Press Release: David Levithan Awarded Chicago Tribune Young Adult Literary Award

ct-young-adult-20170523

DAVID LEVITHAN AWARDED CHICAGO TRIBUNE YOUNG ADULT LITERARY AWARD

Award to Be Presented at the 2018 Printers Row Lit Fest

Chicago, IL – March 14, 2018 The Chicago Tribune announced today that their 2018 Young Adult Literary Award winner will be David Levithan, author of many groundbreaking, bestselling works which explore a wide range of teen challenges and celebrate our differences as humans. His novels include BOY MEETS BOY (2003; NICK AND NORAH’S INFINITE PLAYLIST (2006); WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON (2010); EVERY DAY (2012); HOLD ME CLOSER (2015); and YOU KNOW ME WELL (2016). Levithan will be honored at the 2018 Printers Row Lit Fest on Saturday, June 9, 2018.

“The Chicago Tribune has a longstanding history of celebrating literary innovators,” said Chicago Tribune Publisher and Editor-in-Chief Bruce Dold. “We are thrilled to recognize David Levithan for his extraordinary work and keen insight into the lives of young adults. We applaud his ability to connect with readers and touch on themes that resonate so closely with adolescents today.”

The Chicago Tribune Young Adult Literary Award honors an author whose work is aimed at a young adult audience, addresses themes especially relevant to adolescents, inspires young readers, and champions literacy. Past winners have included R.L. Stine, Lois Lowry, James Patterson, John Greene, Judy Blume, and LeVar Burton. Levithan was scheduled to be receive the award at the 2017 Printers Row Lit Fest but was unable to attend due to an eye injury sustained that week.

When asked about writing LGBT characters for the YA audience, Levithan says, “It’s important to have a range of LGBTQIA+ voices in YA literature because there is a range of LGBTQIA+ experiences in life. Every teen deserves to be represented in some way in the books he or she or they or ze reads. It’s as simple as that.”

Levithan, who is also an editorial director at Scholastic Corporation and the founding editor of the Scholastic young adult imprint PUSH, has written 23 novels to date, both as a solo author and in collaborations with John Green, Andrea Cremer, Nina LaCour, Rachel Cohn, David Ozanich and Chris Van Etten, and illustrator Brian Selznick.

The Printers Row Lit Fest, now entering its 34th year, is the Midwest’s largest literary event. Hundreds of authors and booksellers appear over the two-day street festival, attracting more than 100,000 attendees. The festival takes place on Dearborn Street, from Harrison Street to Polk Avenue, rounding the corner on Polk and continuing to State Street, with indoor programming at the Harold Washington Library Center, Grace Place, and Jones College Prep High School. The festival is free and open to the public, as is the majority of programming.

The Printers Row Lit Fest is made possible by the Chicago Tribune Media Group, a diversified media, marketing and advertising solutions company dedicated to serving communities across Chicagoland for over 175 years. CTMG’s robust portfolio includes Pulitzer Prize-
winning
Chicago Tribune, six daily suburban publications, including the Daily Southtown, Post- Tribune, The Beacon-News, Naperville Sun, The Courier-News, Lake County News-Sun, and over 30 weekly community publications. Additional CTMG brands include Spanish-language publication, Hoy; leading food and entertainment tabloid RedEye; and Chicago

Magazine. CTMG is also made up of various products and services including Tribune Events Group and Tribune Content Agency.

Lit Fest is sponsored by COUNTRY Financial, C-SPAN, and the Chicago Public Library. 

Author Chat with Farrah Penn (Twelve Steps to Norm...
Spotlight on The Secrets We Bury by Stacie Ramey, ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."