choice was unique & OCD ways were cute. St. Clair and Anna kind of balanced each other out. I'm doing my best not to give spoilers here, but I love that they picked each other up in hard situations. They just clique and the romance didn't feel forced. I also loved she was pushing friendship first, so we felt their bond was stronger. I loved Anna & hope to love Isla even more.

0
God, I love Anna and the French Kiss. The book gave a little knowledge & laughter. Anna was a character w/ faults, but I couldn't get mad at her. Her career choice was unique & OCD ways were cute. St. Clair and Anna kind of balanced each other out. I'm doing my best not to give spoilers here, but I love that they picked each other up in hard situations. They just clique and the romance didn't feel forced. I also loved she was pushing friendship first, so we felt their bond was stronger. I loved Anna & hope to love Isla even more.
Jen Bruce (website) on Wednesday, 23 July 2014 10:57

I loved how quirky and inside her own head Anna was. How she didn't want to complicate things with her new set of friends, so she just suffered her attraction to St. Clair in silence. Such a cute story! And the French setting...can't forget that!

0
I loved how quirky and inside her own head Anna was. How she didn't want to complicate things with her new set of friends, so she just suffered her attraction to St. Clair in silence. Such a cute story! And the French setting...can't forget that!
Guest - Samantha Lashley (website) on Wednesday, 23 July 2014 19:49

What's not to love? Boy with foreign accent, the setting, the friends. I loved everything. Anna was so cute and quirky and I love rereading this book.

0
What's not to love? Boy with foreign accent, the setting, the friends. I loved everything. Anna was so cute and quirky and I love rereading this book.
L (website) on Friday, 25 July 2014 21:23

haven't read it yet

0
haven't read it yet

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."