Love Letters to Literature #1

Love Letters to Literature #1

 

Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer

 

Dear J.K. Rowling,

 

I suppose the best way to begin this letter would be to say thank you! Many readers might say that you changed their lives with the inception of your boy wizard. I'm sure that's true. But I want to let you know that you've not only changed my life, you've shaped it. 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_specs.jpg

 

This year, on May 2nd, I spent the day remembering the seventeenth anniversary of the Battle of Hogwarts. I remembered all of the amazing things in my life that happened because you wrote a story about magic, about good and evil and friendship and love.

 

This may seem like a lot of remembering. Maybe you could even say that I drowned that day in the Pensieve. I also remembered a line you quoted from Arthur Levine: "and they say we shouldn't teach children about evil." If reading the Potter books taught me anything, it was that evil exists in every part of the world, wizarding or not, and often it exists within each of us as well. But there is something even more powerful that you've taught us through seven years at Hogwarts. You've taught readers about friendship, love, loyalty, imagination; all of which are true magic. 

 

Today I turned on the news only to hear about murders and horrific acts of violence. But I also saw acts of kindness and love and it makes me think that there is hope for our world. If your books gave me anything, I'm glad it is a sense of hope beyond the atrocties. And while many of us would rather not face what is happening, I think about teenagers coming together to fight the power of a Ministry, I think of Dumbledore's Army hiding out in the Room of Requirement to train for the difficult days ahead. I think of sacrifice and intellect and I think of the tension between Purebloods and Halfbloods and Mudbloods. Of propaganda posters railing against "The Chosen One," of lightning bolt scars, and hateful words etched on arms. I think of the damage of the Holocaust. I think of the destruction in cities and countries and the callous acts happening everywhere. And I think about what we can do to try to stop it. 

 

I know it will take a group, or an Order of people coming together to make this world right. Sometimes I wonder why others are so willing to ignore the atrocities of your Wizarding World and all that it stands for. What's to say we won't do the same thing when it comes to our real world? 

 

So once again I am reminded of that quote, "and they say we shouldn't teach children about evil," one that I believe originated on the day our world became a world of after, the day two towers fell and began this war on "terror." But if we remember, as you've taught, that there is hope for tomorrow, that maybe someday there will be a better world, maybe things will begin to change. After all, "happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light."

 

With September 1st just around the corner, I imagine myself stepping toward Platform 9 3/4 and boarding the Hogwarts Express. I think about Treacle Tarts and Acid Pops and Chocolate Frogs and even Bertie Bott's Every Flavour Beans. I think about thestrals and dementors and the Sorting Hat (I think we'd have quite the conversation since I'm a Revenpuff; wise and loyal). I think about all of the beautiful times I've already spent at Hogwarts, and I know, it is my home away from home.

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_hogwarts-home.jpg

 

From my front yard I look at the single hydrangea bloom as summer starts to fade. It reminds me of Harry hiding beneath the window sill, listening to the news. And it reminds me of the summer I spent on my back patio devouring Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I remember watching one of my favorite worlds darken just as my real world did the same thing. I lost friends and battled the halls of high school, but I always had Harry, Ron, and Hermione. I was the bookish girl who made it through because of your books and your role models and your wonderful words. 

 

And if you aked me if I still love your world and your writing "after all this time," I would reply "always." 

 

 

xoxo

Kayla King 

 

 

 

 

Kayla King  is a writer of poetry and fiction. She is the Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer at YABC, which means she loves to read and review books! She is an editor for 1:1000 and as such, reads great stories and contributes a new piece of flash fiction every month, and is a permanent writer for Germ Magazine. Kayla graduated from Buffalo State College with her B.A. in Writing and is currently pursuing her MFA from Southern New Hampshire University. You can find her website and blog here.

 

 

 

 

Exclusive Sneak Peek at LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins ...
Letters to the Living

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Already Registered? Login Here
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager (website) on Monday, 24 August 2015 10:17

I'm not crying, YOU'RE crying.

*sniffs*

1
I'm not crying, YOU'RE crying. *sniffs*
Emily Savant, Staff Reviewer (website) on Monday, 14 September 2015 14:10

LOVE!! I'm just now reading Order of the Phoenix and wish I had read them sooner! Such an amazing world!

1
LOVE!! I'm just now reading Order of the Phoenix and wish I had read them sooner! Such an amazing world!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."