Meet Our Editors: CJ Redwine

There are several Editors (staff reviewers) here at YABooksCentral.com, and they all have their own taste in books. While one might give a certain book 5 stars, another might only give it 3. We like that kind of diversity here, because we know every reader is different. Every reader's opinion is valid.

But we also know it's helpful to read reviews by those who share your same interests, especially when you're looking for recommendations.

So which YABC Staff Reviewer has your taste in books? Find out in this new blog series, Meet Our Editors! Each week, I'll be spotlighting one of our editors. When you find one that shares your same taste in books, movies, TV, even food, then make sure to check out the books that editor has reviewed favorably.  

See how it works? Great! 

First up, I did a Fast Faves interview with Kim Baccellia, who has been with YABC the longest. 

Second was a Fast Faves interview with our newest editor, Christina Franke

 

This week's Editor is CJ Redwine, whose unwavering dedication to YABC's success and countless brainstorming sessions have kept my own dedication strong. Running a website as large as YABC can be daunting at times, but CJ is always there to re-fan the flames and remind me what YABC can (and will!) become. I'm not sure if I could do this without her. I wish I had ALL THE MONIES to pay my volunteers for their individual brilliance, but for now, I'm thankful they're happy to be "paid" in books. If CJ could have the entire YABC Prize Shelf each month, she'd take it! She is a voracious reader, and her reviews are always touching, eye-opening, and helpful. Thank you for being a part of YABC, CJ! 

 

Here's a little about CJ: 

 
cjredwine3.mdC.J. Redwine loves stilettos, lemon bars, and any movie starring Johnny Depp. She is the author of Defiance, the first in a post-apocalyptic fantasy trilogy from Balzer + Bray/Harper Collins. C.J. lives in Nashville with her husband, four kids, two cats, and one long-suffering dog. To learn more about C.J., visit her website at http://cjredwine.blogspot.com/
 

Which types of books are your favorites to read/review? 

I'll read almost anything if the characters are well-developed, the conflict feels authentic, and the world building is solid. I'm most drawn to fantasies and speculative fiction (post-apocalyptic, urban fantasy, and genre mash-up), but I also love contemporaries and historical. I read mostly YA for pleasure, but as I have four kids ranging from toddler to teenager, I read a lot of picture books, chapter books, and middle grade too.
 
 
Which types of books do you hate to read?

I'm not a fan of hard sci-fi or paranormal romance if the plot is utterly predictable. I really don't care for "loner girl is suddenly the object of hot boy/supernatural boy/multiple boys' affection" plot tropes unless it is really well done.
 
 
What do you think about writing negative reviews?
 
I think there's always something to admire about every book. It may not be a book that I'll want to keep in my own collection, but that doesn't mean someone else won't love it. My job in writing a review is to be honest in pointing out what worked for me and what didn't in a respectful manner. Especially if I see something that I know might bother other readers like me. But again, I always approach it with the attitude that just because the book didn't connect with me doesn't mean it won't be someone else's favorite.
 
 
Why are reviews important to share online?
 
It's good to get a feel for a book before you commit to purchase it. Often I purchase books because my friends recommend them, or because I see enough reviews that rave about qualities that I'm drawn to in a book. I also appreciate knowing if a book has things that might make it not for me, and I think others appreciate that too.
 
 
 

Now it's time for Fast Faves with CJ! 

 

~ Movies ~
 
Most loved –  Harry Potter & The Order of the Phoenix
 
Most hated – John Carter
 
Haven’t seen, but probably should – I have no idea!
 
Can recite by heart – The Princess Bride
 
Wish more people had seen it – The Raven
 
 
 
~ Books From Childhood ~
 
Most loved – The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe
 
Most hated – I don't remember hating any books in my childhood
 
Haven’t read, but probably should – Something by Neil Gaiman
 
Can remember where you were when you first read it – Harry Potter & The Sorcerer's Stone
 
Wish more people had read it – Everneath by Brodi Ashton
 
 
 
~ Foods ~
 
Most loved - Lemon bars
 
Most hated –  Green beans
 
Haven’t eaten, but probably should – Something from Jamaica. I should go there and take care of that ...
 
Would eat anytime, anywhere – Chex Mix (Cheddar)
 
Best fuel for writing – Peach tea
 
 
 
~ TV Shows ~
 
Most loved – Fringe, Grimm, and Downton Abbey
 
Most hated – The Real Housewives of _____ (anywhere)
 
Haven’t watched, but probably should – Game of Thrones
 
Can remember where you were when you saw it – Alias
 
Wish more people had seen it – Leverage
 
 
 
~ Items in Your Closet ~
 
Most loved – Yoga pants
 
Most hated – Running shoes
 
Haven’t worn in forever, probably should throw it out – Bridesmaid dress
 
Wish you’d never thrown them out – Hello Kitty umbrella
 
Why do I have so many – Shoes!
 
 
 
~ Life ~
 
Best moment/memory - Each time I brought home one of my kids for the first time
 
Worst/most embarrassing moment - Can't narrow that down. I embarass myself all the time.
 
Haven't accomplished yet, but one day I'll - visit Europe
 
Childhood toy you'll never get rid of - a carosel horse figurine
 
Wish I had more time for this guilty pleasure - watching Netflix late at night
 
 
 
To read CJ's book reviews and see her favorites list, check out her profile here.

Follow CJ on Twitter: @cjredwine

Email CJ:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

So? How much do you have in common with CJ? Let us know in the comments. And stay tuned next week for another editor interview!

 

 
Giveaway: Miss Fortune Cookie (International)
The 2012 YABC Choice Awards - Vote for Your Faves!

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Already Registered? Login Here
H.C. Palmquist (website) on Thursday, 06 December 2012 12:28

Yes, you should watch Game of Thrones, but first, FIREFLY!!!! Also, is that the carousel horse that grandma & grandpa gave us matching ones for Christmas? Cause I still have that too!

0
Yes, you should watch Game of Thrones, but first, FIREFLY!!!! Also, is that the carousel horse that grandma & grandpa gave us matching ones for Christmas? Cause I still have that too!
Christina Franke, Staff (website) on Friday, 07 December 2012 14:25

We do NOT have the same taste in movies. Though I also can quote rather heavily from The Princess Bride. :-)

0
We do NOT have the same taste in movies. Though I also can quote rather heavily from The Princess Bride. :-)
Jen (website) on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 15:12

I want to visit Europe and I hate green beans too!

0
I want to visit Europe and I hate green beans too! :)
Jennifer Howard McCoy (website) on Friday, 11 January 2013 12:23

I love how many times Harry Potter is mentioned....although, it will never be enough. HP is just too awesome!

0
I love how many times Harry Potter is mentioned....although, it will never be enough. HP is just too awesome!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."