Author Guest Post with J.R. Stewart

Author Guest Post with J.R. Stewart

 

 

Hello YABCers! It’s a pleasure to “meet” you.

 

Last week, my publisher sent me an email inquiring if I would write a guest post for YA Books Central and promote my new YA/dystopian book, Nirvana.

 

One problem: I hate promoting stuff so I’m going to get that out of the way first so I can talk about what’s really on my mind:

The Hunger Games.

 

Until the end the day, Nirvanawill be just $3.99 on Amazon for Cyber Monday.

 

I’m also supposed to let you know that I will be doing an Ask Me Anything (AMA) on Friday, December 4, 2015, from 2‐4 pm on the r/books subreddit. So, if you have any questions on topics related to the consequences of virtual reality, the decline of the bee population, or anything I write about in Nirvana, please join me there.

 

Okay, let's get back to The Hunger Games.

 

Yes, that’s right. Despite all of my corporate and government projects that keep me quite busy, the only thing I'm thinking about lately is The Hunger Games. Is it because the final film, Mockingjay Part II, came out last Friday?

 

 

Absolutely not!

 

With Nirvana receiving four and five star reviews, some reviewers have compared it to

George Orwell’s 1984 (I'm flattered!)

 

 

The Matrix (great films),

 

 

and, perhaps most quizzically, The Hunger Games.

 

I get it. There's a dystopian element to The Hunger Games and Nirvana.

 

Now, I’ll admit my knowledge of The Hunger Games isn't as extensive as yours might be. I have never read the books, nor seen the movies. I spend a lot of time in front of my computer! However, it is my understanding that the books and films depict a world run by a monarchical government that requires each “district” to choose a female and male youth to fight to the death in the annual Hunger Games event. The last person standing is crowned the victor (and gets to live).

 

Could events described in The Hunger Games happen in our lifetime? I hope not. The majority of us live in a modern society, where violence isn't the only answer. In Nirvana, however, I write about very real issues ‐ ones that we will need to confront in our lifetime. The Hunger Games is completely fictional while Nirvana, through a fictional cast of characters, is grounded in modern day truths.

 

How do I know this? Well, I research these "modern truths" every day. The technology described in Nirvana does exist. I've seen it and I've used it ‐ that "floating sensation" didn't just come from anywhere! And, most importantly, I've seen the damage that it can cause, both psychologically and socially. Hexagon, the government institution featured in Nirvana, is intended to shed light on what may happen once this virtual reality technology falls into the wrong hands.page1image21968 page1image22128 page1image22288

The second modern truth I touch on in Nirvana is the decline of the bee population. It's very likely that this epidemic could lead to an Extinction event in our lifetime. Bees and other pollinating insects have an essential role in our ecosystem. In fact, at least a third of our food depends on their pollination. A world without these wonderful little creatures would simply be devastating for food production.

 

The best thing that we can do right now is be aware of the issues. If more of us are informed, and we're spreading the word, maybe we can protect ourselves. For this reason, I invite you to pick up a copy
of Nirvana and tell people about it.

 

Do you believe in these "modern truths" like I do? Comment below ‐ I'll read every single one.

 

Your Friend, J.R.

 

PS ‐ My publisher would also be very happy if you entered the Nirvana GIVEAWAY attached to this blog. Now, if you win, you have to promise to tell people about these issues. Okay? 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_nirvana.jpg

 

 
  1. By: J.R. Stewart

  2. About: When the real world is emptied of all that you love, how can you keep yourself from dependence on the virtual?

    Animal activist and punk rock star Larissa Kenders lives in a dystopian world where the real and the virtual intermingle. After the disappearance of her soulmate, Andrew, Kenders finds solace by escaping to Nirvana, a virtual world controlled by Hexagon. In Nirvana, anyone’s deepest desires may be realized ‐ even visits with Andrew.

    Although Kenders knows that this version of Andrew is virtual, when he asks for her assistance revealing Hexagon’s dark secret, she cannot help but comply. Soon after, Kenders and her closest allies find themselves in a battle with Hexagon, the very institution they have been taught to trust. After uncovering much more than she expected, Kenders’ biggest challenge is determining what is real – and what is virtual.

    Nirvana is a fast‐paced, page‐turning young adult novel combining elements of science fiction, mystery, and romance. Part of a trilogy, this book introduces readers to a young woman who refuses to give up on the man she loves, even if it means taking on an entire government to do so. 

  3. Release Date: November 10, 2015

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

One winner will receive a copy of Nirvana, US and Canada only.

 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. During this giveaway, J.R. Stewart has a question for you to answer in the comments below for more chances to win his book! "What colour is the dress on the Nirvana cover?"

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

b2ap3_thumbnail_jr-stewart.jpg

 has worked on many corporate projects throughout a prolific IT academic and consulting career, and is involved with many confidential virtual reality projects. After working on advanced "VR" technologies for over a decade, Stewart grew concerned about the implications of this work and the possible psychological effects that it may have on its users. 

 

What's New in YA--December 1, 2015
Author Chat with Lauren Morrill

Related Posts

 

Comments 17

Already Registered? Login Here
Bryanja on Thursday, 24 December 2015 02:24

Definitely green!

0
Definitely green!
Guest - Dianna (website) on Friday, 25 December 2015 09:36

I think the dress looks green, but then again -- maybe it's one of those weird internet things. The dress is probably bright purple or something.

0
I think the dress looks green, but then again -- maybe it's one of those weird internet things. The dress is probably bright purple or something.
Guest - Dianna (website) on Friday, 25 December 2015 09:36

I think the dress looks green, but then again -- maybe it's one of those weird internet things. The dress is probably bright purple or something.

0
I think the dress looks green, but then again -- maybe it's one of those weird internet things. The dress is probably bright purple or something.
Guest - Dianna (website) on Friday, 25 December 2015 09:38

The author works in IT academic and consulting.

0
The author works in IT academic and consulting.
Stacy (website) on Sunday, 27 December 2015 16:36

He works in IT and VR

0
He works in IT and VR
Susan T. (website) on Monday, 28 December 2015 16:23

The author works in IT and the dress looks green to me!

0
The author works in IT and the dress looks green to me! :)
Guest - danielle hammelef on Tuesday, 29 December 2015 10:29

IT academic and consulting career is R. Stewarts other profession. I have heard about the bee population decrease and it really does worry me--we need them to survive.

0
IT academic and consulting career is R. Stewarts other profession. I have heard about the bee population decrease and it really does worry me--we need them to survive.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."