Press Release: David Levithan Awarded Chicago Tribune Young Adult Literary Award

ct-young-adult-20170523

DAVID LEVITHAN AWARDED CHICAGO TRIBUNE YOUNG ADULT LITERARY AWARD

Award to Be Presented at the 2018 Printers Row Lit Fest

Chicago, IL – March 14, 2018 The Chicago Tribune announced today that their 2018 Young Adult Literary Award winner will be David Levithan, author of many groundbreaking, bestselling works which explore a wide range of teen challenges and celebrate our differences as humans. His novels include BOY MEETS BOY (2003; NICK AND NORAH’S INFINITE PLAYLIST (2006); WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON (2010); EVERY DAY (2012); HOLD ME CLOSER (2015); and YOU KNOW ME WELL (2016). Levithan will be honored at the 2018 Printers Row Lit Fest on Saturday, June 9, 2018.

“The Chicago Tribune has a longstanding history of celebrating literary innovators,” said Chicago Tribune Publisher and Editor-in-Chief Bruce Dold. “We are thrilled to recognize David Levithan for his extraordinary work and keen insight into the lives of young adults. We applaud his ability to connect with readers and touch on themes that resonate so closely with adolescents today.”

The Chicago Tribune Young Adult Literary Award honors an author whose work is aimed at a young adult audience, addresses themes especially relevant to adolescents, inspires young readers, and champions literacy. Past winners have included R.L. Stine, Lois Lowry, James Patterson, John Greene, Judy Blume, and LeVar Burton. Levithan was scheduled to be receive the award at the 2017 Printers Row Lit Fest but was unable to attend due to an eye injury sustained that week.

When asked about writing LGBT characters for the YA audience, Levithan says, “It’s important to have a range of LGBTQIA+ voices in YA literature because there is a range of LGBTQIA+ experiences in life. Every teen deserves to be represented in some way in the books he or she or they or ze reads. It’s as simple as that.”

Levithan, who is also an editorial director at Scholastic Corporation and the founding editor of the Scholastic young adult imprint PUSH, has written 23 novels to date, both as a solo author and in collaborations with John Green, Andrea Cremer, Nina LaCour, Rachel Cohn, David Ozanich and Chris Van Etten, and illustrator Brian Selznick.

The Printers Row Lit Fest, now entering its 34th year, is the Midwest’s largest literary event. Hundreds of authors and booksellers appear over the two-day street festival, attracting more than 100,000 attendees. The festival takes place on Dearborn Street, from Harrison Street to Polk Avenue, rounding the corner on Polk and continuing to State Street, with indoor programming at the Harold Washington Library Center, Grace Place, and Jones College Prep High School. The festival is free and open to the public, as is the majority of programming.

The Printers Row Lit Fest is made possible by the Chicago Tribune Media Group, a diversified media, marketing and advertising solutions company dedicated to serving communities across Chicagoland for over 175 years. CTMG’s robust portfolio includes Pulitzer Prize-
winning
Chicago Tribune, six daily suburban publications, including the Daily Southtown, Post- Tribune, The Beacon-News, Naperville Sun, The Courier-News, Lake County News-Sun, and over 30 weekly community publications. Additional CTMG brands include Spanish-language publication, Hoy; leading food and entertainment tabloid RedEye; and Chicago

Magazine. CTMG is also made up of various products and services including Tribune Events Group and Tribune Content Agency.

Lit Fest is sponsored by COUNTRY Financial, C-SPAN, and the Chicago Public Library. 

Author Chat with Farrah Penn (Twelve Steps to Norm...
Spotlight on The Secrets We Bury by Stacie Ramey, ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."