Love Letters to Literature #3

Love Letters to Literature #3

 

Contributed by Emily Savant, Staff Reviewer

 

To the books that haunt my soul even years after reading them, 

Here’s to you. 

Dinner at the Panda Palace by Stephanie Calmenson. Do you remember me? I still have a well-used copy of you that I got in 1994. I was only three, but you were my favorite. My mom can still recite you. I recently found a YouTube video of your creator, Mrs. Calmenson, reading it and completely fell in love all over again. A story about counting, mostly, but also about being kind. Thank you for starting my love of literature off right. 

The Hole in the World by Sid Hite. Oh, you. You heartbreaking thing, you. You were a gift from my mom when I was in 6thgrade. I remember I took you with me on a weekend trip to my grandparents’ house. I remember I read instead of spending time with them, and years later, I now regret doing this as I missed out on precious time with my grandfather who is no longer with us. Kind of an appropriate book for such a feeling. Thank you for being there, though. At the time I definitely needed you. 

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Thank you for rooting my love for long, beautifully written stories. And then breaking my heart. Thanks for that too, I guess. (p.s.: you were made into a major motion picture! And, surprisingly, it is just as amazing).

The Truth about Forever by Sarah Dessen and The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. Ah, you two. Beautiful love stories about family that made me want to hug my own. Thank you for making me feel at home. (also, please take note from the one above and be made into a movie because that is something I NEED!).

Harry Potter by JK Rowling. I think you speak for yourself. Although I started reading your series very late in life (I’m still currently reading Order of the Phoenix), I get the hype and only wish I had read it sooner. Thank you for making me feel the magic of being a kid again.

The Experiment in Terror series by Karina Halle. Thank you for letting me relate to you so much. I’ve never seen myself in a book more than I did in Darkhouse. Mostly just the life stuff and none of the paranormal stuff. I don’t relate in that department. Mostly. I was in a difficult place in my life at the time I stumbled upon you in the free section of Amazon Kindle. Thanks for showing me I’m not alone in my struggles. (ps: thanks for giving me an “adult” book that didn’t completely make me cringe).

The Darkest Powers Series by Kelley Armstrong and The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade and Project Five Fifteen by Samantha Summers. Thank you for showing me that I can DEVOUR a series. And if it hasn’t been completed, how very impatient I can be. Also, thank you for Jacob, Will and Kalen.

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. I suppose I have you to thank the most. I’m sure everyone else on this list is like “eh, what the heck is this? We don’t belong with the likes of sparkly vampires.” But you’re the book that restarted my love of reading when I was 16. Before my friend shoved her worn copy of you into my hands and forced me to read it, I hadn’t read anything for 3 years. THREE. YEARS. And now I realize how many awesome books I missed in those long 3 years and I’m still catching up. Although, I fear there is no catching up. So thank you for being addictive enough that I read all 4 books in 2 weeks. And I’m thankful for that because it means I will never have to read you again. 

Thank you from the bottom of my heart. You’re the books (well, some of you) that I will pass on to my kids and share with the world .The Ones I love.

Forever and Always,

Em.

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_emily-s.jpg

Emily Savant is a 24 year old small town government worker. Lover of cooking. And eating. And repeating. Obsessed with at least 10 TV shows. She loves to run with her dogs (she means the animal kind and not her dawgs). Obviously, she loves to read and this obsession is making her room quite crowded.

Whats New in YA--October 13, 2015
PAN - Drive Through Movie Review

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."